在墨西哥招工时,您可能面临的六大挑战

七月 20, 2021

制造商们在墨西哥招募工人时,一定要制定一份符合本地实际情况的合理计划。“建厂选址的目标区域务必要拥有足够多的具有某些特长的技术工人做支撑”——尽管您可能对此已经有一个大致的概念,但是在墨西哥,吸引这些劳工为您工作是一项艰巨的任务。此外,这对于那些还在努力适应墨西哥当地规范的外国投资者来说更具挑战性。

接下来,我们将列出影响制造商在墨西哥招工的六大主要挑战。提前了解这些问题后,您就可以着手构建解决方案,并与当地服务提供商建立合作伙伴关系,最终克服各种障碍,实现工厂的顺利运营。

第一大挑战:如何锁定适合的区域

“位置决定一切”,特别是在员工招聘方面尤其如此。像蒙特雷(Monterrey)这样以制造技术著称且人口众多的地区,是招募技术熟练劳动力的理想之选。不过,这些高技能人才也会要求更高的薪水和更具竞争力的福利待遇。这也是很多制造商选择在附近的小一点儿的城市萨尔蒂约(Saltillo)建厂的原因之一。这些地区的劳动力成本不仅更具竞争力,而且周边的制造业相关的资源利用起来也颇为方便。

从另一方面来说,过于远离市区也提出了新的挑战。大型制造商认为,他们更需要充足的绿地空间扩张业务,所以更倾向选择远离知名的制造中心的地点建厂运营。然而,并非所有的工人都有私家车,所以这样的选址方案会在一定程度上增加招聘工作的难度。为了克服这一困难,有些制造商会向雇员提供班车接送服务。如果雇主将招聘目标锁定在特定地区,这种方法则最为有效。

第二大挑战:在哪发布招聘广告

还是那句话:“位置决定一切”。企业是否了解发布招聘广告的最佳渠道,有着您能否成功招到合适的人选或面临无人应聘之窘境的巨大区别。在美国,大多数求职者是从招聘网站上开始找工作的。而在墨西哥,人们往往倾向于从社交媒体上找工作。

Facebook是墨西哥最大的社交网站。根据 Statista的调查数据显示,99%的受访者是Facebook的使用者,YouTube(82%)和Instagram(63%)紧随其后。在同一群受访者中,仅有四分之一的人群使用职场社交平台LinkedIn。这说明您在制定招聘计划的时候务必要考虑在这些社交媒体上发布一些广告,以此来吸引那些符合您要求的求职者。

和广播报纸一样,线上网站也被认为是传统媒体,而不是主流的招聘方式。制造商在遵循本地规范同时,可以采用多管齐下的招聘策略,这样比依靠单一渠道会更容易获得求职者的积极响应。

第三大挑战:制定有竞争力的薪资水平

高素质、低成本的劳动力,是墨西哥能够吸引众多制造商前来投资的“法宝”之一。不过,如果您了解一下当地劳工的薪资期望值,就会察觉到,最优秀的技术工人所要求的薪资不会很低。然而,在墨西哥想要获取准确的当地工人工资相关的信息,却是着实的困难。

与Shelter服务提供商合作,是许多企业经常采取的首选策略。这些业内的专家级顾问不仅准确地掌握墨西哥的最新劳动力市场行情,还能够帮助您获取特定目标地区的全面且详细的劳动力数据。

为掌握劳动力市场的全貌,您还需要了解工资的计算方式。如果要计算小时工资,首先要将日薪乘以365天,得到年薪,再将年薪除以全年工作小时数(即每周工作小时数乘以52周),从而得到小时工资。

第四大挑战:确定一些能够区别于其他企业的福利

如果要在招募优秀人才方面获得竞争优势,那么您要考虑的不仅仅是提供一份有竞争力的薪资。比如企业福利就是一种非常好的方法,它既能让您的企业在人才争夺战中脱颖而出,又有助于保持员工的忠诚度。在墨西哥,几乎每位劳动者都期望能够享受到企业的福利。 Tetakawi的独立研究还发现,多达90%的制造型企业会向雇员提供法定福利之外的特殊福利。

您可能会发现,墨西哥的雇主也会提供现金奖励等较为普遍的福利,还有一些不同于美国和其他地区的福利。有一些福利比如,一些企业会发放购物券或者食品代金卡,方便雇员在当地商店/超市使用。有些雇主还会提供补充医疗保险,甚至还包括现场医疗服务——一项可以降低员工流失率的良策。

第五大挑战:制定招聘原则

背景调查是否合法?面试问题是否有限制?就像其它很多事情一样,国外的招聘方式和您过去习惯的方式可能会有些不同。了解这些个中差异,才能在墨西哥联邦和地方劳动法规定的范围内,做到合理合法的运营。

更重要的是,墨西哥的劳动法仍在不断地发展和完善。2019年,围绕工会条例,墨西哥开始全面修改劳动法。因此,和熟悉当地情况的人力资源顾问合作,是保证招聘流程符合墨西哥劳动法的最佳方式。

第六大挑战:找到贵企业中意的人选


尽管有些制造型企业主要需要的是工资较低的非熟练劳动力,然后再培训他们,但是也有企业希望招募那些在某种程度上已经熟练掌握一定技能,并且能够完成复杂生产任务的专业技术工人。找到能胜任某些特定工作的技术性工人并不难。很多制造商和当地的培训中心或者技术学校建立了良好的合作关系,可以为他们输送大批的技术人才。此外,其他制造业的从业员工则选择在提供现场培训的制造社区内工作,通过这种方式,制造商更容易获得与其需求匹配度更高,且成本更低的工人,以适应不断升级换代的产品线要求,并不断壮大自己的劳动力队伍。

人才,让企业与众不同

商业菁英们十分清楚,真正让企业在激烈的市场竞争中脱颖而出的,是企业的优秀员工。招募并留住能够胜任职位的人才,对于保障卓越的生产率和降低因人员流失带来的高额成本至关重要。无论您的企业在世界上哪个地区运营,招聘都是企业面临的一大挑战,而海外经营无疑会让这项任务变得更加艰巨。

正因为如此,许多企业求助于Tetakawi,希望Tetakawi能够帮忙填补几个甚至数百个直接劳工职位。作为一家拥有超过24,000名员工的优质服务提供商,我们有能力帮助各类企业填补职位空缺,保证企业客户在墨西哥经营的可持续性。如果您已经准备好要为您的商业帝国建立人才资源库,请现在就联系Tetakawi吧。

 

x

Thinking about manufacturing in Mexico? Download this ebook to move your due diligence forward and improve your probability of success.

Download Now

最近的帖子:

百问墨西哥投资建厂

立刻开启您的墨西哥之旅吧。

墨西哥建厂前,您需要准备的50多个问题。

您正在考虑将业务扩展到墨西哥吗?尽职调查的第一步就是要先回答这些问题。在过去33 年里,几千家公司在这个指导手册的帮助下,快速的在墨西哥拓展了他们的商业版图。
立即下载
在墨西哥建厂的成本如何? 用我们的在线计算器来计算一下吧。

6 Challenges in Mexico Manufacturing Recruitment

January 25, 2021

Manufacturers looking to hire in Mexico must develop a plan that aligns with local hiring expectations. While you may have a general sense that the area you’re targeting for site selection is home to a large workforce experienced in certain manufacturing specialties, attracting those workers can present some challenges, particularly for foreign investors still becoming accustomed to local norms. 

Below we identify six of the leading challenges derailing manufacturers’ recruitment efforts in Mexico. By understanding these challenges upfront, you can begin to build solutions and partnerships for overcoming these hurdles. 

1. Targeting the right area

Location is everything, particularly when it comes to recruitment. Locating in an area with a large population known for its manufacturing expertise, such as Monterrey, may be ideal for recruiting a more technically skilled workforce. However, recruitment here may command somewhat higher pay and more competitive benefits. That’s one reason many manufacturers opt to locate in the somewhat smaller nearby city of Saltillo, or one of its suburbs. A location like this may provide a more cost-competitive labor force while still offering ease of access to nearby manufacturing resources. 

On the other hand, moving too far out of the city can lead to its own challenges. Large manufacturers may decide they need ample greenfield space upon which to expand and opt for a location just outside a known manufacturing center. Since not all workers may have access to private transportation, this can pose a problem for recruitment. To solve this challenge, some manufacturers opt to bus in workers. This option works most effectively when employers target recruitment to specific neighborhoods. 

2. Knowing where to post job ads

Again, location is critical. Understanding where to post your recruitment advertisements can mean the difference of finding appropriate candidates and silence. In the United States, most job applicants begin their search for work on a job board. In Mexico, the search tends to start on social media. 

Facebook is the top social networking site in Mexico, used by 99% of Statista survey respondents. YouTube (82%) and Instagram (63%) follow close behind. The professional networking site LinkedIn was used by only a quarter of those same survey respondents. That means your recruitment plan must account for targeting social ads to the specific job seekers you want. 

Online job boards are used, if not as predominantly, as are more traditional media, including radio and newspaper ads. A multi-pronged recruitment strategy, keyed into local norms, will always find a greater rate of response than sticking to one site alone. 

3. Gauging competitive rates

One of the benefits that attracts many manufacturers to operating in Mexico is the promise of highly qualified, low-cost labor. However, the most qualified workers will command competitive rates—if you can determine what that might be near your site. Accurate wage information is notoriously difficult to get in Mexico.

Working with a shelter service provider is one strategy many companies use. These experts should be well-versed in market information in Mexico and able to help you access detailed labor data specific to your targeted region.  

For the most complete picture, you’ll also need to know how wages are calculated. To calculate an hourly wage, first, multiply the daily rate by 365 to get the annual pay. Divide the annual pay by the annual hours worked (the weekly hours per shift x 52 weeks per year) to get your hourly rate. 

4. Determining which benefits will set your company apart

If you’re looking to gain an edge in recruiting top talent, then you’ll need to think beyond competitive wages. Benefits are a tremendous way to stand apart, and ensure employee loyalty—and they’re virtually an expectation in Mexico. Tetakawi’s independent field research has found that as many as 90% of manufacturing companies offer benefits beyond the legal requirements. 

While you may find that employers in Mexico offer typical benefits such as cash bonuses, there may be a few benefits that differ from the norm in the United States or other locales. For example, some companies offer grocery coupons, or food cards, that workers can redeem at local stores. Some employers provide supplementary medical insurance or even on-site medical care, a great strategy for reducing turnover. 

5. Gauging rules around hiring 

Are background checks allowed? Are there restrictions on certain interview questions? Hiring practices in a foreign country, like everything else, will have some differences compared to what you’re used to. But knowing these differences is a matter of operating within federal and local labor laws. 

What’s more, labor laws are an evolving thing. Mexico began the process of overhauling its labor laws in 2019, largely around union rules. Working with an HR consultant is perhaps the best way to ensure that your recruitment process is in compliance with all labor laws. 

6. Finding the right fit


While some manufacturing operations may look primarily for low-wage unskilled labors that they can train, others may wish to recruit workers already somewhat well versed in the skills they need to carry out complex manufacturing tasks. Finding the right skillsets doesn’t have to be difficult. Many manufacturers build relationships with local training centers or technical schools to create a pipeline of skilled laborers. Others opt to work within manufacturing communities that provide training on-site, allowing manufacturers to arm their workforce with the skills needed to adapt to changing product lines. 

Recruiting labor that sets you apart

Every business leader knows that what truly sets them apart from the competition is their people. Recruiting and retaining the right labor is critical for ensuring high productivity and mitigating the high costs of future turnover. It’s a challenge no matter where you operate in the world, but operating in a foreign country certainly can make this harder still. 

It’s for this reason that many companies look to Tetakawi to fill anywhere from one to hundreds of direct labor positions. As a qualified service provider with an extensive network of more than 24,000 employees, we help fill positions to ensure clients’ operational continuity. If you’re ready to start building your talent pool, contact Tetakawi today. 

 

x

Thinking about manufacturing in Mexico? Download this ebook to move your due diligence forward and improve your probability of success.

Download Now

Recent Posts:

tetakawi-questions-to-ask-about-manufacturing-in-mexico

Start your journey into Mexico today!

50+ Questions that you must answer before expanding into Mexico

Thinking about expanding into Mexico? Step 1 of your due diligence process is answering all of these questions. Over the last 33 years, thousands of companies have used this guide to accelerate their expansion into Mexico. 
Download Ebook
Instantly calculate your payroll costs in Mexico. (click here).