在墨西哥建家具厂分几步?

十月 22, 2021

当您的目光投被墨西哥的投资环境和优惠政策所吸引时,是否有这样的问题:想要在墨西哥建立一座家具厂,从哪儿着手呢?其实,时至今日,在墨西哥运营的家具厂已经超过675家。这已充分说明了,在墨西哥建家具厂并没有那么复杂。另外,只要有了合理计划以及专业且值得信赖的当地合作伙伴,在墨西哥让一座家具厂从建厂到出货,最快仅需30天。

是否有简化的流程在墨西哥建家具厂呢?如果您有同样的疑问,请参照以下七个步骤,或许能给您带来一些启发。

步骤一:选址

在墨西哥,不同的地区会有不同的投资优势,因此,您在选择厂址时,全方位权衡利弊是非常重要的。举例而言,墨西哥北部边境沿线的区域便于将产品运往美国市场,而往南一点的区域或许可以降低整体的运营成本。不过,大多数的制造商在选址时一般会优先考虑靠近现有的家具产业集群附近的位置。

那问题来了:墨西哥的家具制造厂主要集中在哪些地区呢?目前,墨西哥的家具制造集群遍布北部和中部各州,包括哈利斯科州(Jalisco)、索诺拉州(Sonora)、墨西哥州(the State of Mexico)、科阿韦拉州(Coahuila)、新莱昂州(Nuevo León)和下加利福尼亚州(Baja California)。不过,某些特定的产品类型会主要集中在某些地区。比如,科阿韦拉州因瑞典家具制造公司——宜家(IKEA)的投资,吸引了众多其供应商同时入驻并提供相应的支持与协作,让这个州名声大噪。另外,还有一些家具制造商会依据自身的考量,选择将厂址设在某些特定原材料供应商的附近,譬如工厂旁边如果有铜、大理石和大型木材供应商,他们会觉得方便运输。

为了进一步深入探讨选址的问题,许多制造商会将各个州的激励措施也纳入考量范围之内。2020年,当中国知名的室内装潢制造商顾家家居(Kuka Home)选择将其新工厂设在蒙特雷时,就是考虑到了新莱昂州予以的一些扶持政策,最终更倾向于蒙特雷。到2021年,为了满足巨大的业务需求,顾家家居已将其工厂的规模扩大了一倍,并预计在2022年进一步扩张。

在选址时,必须要考虑的另外一个重要因素,是当地劳动力的供应能力。城市地区有着坚实的家具制造业基础,并能够为工厂提供经验丰富的熟练技工,工人的薪资水平也趋于合理。虽说地区越偏远,工人工资可能会越低,但这需要企业在新员工培训方面投入更多的时间和精力,而且企业所支付的员工的通勤成本也会相应提高。

步骤二:确定合适的厂房

当您选定了合适的建厂地点后,就需要考虑厂房的问题了。买地自建厂房的方式有很好的灵活性,并可以按照厂家的需求进行设计和建造。但事实上,很多公司发现其实不需要从“零”开始。而这也正是在墨西哥租赁厂房的的最大好处之一——外资企业不需要花费大量的时间和精力去自建厂房,租赁现成厂房可以快速地投入运营。如果能在制造社区内租到合适的A级工业厂房,那么外资制造商的工厂最快能在30天内就可以投产。

虽然墨西哥当地有各式各样的工业厂房,确保外资制造商们能够大大节约时间成本和建造成本,但还有一点不容忽视:厂房的选址不应该仅仅满足成本需求,还需配有完善的基础设施(如水、电、天然气的供应),以确保生产工艺所需。因此,在最终确定厂址前,还有非常关键的一步必须完成——实地参观考察。如发现任何问题,应尽早解决,否则在后续调整时需要花费更多的时间、精力和金钱。除此之外,如果制造商们未来扩产扩建的计划,那么还需要考虑厂房适配的灵活性,来为未来的扩建计划留有余地。

步骤三:确认当地的监管要求

当您在墨西哥着手创办工厂时,非常有必要提前了解当地所有的环保、健康、与安全(EHS)相关的法律法规,以此来确保您的工厂符合所有相关的法规要求。此外,墨西哥的《联邦劳动法》及《社会保障法》明确规定了员工享有的权利,其中包括在安全的环境中从事工作的权利等。墨西哥的环境部(SEMARNAT)、国家与社会研究中心(CEDES)、水资源管理委员会(CONAGUA)、劳动和社会保障部(STPS)和联邦环境保护司法办公室(PROFEPA)等监管机构会基于这些法规对企业的合法合规性进行仔细审查。因此,外资企业必须从一开始就做到遵纪守法,以免在生产过程中出现任何纰漏,避免被处罚、停产整顿等情况的发生。

不过,如果外国制造商另辟蹊径,选择与当地的专业shelter服务商合作,那么这一步就会变得简单许多。Shelter服务商可以按照环保、健康、与安全法规(EHS)的要求,向那些准备在墨西哥建家具长的外资企业予以全方位的指导——从申办开业许可证、环评报告的审批,到定期检测及数据存档,Shelter服务商均能提供业界顶级的一流服务。

步骤四:招工

在墨西哥建家具厂(包括其他行业的工厂)最重要的一环就是招聘到足够且合格的员工。包括一线岗位的工人,如机器操作工、库存管理员、装配工,以及一些相应的管理岗位。

针对特定岗位的招聘流程,制造商们应着重部署一系列的多样化招聘策略。通过各种社交媒体渠道、热门的求职网站和当地最受欢迎的报纸上发布招聘广告,都是行之有效的方式。极具吸引力的薪资待遇以及优厚的员工福利,一定会对招聘工作起到积极的作用。不过,由于在墨西哥最有效的招聘策略和最具竞争力的福利待遇可能会与制造商所在的国家不同。而这一领域正式当地专业服务商所擅长的,与他们合作会让制造商的招聘工作事半功倍。

步骤五:制定培训计划

对于在墨西哥建家具厂的制造商而言,招聘工作除了应遵循相应的法律程序外,一份扎实、细致的员工培训计划会对提升工厂运营的效率大有帮助。开展的培训应旨在培养员工的特定技能,此外还应将企业的安全生产的理念和要求有机地融入其中(通过实操过程进行持续改进和提高)。墨西哥的一些制造社区内还会提供设备操作培训课程,员工可以通过实际操作,掌握数控机床和其他复杂设备的全套操控技能。当然,这些课程中还包括了其他可能需要掌握的技能培训部分。

步骤六:海关合规性

在正式开始进行生产之前,制造商需要进口原材料,也就是需要与墨西哥海关打交道。墨西哥海关要求的进出口的通关材料包括:完整的报关单、商业发票、安全和性能合规性的相关文件,以及保证出口商已收到货款的提货单。许多墨西哥的家具制造商会选择将这些繁琐的文书工作交由持有执照的专业报关行或专门从事合规工作的咨询公司处理,从而避免出现文书纰漏,导致装运延误。

步骤七:逐步提升到设计产能

当一切准备就绪,就可以开始组织生产环节了,这也是制造商们最擅长的部分。有了以上专业且值得信赖的合作伙伴予以的全方位支持,生产环节大概是制造商最需要自己去费心把控的核心业务了。从选址咨询,到招聘工人,再到进出口数据分析,墨西哥当地的Shelter服务商能够为外资制造型企业分担大部分的行政与法律方面的管理和文书工作,力保制造商的工厂平稳、顺利地运营,免除所有的后顾之忧。这样,制造商就有足够的精力把工作重心放在生产环节上,如产品质量的把控,生产效率的提高,工厂运营效益的提升等。

如果您已准备好迈出这一步,并下定决心在墨西哥建立属于自己的家具制造厂,请现在就联系Tetakawi吧!

x

Thinking about manufacturing in Mexico? Download this ebook to move your due diligence forward and improve your probability of success.

Download Now

最近的帖子:

百问墨西哥投资建厂

立刻开启您的墨西哥之旅吧。

墨西哥建厂前,您需要准备的50多个问题

Thinking about expanding into Mexico? Step 1 of your due diligence process is answering all of these questions. Over the last 33 years, thousands of companies have used this guide to accelerate their expansion into Mexico. 
立即下载
在墨西哥建厂的成本如何? 用我们的在线计算器来计算一下吧。

How to Set Up a Furniture Manufacturing Factory in Mexico

July 28, 2021

Want to set up a Mexico furniture manufacturing factory but not sure where to start? As the more than 675 furniture manufacturers already operating in Mexico can attest, the process can be relatively straightforward. What's more, with the right plan and partner, you can set up a furniture manufacturing factory in Mexico in as little as 30 days. 

Wondering how to simplify the process of establishing a quality furniture manufacturing factory in Mexico? Consider the seven steps below. 

1. Select your factory location

Different regions in Mexico offer different benefits, and it's important to strike the right balance when selecting your location. A site along the northern border offers ease of access to U.S. markets, but moving lower south can lower your overall operating costs. However, most manufacturers start the site selection process by locating near established furniture manufacturing clusters. 

Wondering where furniture is manufactured in Mexico? Mexico's furniture manufacturing clusters can be found in northern and central states, including Jalisco, Sonora, the State of Mexico, Coahuila, Nuevo León, and Baja California. However, certain production types may be concentrated heavily in specific areas. For example, Coahuila has become known for its collaboration with suppliers to Swedish furniture manufacturing company Ikea. Some furniture manufacturers opt to locate their facilities near specific suppliers; copper, marble, and large timber suppliers can all be found here. 

To further drill down in site selection, many manufacturers consider incentives available from the state. When Chinese upholstery maker Kuka Home selected Monterrey for its new upholstery manufacturing facility in 2020, it noted that the state of Nuevo Leon had provided support that tipped its location decision in favor of Monterrey. By 2021, the company had doubled the size of its facility to meet tremendous demand, with plans for a further expansion in 2022. 

An additional factor to consider is the availability of local workforce to meet your needs. While urban locations with strong furniture manufacturing bases may afford companies with more experienced workers, they will also demand more competitive wages. More remote areas may help lower costs but demand more training support and potentially the need to provide transportation. 

2. Find the right building

Once you've selected the right state and city, it's time to decide on industrial real estate. Greenfield development affords manufacturers the ability to completely customize their facility to meet their needs, but many furniture manufacturers moving to Mexico find no need to reinvent the wheel. One of the most significant benefits of leasing industrial property in Mexico is that it allows you to begin operations more quickly than building your own facility. Leasing available Class A industrial space in a Manufacturing Community can get your operations up and running in as little as 30 days.

While there is ample industrial real estate available, it is important to ensure that the site you select meets not only your cost needs but has the infrastructure in place to support your processes. It's critical to tour industrial parks or Manufacturing Communities to ensure that the space meets your unique manufacturing needs, and to identify any fit-out concerns early on as these areas could impact total costs. Most importantly, it's essential to ensure that the selected facility offers some level of flexibility to meet your future expansion plans. 

3. Identify local regulatory requirements

As you begin setting up your facility, it's important to ensure that this work is done in compliance with all local environmental health and safety (EHS) regulations. Mexico's Federal Labor Law and Social Security Law establish employee rights, including the right to a safe working environment, and compliance with these regulations is audited by regulatory agencies such as SEMARNAT, CEDES, CONAGUA, STPS, and PROFEPA, among others. It's important to comply with these mandates from the very beginning, lest a step be missed when production is underway.

If working with a shelter service provider, this step becomes much simpler. Shelter providers can guide Mexico furniture manufacturing companies with regards to EHS compliance, from securing start-up permits and creating environmental impact assessments to periodic monitoring and recordkeeping. 

4. Recruit your workforce

The most critical part of setting up your Mexico furniture manufacturing operation is recruiting the right workforce to help. This might include a range of direct laborer roles, such as machine operators, stock handlers, and assemblers, well as management positions. 

Manufacturers should aim to deploy a range of recruitment strategies tailored to their specific location. This may include job ads posted across social media channels, on job boards, and in local newspapers. Recruitment is best supported by establishing competitive rates and benefits for this region. Because the most effective recruitment strategies and competitive offerings for Mexico may be different from the norms of your home country, this is an area where local expertise may be a critical differentiator. 

5. Make a training plan

In addition to being a legal requirement for Mexico furniture manufacturers, a solid training plan will help set your operation's quality apart. Training will likely include a focus on developing specific skillsets and include safety information and corporate expectations, such as continuous improvement practices. Some manufacturing communities in Mexico include onsite training facilities that help workers gain skills on CNC machines and other complex equipment, among other possibilities. 

6. Work with Customs

Before you're able to ship your first goods, it's important to have a plan in place for moving materials through customs. Mexico requires import and export documentation that includes a completed customs declaration (pedimento), a commercial invoice, documentation related to safety and performance regulation compliance, and a bill of lading that guarantees exporters are paid, and importers receive their goods. Many Mexican furniture manufacturers work with a licensed Mexican customs broker or a consultant specializing in compliance to reduce the risk of paperwork discrepancies that can delay shipments. 

7. Ramp up production 

With all of the pieces in place, it's time to begin producing goods. Of course, this is the part that you know best. With the support of the right partner, this could be the only step you need to worry about. Shelter service providers in Mexico can take on many of the administrative and legal legwork to get businesses up and running. From site selection consulting to recruiting to import/export analysis, a shelter service provider can keep your business running smoothly so that you can prioritize operational excellence. 

If you're ready to take the next step to launch a furniture manufacturing factory in Mexico, contact Tetakawi today.

x

Thinking about manufacturing in Mexico? Download this ebook to move your due diligence forward and improve your probability of success.

Download Now

Recent Posts:

tetakawi-questions-to-ask-about-manufacturing-in-mexico

Start your journey into Mexico today!

50+ Questions to ask before expanding into Mexico

Thinking about expanding into Mexico? Step 1 of your due diligence process is answering all of these questions. Over the last 33 years, thousands of companies have used this guide to accelerate their expansion into Mexico. 
Download Ebook
Free Ebook: How to Choose a Shelter Service Provider in Mexico - > Download Now.