墨西哥建厂优势之——高度透明的供应链体系

四月 15, 2022

在当今瞬息万变的市场当中,供应链的可见性愈加成为影响制造商生产组织与管理的重要因素。通常而言,供应链的可见性是指追踪原料、单个组件或总成从供应商到制造商再到最终用户的全部移动过程。从业务的整体性而言,供应链可见性为制造商打造了强大的物流信息网络,帮助制造商根据材料到达的时间去制定或改善生产计划。

除此之外,物资采购过程中的可见性也有助于企业在生产过程中实现更多可望而不可即的目标,而不仅仅是简单的依靠预测。它为那些欲打造一个有利于环保的、善待劳工的供应链的企业提供了强有力的支持,以践行可持续发展的战略。航空航天领域的制造商们通过实践已经证明,通过提高供应链安全标准,他们可以最小化工厂运营的风险。另外,供应链的可见性也可以帮助制造商们通过高效的库存管理进一步减少仓储空间、降低成本。

然而,供应链可见性的挑战在于供应商的参与度和数据的可信度。基于这方面的考虑,很多美国制造商或采购商不得不重新审视他们原来在中国的工厂,并转而将目光投向墨西哥。

供应链可见性面临的诸多挑战

尽管供应商方面提供的数据不足会给供应链可见性带来一定的困难,但是制造商也可以通过与值得信赖的供应商建立强有力的合作关系以及对其进行全程监督来实现。比如,制造商必须能够定期参观工厂,确保质量控制达到预期标准,且上报数据准确无误。当然,如果是与海外供应商合作,企业对采购过程和生产过程的定期监督就会变得更具挑战性。

2021年12月,美国政府通过了一项涉疆法案(UFLPA),此举迫使美国社会各行各业的采购商们不得不重新审慎的看待从中国进口产品。同时,这也给那些以美国市场为主的中国供应商们带来了不小的麻烦。

根据UFLPA规定,自2022年6月21日起,该法案明确禁止美国企业进口所有来自新疆的原材料和零部件,除非企业能够提供证据证明进口商品不涉及强迫劳动。遗憾的是,很多企业在材料采购方面并不具备可见性。

正如英国谢菲尔德哈勒姆大学(Sheffield Hallam University)研究人权和现代奴隶制的教授Laura Murphy对《纽约时报》所说,“当许多企业意识到自身的供应链或许能追溯到维吾尔地区时,我预测它们甚至整个行业都会大吃一惊的。”

如何提高供应链的可见性

数据和信息的可及性是供应链可见性工作的核心。这包括获取有关货物运输和采购过程的数据,以及接触相关供应商的有效途径。就这些方面言,如果美国采购商选择与墨西哥当地的供应商展开合作,可以在很多领域获得巨大优势:

  • 访问供应商,确认报告数据的准确性。数据是任何供应链可见性最根本的基础,但要确认相关数据,还需要对供应商进行调查。凭借得天独厚的位置优势,墨西哥的供应商可以在这一方面为美国和加拿大的客户们提供方便。虽然同样是拜访供货商,但是相较于绕半个地球去中国,一两小时的短途飞行显然更具经济性和便利性。当然,如果您选择像Tetakawi这样的资深合作伙伴,所有事情均会变得更加简单。我们拥有专业的采购团队,可以为您完成实地考察任务。此外,我们会维护供应商的数据库,精心挑选符合特定要求的供应商,并且根据客户反馈意见定期评估供应商的表现。
  • 在供应链面临挑战时,提供多种运输方式。长期以来,供应链可见性一直是采购焦点,而全球新冠疫情的肆虐,让人们更加深刻地意识到了原材料供应地的重要性,解决运输问题。因此,与综合实力更强的一流供应商合作,将原料和货物按时运送到指定地点,必然能够提高企业生产运营的可靠性。与那些只能依靠港口这一单一方式运输的供应商对比,在墨西哥、美国和加拿大的制造商们可以通过公路和铁路将商品输送到目标市场,无需担心货船塞港的问题。
  • 通过具体措施确保劳动保护的实施。强迫劳动可能普遍存在于很多发展中国家,这的确是个糟糕的事实。深入了解劳工权益是否受到侵害,并实施更加完善的管理实务是至关重要的。不同于其前身《北美自由贸易协定》(NAFTA),《美墨加三国协议》(USMCA)不仅制定了对进口商影响深远的劳动保护措施,并且能有效确保这些措施完全可执行。这些劳工保护举措推动墨西哥在2019年实施了历史性的劳动法改革,包括改进工会登记和集体谈判,以及实施公正的法院裁决等。

与值得信赖的资深供应商伙伴开展合作

对于追求供应链可见性的制造商来说,携手值得信赖的资深合作伙伴已成为他们最好的选择。这些合作伙伴包括物资和材料供应商,以及可以引导您找到那些信誉良好的企业的采购服务商。

凭借在墨西哥制造业30多年的丰富经验,Tetakawi在寻找并确保供应商的信誉度方面有着独到见解。我们始终致力于帮助海外制造商与那些能够按照行业惯例提供最佳服务的供应链伙伴及资源建立紧密联系。

若您需要在墨西哥构建完善的供应链,与当地供应商建立紧密的联系,请即刻联系Tetakawi,获取更多信息。

 

x

Thinking about manufacturing in Mexico? Download this ebook to move your due diligence forward and improve your probability of success.

Download Now

最近的帖子:

百问墨西哥投资建厂

立刻开启您的墨西哥之旅吧。

墨西哥建厂前,您需要准备的50多个问题

您正在考虑将业务扩展到墨西哥吗?尽职调查的第一步就是要先回答这些问题。在过去33 年里,几千家公司在这个指导手册的帮助下,快速的在墨西哥拓展了他们的商业版图。
立即下载
在墨西哥建厂的成本如何? 用我们的在线计算器来计算一下吧。

How Manufacturing in Mexico Supports Supply Chain Visibility

January 13, 2022

Supply chain visibility is becoming an increasingly critical factor for many manufacturers. Supply chain visibility is about being able to track raw materials, individual components, or assemblies during their journey from supplier to manufacturer and on to the final user. At the highest level, this visibility supports manufacturers with strong logistical information that can help improve scheduling in manufacturing based on when all materials will arrive.

However, this visibility into material sourcing also helps organizations meet a range of broader goals beyond simply predictability. It provides support for corporations that want a more environmentally or labor-friendly supply chain to drive sustainability commitments. It demonstrates that aerospace manufacturers are minimizing risk by meeting sourcing security requirements. It affords manufacturers the opportunity to reduce warehouse space and costs through more effective inventory practices.

The challenge with supply chain visibility is that it relies on participation from suppliers and trust in reported data. This is one challenge that is pushing many manufacturers to reconsider their factories in China and look toward Mexico instead.

The challenges of supply chain visibility

While a lack of sophisticated data from suppliers still slows many supply chain visibility efforts, this effort also depends upon strong partnerships with and oversight of trustworthy suppliers. Manufacturers must be able to regularly visit factories to ensure quality control expectations are met and all reported data is accurate. This can become more challenging when working with overseas suppliers, where it can be challenging to oversee sourcing and production regularly.

A prime case of these challenges is exampled by the Uyghur Forced Labor Prevention Act (UFLPA), which President Biden signed into law in December 2021. The UFLPA aims to address human rights violations imposed on the Uyghur population and other Muslim minorities in the Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous Region of the People's Republic of China (PRC). However, in doing so, it is pushing manufacturers across a wide range of industries to examine their sourcing from China more closely.

The UFLPA establishes a rebuttable presumption, which forces importers to assume that all goods produced in part or in whole in Xinjiang have been made with forced labor. U.S. companies that wish to continue source materials or components from this region will, as of June 21, 2022, be required to provide evidence that goods they imported from Xinjiang are not produced with forced labor. This shifts the burden of proof from customs officials to companies, many of which lack visibility back into material sourcing.

As Laura Murphy, a professor of human rights and contemporary slavery at Sheffield Hallam University in Britain, told the New York Times, "I anticipate that there will be many companies — even entire industries — that will be taken by surprise when they realize that their supply chains can also be traced back to the Uyghur region."

How you can improve supply chain visibility

Accessibility is at the heart of supply chain visibility efforts. This includes access to data about the movement of goods and sourcing practices. It also provides access to the suppliers in question. As such, there are a few areas where manufacturers gain an advantage by working with Mexico-based suppliers:

  • Ability to visit suppliers to confirm reporting. Data is at the heart of any supply chain visibility initiative, but confirming that data may also require some investigation into your suppliers. This is an area where Mexico offers U.S. and Canadian manufacturers an edge, simply through proximity. It is much more economical to visit suppliers a short one- or two-hour flight away compared to traveling across the world. This confirmation becomes even more straightforward when working with a partner like Tetakawi. Our purchasing team can serve as your eyes on the ground. We maintain a database of suppliers, carefully selected to meet our approved vendor requirements and regularly evaluated for performance based on client feedback.
  • Provides transportation versatility in the event of supply chain challenges. Supply chain visibility has been a sourcing focus for some time now, but the global COVID-19 pandemic through into the spotlight the importance of having insight into material location to address logistical needs alone. However, working with suppliers that have versatility in how they get materials and goods to your location can give you an edge.By working with Mexico-based suppliers, manufacturers in Mexico, the U.S., and Canada have highway and railway access rather than being pushed to rely on congested ports alone for getting goods to market.
  • Has practices in place to enforce labor protections. The terrible truth is that forced labor can occur in many developing countries. Gaining visibility into these labor violations and implementing better practices is critical.The USMCA has set far-reaching labor protections in place for importers and put a process in place to ensure they are fully enforceable, unlike its predecessor, NAFTA. These labor protections have already pushed Mexico to enact historic labor reforms in 2019, including improvements in union registration and bargaining as well as the implementation of impartial courts to adjudicate disputes.

Work with suppliers and partners you can trust

The best bet for any manufacturer seeking supply chain visibility is to work with partners you know and can trust. This includes suppliers of goods and materials as well as purchasing partners who can provide guidance on reputable companies.

With over three decades of experience in Mexico manufacturing, Tetakawi has a unique understanding of the questions to ask and areas to explore to ensure suppliers are reputable. We help connect manufacturers with reliable supply chain partners and resources that provide best industry practices.

If you're ready to build robust supply chains and connections in Mexico, contact Tetakawi today.

x

Thinking about manufacturing in Mexico? Download this ebook to move your due diligence forward and improve your probability of success.

Download Now

Recent Posts:

tetakawi-questions-to-ask-about-manufacturing-in-mexico

START YOUR JOURNEY INTO MEXICO TODAY!

50+ Questions to ask before expanding into Mexico

Thinking about expanding into Mexico? Step 1 of your due diligence process is answering all of these questions. Over the last 33 years, thousands of companies have used this guide to accelerate their expansion into Mexico. 
Download Ebook
Ebook: Questions to ask about manufacturing in Mexico - > Register Now.