中国==►墨西哥,制造业的大迁徙

七月 21, 2021

相比中国,您为什么倾向于选择墨西哥?这是众多制造商在对当前选址策略进行综合成本效益分析时一定会问的一个问题。


环顾当今世界,中国已不再是以低成本而闻名的制造中心。因此,世界各国开始评估各种替代性方案,并希望可以从之前的漫长运输周期以及生产制造中心过于集中化方面总结经验教训。

正如Tetakawi商业发展管理咨询师David McQueen在题为《墨西哥制造与中国制造在优势、挑战和成本等方面之比较》的网络研讨会上所说,“移师”墨西哥开启制造业务,可谓机遇与挑战并存。从战略上讲,对外国投资者而言,在一个陌生的新国度开展业务,既便捷灵活又经济高效,还可以更好地服务自己的客户群。

为什么选择将您的制造业务 “移师”墨西哥?

Reasons why a company should manufacture in Mexico vs China

自从上世纪90年代,中国确立了全球低成本制造中心的地位,然而今天,世界已经发生了重大变化。中国制造业的持续扩张凸显了过分依赖单一国家、工资疯涨和贸易壁垒等系统性问题。基于此,制造商们不得不根据最新的国际形势开始评估其他可行的替代性方案。与此同时,墨西哥显然将成为最大赢家。

首先,墨西哥对外商独资的制造型企业没有限制。确切地说,墨西哥政府并不会像中国政府那样对私营企业实施直接干预政策。这为外国投资者营造了一个极为有利的投资环境。

其次,墨西哥除了是《美墨加贸易协定》(USMCA)的成员国,还与世界各地50多个国家签订了自由贸易协定,由此叩开了北美市场乃至全球市场原材料和成品自由贸易的大门。

此外,接壤的美墨边境在运输成本和运输周期上也给墨西哥的制造业带来了极大方便,这是其他任何一个国家都无法比拟且不容忽视的优势。平均而言,同样的货物从中国运到美国可能需要36天,每立方英尺的成本为2.63美元,而从墨西哥到美国可能只需要不到2天,且每立方英尺成本仅为1.26美元。倘若发生运输延误,较长的运输时间还会增加因补充库存而产生的额外成本

最后,和中国相比,墨西哥在很多方面的制造成本更具竞争力。总的来说,墨西哥的劳动力成本较为低廉。墨西哥制造业的平均工资约为4.82美元(含福利),而中国为6.50美元。

Manufacturing Costs in Mexico vs China

墨西哥与中国之订单生产模式对比

 

对于已经在中国市场深耕多年,并与订单生产伙伴建立了深厚的合作关系的企业,可以尝试采用类似的模式在墨西哥开展制造业务。

不过诚如McQueen所言,墨西哥和中国有着截然不同的产业基础结构和产业格局。中国政府对创业活动的激励政策,吸引了一大批优质的供应商和生产商前来投资。反观墨西哥,其产业发展主要由外国投资主导,大型成品制造商将自己的供应链一并引入墨西哥,纵向整合成为一条完整的产业链,从而形成了具有较高成本效益的本地支持。

现今在墨西哥,制造商不难找到可以进行冲压、铸造和锻造,以及注塑成型、半导体和机械加工等复杂工艺加工且有实力的供应链企业。即便如此,由于缺乏某些辅助材料和特定技术,墨西哥仍然需要进口一些相应的原材料。

为解决这一需求,墨西哥政府为那些符合IMMEX要求的企业减免了临时进口到墨西哥的原材料的关税。但有一些限制条件,即企业临时进口的那些用于产品制造和加工的原材料,在规定的时间内,生产出的成品最终必须出口。

旧模式和新业务的冲突

有制造商意识到,尽管曾经在中国与供应商和接订单的合作伙伴合作过,但是要在墨西哥重新建立合作关系仍然是一项任重而道远的挑战。墨西哥材料制造商自身有能力接触美国市场,进而寻找合作伙伴和客户,这意味着这些制造商对市场营销和分销支持的需求没那么强。因此,墨西哥对较大型外国直接投资的需求没有那么强。墨西哥材料供应商对客户的需求了然于胸,所以他们可以收取更高的设计服务费和技术支持费。

此外,在墨西哥还可能遭遇“融资难融资贵”的难题,尤其是中小企业面临的挑战更甚。为了获得融资,订单生产服务商谋求加速信贷条款审批,抑或转向客户寻求机械和模具融资,这种情况并不罕见。

由于外资企业在墨西哥普遍存在,所以您期待的合作方实际上可能是另一家外资公司的子公司——它也很可能是您的潜在竞争对手。

虽然订单生产模式在墨西哥仍然不失为一种选择,但是企业必须事先解决这些潜在的风险,并且也不妨考虑其他的运营方式。

墨西哥独有的营商模式

How To Manufacture in Mexico: Incorporation vs Shelter

对于志在快速完成制造业务转移的制造商,也可以考虑在墨西哥组建合资公司或者收购一家制造企业。这一选项带来的不仅包括直接知识和经验,还有接手现成的市场份额。当然了,寻求这种合作方式的企业可能并不多见。

有些制造商还会考虑买地自建的方式进行投资。这个选项有一定的吸引力的原因在于,它可以保证企业拥有100%的所有权和对企业的完全控制。更重要的是,墨西哥致力于打造一个对外国投资者友好的国际营商环境。不过这同时意味着,企业需要建立或者重新打造一支完整的劳动力队伍,投资于机械设备,并学习如何遵循那些墨西哥专门的法律法规。这些障碍并非不可逾越,尤其是在熟悉墨西哥法规的顾问的支持下就更加不成问题,但整个的熟悉过程会延长项目启动的时间。

还有一种选择就是在Shelter的服务框架内生产制造运营。外国投资者保留了对生产制造业务的完全控制权同时,由Shelter服务商来承担雇主和进口商的责任,以及所有相关许可和合规性的直接责任。有些服务也可以外包给Shelter服务商,例如应付账款和人力资源等行政管理类事务,进出口事务,以及某些情况下对可出租的工业不动产的管理。

如何让您的“战略转移”更高效

那些希望从中国“移师”墨西哥的制造型企业通常既无法承受“停工期”,又希望能够避免在中墨两国同时运营的成本,而这也许是Shelter模式的最大优势所在。如果能和经验丰富的Shelter服务商合作,制造商可以快速实现业务启动——有时只需30天到60天即可看到成效。

想要深入了解更多将您的制造业务转移到墨西哥的实用信息,请现在就联系Tetakawi吧!

x

Thinking about manufacturing in Mexico? Download this ebook to move your due diligence forward and improve your probability of success.

Download Now

最近的帖子:

百问墨西哥投资建厂

立刻开启您的墨西哥之旅吧。

墨西哥建厂前,您需要准备的50多个问题。

您正在考虑将业务扩展到墨西哥吗?尽职调查的第一步就是要先回答这些问题。在过去33 年里,几千家公司在这个指导手册的帮助下,快速的在墨西哥拓展了他们的商业版图。
立即下载
在墨西哥建厂的成本如何? 用我们的在线计算器来计算一下吧。

How to Move Manufacturing from China to Mexico

January 05, 2021

Why would you want to consider Mexico over China for your manufacturing location? That’s a question many manufacturers have been forced to ask as they reevaluate the cost-effectiveness of their current approach. 

China is no longer the world’s leading low-cost manufacturing country. As countries begin to evaluate their alternatives, they’re internalizing lessons learned around lengthy shipping lead times and centralizing manufacturing within a single location.

As David McQueen, management consultant business development, Tetakawi, explains in the webinar Manufacturing in Mexico vs. China: Advantages, Challenges, Cost and More, there are many advantages to manufacturing in Mexico, but there are challenges to making this shift as well. By confronting the challenges of operating in a new country strategically, foreign investors will find that they can easily and cost-effectively make this move and better serve their customer base. 

Why manufacture in Mexico?

Reasons why a company should manufacture in Mexico vs China

Since China established itself as the best location low-cost manufacturing location in the 1990s, the world has changed. The expansion of manufacturing in China began to show problems with the system, including greater dependency on a single country, wage inflation, and trade barriers. As manufacturers evaluate alternatives, Mexico becomes a clear winner. 

For starters, Mexico has no restrictions on foreign ownership of manufacturing. In fact, the government does not interfere directly with private companies, as has been the case in China. That provides an attractive opportunity to invest. 

Mexico is also a member of the USMCA, as well as numerous additional trade agreements with more than 50 countries around the world. This opens the North American market and the world to free trade among materials and finished goods. 

In addition, there is no ignoring the fact that sharing a border with the U.S. provides tremendous convenience in freight shipping costs and timelines, a benefit not afforded by any other low-cost manufacturing country. On average, shipments from China to the U.S. might take 36 days to arrive and cost $2.63 USD per cubic foot, while the same shipment from Mexico might arrive within two days and cost $1.26 USD per cubic foot to ship. That longer shipment time also adds costs for securing additional supplemental inventory needed in the event of shipping delays. 

Finally, in many sectors, Mexico has costs competitive with China. At large, Mexico has lower labor costs. The average fully fringed manufacturing wage in Mexico ranges around $4.82 USD, compared to $6.50 USD in China. 

Manufacturing Costs in Mexico vs China

Contract manufacturing in China versus Mexico 

Companies that have manufactured in China for years, building up partnerships with contract manufacturing partners, may first examine a similar framework for launching manufacturing in Mexico.

However, as McQueen explains, the industrial infrastructure and industrial landscape across these two countries have developed differently. In China, incentives for entrepreneurial activity encouraged investment from a range of suppliers and good producers. In Mexico, on the other hand, industrial development has been led by foreign investment from large, vertically integrated finished goods manufacturers who have pulled along their supply chains to provide cost-effective local support. 

Today, manufacturers are likely to find in Mexico strong supply chains supporting stamping, foundry, and forging activities, as well as plastic injection, semiconductor, and machining firms. However, there may be a lack of certain supporting materials and skillsets that drive a need to import certain raw materials. 

Mexico addresses this need by providing temporary import of materials duty-free for companies operating within the IMMEX framework. Certain restrictions are placed upon the length of time for which these materials can be imported before being incorporated into a finished product and subsequently exported. 

Challenges in applying old models to new operations

Still, manufacturers may find it challenging to build in Mexico the supplier or contract manufacturing partnerships that have served them in China. Mexico materials manufacturers tend to have less need for marketing and distribution help, as they are capable of approaching the U.S. market on their own to find partners and customers. As a result, there’s less need in Mexico to partner with larger foreign direct investors. Because Mexican material suppliers are aware of the demand for their services, they can charge higher for their engineering services and technical assistance.

In addition, financing in Mexico can be expensive and difficult to access, particularly for small and medium-sized enterprises. It’s not uncommon for contract manufacturing providers to look for accelerated credit terms to help with financing and to look to customers for the financing of machinery and tooling. 

Because of the level of foreign ownership prevalent in Mexico, the company with which you’re looking to partner may actually be a subsidiary of another foreign-owned company—potentially a competitor. 

While contract manufacturing is certainly still an option in Mexico, organizations must address these potential risks upfront and may wish to consider other operational options. 

Alternative operational frameworks in Mexico

How To Manufacture in Mexico: Incorporation vs Shelter

Manufacturers looking to rapidly move manufacturing into Mexico may also consider forming a joint venture or acquiring a manufacturing company. This option provides an immediate base of knowledge and experience, as well as the potential to gain immediate market share. Of course, targets for this style of partnership can be rare. 

Other manufacturers may consider launching a greenfield operation. This attractive option provides 100% ownership and full control of the organization. What’s more, Mexico works to create a foreign investor-friendly business environment. However, this does mean companies will need to build or rebuild a complete workforce, invest in machinery and equipment, and learn to navigate the laws and regulations unique to Mexico. These are hardly insurmountable hurdles, particularly with the support of consultants familiar with Mexico’s regulations, but they can add time to the process of launching. 

An additional option is to operate a manufacturing operation within the framework of a shelter provider. While the foreign investor retains complete control of the manufacturing operation, the shelter assumes the burden of serving as the employer and importer of record and direct liability for meeting all permits and regulations. Some services can also be outsourced to the shelter provider, including administration such as accounts payable and human resources support, import and export services, and in some cases management of the leasable industrial real estate. 

Make an effective move

Companies looking to make a move from manufacturing in China to Mexico can’t afford downtime in operations and likely want to avoid the cost of operating in both countries. This is perhaps the area where a shelter provider offers the greatest benefit. By working with an experienced shelter provider, manufacturers can rapidly ramp up their operations—in some cases, in as little as 30 to 60 days. 

To gain additional insight that could help you move your manufacturing operation to Mexico, watch the complete webinar below, Manufacturing in Mexico vs. China: Advantages, Challenges, Cost and More, or contact Tetakawi today.

x

Thinking about manufacturing in Mexico? Download this ebook to move your due diligence forward and improve your probability of success.

Download Now

Recent Posts:

tetakawi-questions-to-ask-about-manufacturing-in-mexico

START YOUR JOURNEY INTO MEXICO TODAY!

50+ Questions to ask before expanding into Mexico

Thinking about expanding into Mexico? Step 1 of your due diligence process is answering all of these questions. Over the last 33 years, thousands of companies have used this guide to accelerate their expansion into Mexico. 
Download Ebook
Instantly calculate your payroll costs in Mexico. (click here).