ÜBERBLICK ÜBER DAS MONTAGEWERK VON MERCEDES-BENZ IN AGUASCALIENTES, MEXIKO

Juni 04, 2021

Seit 2018 gehört Mercedes-Benz zu den zahlreichen renommierten Autoherstellern, die in Mexiko über eine Produktionsstätte verfügen. Die Eröffnung des Montagewerks in Aguascalientes markierte eine neue Ausrichtung des deutschen Unternehmens, indem es in ein Land expandierte, dessen stolze Tradition in der herstellenden Industrie Jahr für Jahr neue Maßstäbe setzt.

In diesem Artikel betrachten wir das Montagewerk selbst und welche Fahrzeugmodelle dort produziert werden. Wir kommen auch darauf zu sprechen, warum Mexiko bei Autoherstellern eine so große Beliebtheit als Produktionsstandort genießt und wie Sie eine Fertigungsstätte in Mexiko einrichten können, um selbst Zulieferer für Mercedes zu werden.

Das Montagewerk in Aguascalientes

Map of Aguascalientes, Mexico

Das etwa auf halber Strecke zwischen Guadalajara und San Luis Potosí gelegene Aguascalientes ist eine von vielen mexikanischen Städten, in denen sich in den letzten Jahren weltweit renommierte Autohersteller niedergelassen haben. Das Montagewerk von Mercedes-Benz folgt der Expansion des Allianzpartners Nissan und wird von mehreren verschiedenen Unternehmen aus der Region beliefert werden. Eines dieser Unternehmen ist HBPO, das selbst eine große Produktionsstätte in Aguascalientes besitzt und bis zu 145.000 Front-End Module pro Jahr herstellt.

Das Montagewerk soll zu jeweils 50% Fahrzeuge für Mercedes-Benz und Nissan produzieren. Die Daimler AG und die Renault-Nissan Allianz haben zusammen etwa 1,4 Milliarden US-Dollar in Mexiko investiert. Das Mercedes-Benz Werk in Aguascalientes hat mehr als 5.000 neue Jobs geschaffen und wird im Jahr 2021 bei voller Auslastung eine jährliche Gesamtkapazität von 300.000 Einheiten erreichen.

Welche Fahrzeuge stellt Mercedes-Benz in Aguascalientes (Mexiko) her?

Mercedes-Benz A-Class Sedan Made in Aguascalientes

Nissan war der erste Autohersteller, der in Aguascalientes mit der Produktion von Fahrzeugen begann. Seit 2017 wird vor Ort der Premium SUV Infiniti QX50 hergestellt. Mercedes-Benz folgte 2021 mit verschiedenen Luxusmodellen. Die Produktion der A Klasse begann bereits im September 2018.

Seit 2020 wird auch die Mercedes-Benz GLB-Klasse im mexikanischen Montagewerk hergestellt, die als kompakte SUV gelten. Zuvor war das Modell bereits auf dem weltberühmten Nürburgring zu sehen, was eine baldige Produktion offensichtlich machte.

Sowohl die A-Klasse als auch die GLB-Klasse sollen vor allem jüngere Käufer in den USA anziehen. Mexiko exportiert in der Regel 80-85% aller vor Ort hergestellten Fahrzeuge, wobei 68% in die USA gehen. Der direkte Zugang zur nordamerikanischen Industrie war jedoch nicht der einzige Grund, warum sich Mercedes-Benz bei der Standortwahl für sein neues Montagewerk für Mexiko entschieden hat.

Die niedrigeren Produktionskosten der mexikanischen Automobilindustrie bedeuten immer auch höhere Profite bei Verkauf. Aufgrund der strategischen Zusammenarbeit mit Nissan fallen die Entwicklungs- und Produktionskosten umso niedriger aus als ohnehin schon. Die Aufteilung der Kosten soll bei Mercedes in den kommenden Jahren für höhere Profitmargen sorgen.

Warum produziert Mercedes-Benz in Mexiko?

Mercedes-Benz Automotive Assembly Factory

Die niedrigeren Produktionskosten sind nicht der einzige Vorteil, den Mexiko internationalen Autoherstellern bieten kann. Mexikos Arbeitskräfte gehören zu den besten der Automobilindustrie und beeindrucken nicht nur durch ein hohes Bildungsniveau, sondern auch mit ihrer schieren Anzahl. Jedes Jahr absolvieren mehr als 110.000 Ingenieure ein Studium in Mexiko. 

Die Arbeitskosten in Mexiko sind deutlich günstiger als etwa in den USA oder Europa, wodurch automatisch jedes Unternehmen in Mexiko nach höheren Gewinnmargen strebt. 

Wichtig zu erwähnen ist die lange Tradition, auf die Mexiko in der Automobilbranche zurückblickt. Besonders in der Bajio Region werden bereits seit mehreren Generationen Fahrzeuge produziert. Das Land hat jeder noch viel mehr zu bieten als reine Arbeitskräfte die für Autohersteller wie Mercedes-Benz, Nissan oder deren Zulieferer arbeiten möchten.  

Mexiko verfügt über ein umfangreiches Netzwerk aus Freihandelsabkommen und macht sich dadurch ideal als globaler Exportstandort. Kosteneinsparungen sind proportional zum Fahrzeugwert und liegen schnell bei 4.000 bis 25.000 US-Dollar pro Fahrzeug. 

Mexiko überzeugt mit einem umfassenden Netzwerk aus Bildungseinrichtungen und Partnern, Montagewerken und hunderten Zulieferern.

Die Automobilindustrie in der mexikanischen Bajio Region

Map of Queretaro and Mexico's bajio Region

Aguascalientes befindet sich in der Bajio Region, die zum Herzen der schnell wachsenden mexikanischen Automobilindustrie wurde. Die vier wichtigsten Bundesstaaten Guanajuato, Aguascalientes, San Luis Potosí und Querétaro können zwischen den Jahren 2013 und 2018 auf ein Wachstum in Höhe von fast 50% zurückblicken. Die Bajio Region ist zentral gelegen und verfügt über eine äußerst gute Infrastruktur, die aus Autobahnen und Schienenwegen besteht. Dies gibt Unternehmen leicht Zugang zu allen Regionen innerhalb Mexikos, zur US-Grenze im Norden sowie zu den Seehäfen am Pazifik und Atlantik.

Bei so vielen in Mexiko ansässigen Autoherstellern ist jetzt der ideale Zeitpunkt gekommen, um selbst Zulieferer für jene großen Konzerne zu werden. Wenn Sie ein Zulieferer für Mercedes-Benz in Aguascalientes werden möchten, benötigen Sie zwingend einen verlässlichen Partner, der sie sozioökonomischen Verhältnisse vor Ort kennt und Ihnen die nötige Unterstützung bei der Einrichtung Ihrer Produktionsstätte geben kann.

Wie Tetakawi Ihnen helfen kann

Helping company set up a factory in Mexico

Tetakawi ist bereits seit mehr als 30 Jahren in der mexikanische Automobilindustrie tätig. Heute haben wir Zugang zu einer robusten Infrastruktur und einem eingespielten Netzwerk aus Unternehmen. Zugleich verfügen wir über das Know-How und die Erfahrung mehrerer Jahrzehnte.

Es gibt einige Wege, wie wir uns diese Vorteile zu Nutze machen können, um Ihnen bei Ihrer Expansion nach Mexiko zu helfen. Dies sorgt für eine kürzere Lernkurve und spart Ihnen jede Menge Nerven, Zeit und Geld. Einer der beliebtesten Ansätze ist der Shelter-Service, den auch wir bereitstellen.

Shelter Services in Queretaro und Guanajuato

Anstatt als eigenständiges Unternehmen oder über einen Vertragshersteller nach Mexiko zu expandieren, ist unser Shelter-Programm eine Möglichkeit für Ihr Unternehmen, das Risiko, das Sie bei der Niederlassung in Bajio eingehen, sowohl in finanzieller als auch in betrieblicher Hinsicht zu reduzieren. Wir sind der größte Shelter-Service Provider in Mexiko und bieten Hilfe an sechs verschiedenen Standorten im ganzen Land. Die Nutzung unserer Shelter-Dienste in Mexiko bietet eine Vielzahl von Vorteilen. Dazu gehören unter Anderem:

  • Rechtliche Vorteile — Da wir in Mexiko als Arbeitgeber und offizieller Hersteller auftreten, können Sie von Mexikos Steueranreizen profitieren. Dazu zählt auch, dass Sie keine permanente Niederlassung in Mexiko benötigen.
  • Einhaltung gesetzlicher Vorschriften — Wenn Sie sich für Tetakawi entscheiden, sorgen Sie dafür, dass Ihr Unternehmen alle Gesetze und Vorschriften Mexikos einhält
  • Personal & lokale Beschaffung — Wir unterstützen Sie in jeder Phase des Arbeitslebens Ihrer Mitarbeiter und übernehmen auch administrative Aufgaben wie die Mehrwertsteuerrückerstattung und die Verwaltung von Lieferanten
  • Import & Export — Tetakawi hilft Ihnen nicht nur beim Transport von Waren über die Grenze zwischen den USA und Mexiko, sondern kann Ihnen auch bei den feineren Details des Imports und Exports in andere globale Märkte helfen

Start-Up Services in Queretaro und Guanajuato

Wir bieten Ihnen auch noch einen zweiten Weg, wie wir Ihnen als möglicher neuer Zulieferer für Mercedes-Benz in Aguascalientes behilflich sein können: unser Start-up-Service. Diese Dienstleistung ist in vier Hauptphasen unterteilt: Vorbereitung, Startphase, Betrieb und Erfolg. Jede Phase umfasst verschiedene Dienstleistungen, die auf die verschiedenen Phasen Ihres Unternehmens zugeschnitten sind. So stellen wir sicher, dass jeder Schritt so reibungslos wie möglich abläuft. 

Wir helfen Ihnen, all jenes vorzubereiten, was Sie für den Start benötigen. Gleichzeitig bieten wir logistische, rechtliche und finanzielle Unterstützung während Ihrer Betriebsphase. In der letzten Phase bieten wir Ihnen einen Post-Launch-Support, damit Sie unter anderem Ihre Kosten reduzieren, Talente halten und Risiken managen können. Eine ausführlichere Erläuterung zu unseren Start-up-Services finden Sie hier. Erfahren Sie mehr über das Volkswagen Werk

Ready to Get Started in the Bajio?

Now is the perfect time to set up a factory in Mexico to supply Mercedes-Benz’s Aguascalientes plant, but it’s crucial that you choose a partner who has the experience, knowledge, and proven track record of results to help your business grow from the ground up. If you have any further questions about how Tetakawi can assist your company in Mexico’s Bajio region, feel free to contact our team. We’d be happy to handle any questions and inquiries you may have.

x

Thinking about manufacturing in Mexico? Download this ebook to move your due diligence forward and improve your probability of success.

Download Now

kürzliche Posts:

tetakawi-questions-to-ask-about-manufacturing-in-mexico

BEGINNEN SIE IHRE REISE NACH MEXIKO NOCH HEUTE!

Über 50 zu stellende Fragen vor einer Expansion nach Mexiko

Denken Sie darüber nach, nach Mexiko zu expandieren? Beantworten Sie alle diese Fragen als erster Schritt Ihres Due-Diligence-Prozesses. In den letzten 33 Jahren haben tausende Unternehmen diese Anleitung verwendet, um die Expansion nach Mexiko zu beschleunigen.
eBook herunterladen
Berechnen Sie direkt Ihre Personalkosten in Mexiko. (Klicken Sie hier)

Overview of Mercedes-Benz’s Plant in Aguascalientes, Mexico

February 05, 2020

In 2018, Mercedes-Benz joined the ranks of other automotive industry heavyweights setting up manufacturing facilities in Mexico. The opening of its plant in Aguascalientes signaled a new direction for the German automobile company by expanding into a country whose proud manufacturing tradition only grows stronger year by year.

In the following blog post, we’ll be discussing the plant itself and which models will be produced there. We’ll also talk about why Mexico is such a popular place to assemble cars, as well as how you can set up a factory in Mexico to supply Mercedes in Mexico.

The Aguascalientes Plant

Map of Aguascalientes, Mexico

Located approximately halfway between San Luis Potosi and Guadalajara, Aguascalientes is one of several Mexican cities to attract some of the world’s biggest car manufacturers in recent times. The Aguascalientes Mercedes-Benz plant follows hot on the heels of a similar effort by Mercedes partner Nissan, and will be supplied by several different nearby companies. One of these is HBPO, which has a large-scale production facility in Aguascalientes and offers the capacity to produce up to 145,000 front-end modules annually.

The manufacturing facility itself was designed to assemble cars for both Nissan and Mercedes-Benz in an approximate 50-50 split. Between Daimler AG and the Renault-Nissan Alliance, $1.4 billion has been invested in Mexico. The Mercedes-Benz plant in Aguascalientes created more than 5000 jobs and will have a total annual capacity of 300,000 units by 2021, by which time it’ll be operating at full potential.

Which Cars Does Mercedes-Benz Assemble in Aguascalientes, Mexico?

Mercedes-Benz A-Class Sedan Made in AguascalientesNissan was the first company to get off the line at Aguascalientes, with its Infinity brand of premium SUV beginning production in 2017 with the QX50. Mercedes-Benz would follow suit the following year, producing a few different models of car that all fit the category of luxury vehicles. Production of the A Class sedan began in September of 2018.

The Mercedes-Benz GLB-Class compact SUV will also be built at the company’s new Mexican facility, and will debut in 2020. It had already been captured doing the rounds at the world-famous Nürburgring in 2018 with all parts visible, meaning that production wasn’t far away.

Both the A-Class sedan and the GLB were intended to target younger buyers in the U.S. car market. Mexico typically exports in the region of 80-85% of all the cars it produces, with 68% of those going to the U.S.A. in 2013. However, easy access to the North American industry wasn’t the only reason Mercedes-Benz opted for Mexico when they decided to set up a new plant.

Due to the lower costs of production in Mexico’s automotive factories, profits on incremental sales could receive a significant boost. This is further assisted by the reduced development and production costs, given that Mercedes are jointly manufacturing with Nissan. Sharing the costs is expected to boost margin-growth for Mercedes in the coming years.

Why Does Mercedes-Benz Manufacture in Mexico? 

Mercedes-Benz Automotive Assembly FactoryLower production costs aren’t the only thing Mexico has to offer to the Automobile OEMs who are flocking to the country in droves. Mexico’s workforce is one of the best in the automotive world, boasting impressive levels of higher education, with more than 110,000 engineers graduating from universities and technical schools in the country. 

The labor costs in Mexico are significantly cheaper than they are in the United States or European countries, making it an attractive prospect for any company that wants to boost its profit margins. 

Even more importantly, the Mexican workforce takes a tremendous amount of pride in its history of creating cars. Particularly strong in the Bajio region, it’s a tradition that can be traced back through multiple generations. However, the country has even more to offer than the workers who will be employed by the likes of Mercedes-Benz, Nissan and their Tier 1, Tier 2, and Tier 3 suppliers.  

Mexico has a robust network of FTAs, or free trade agreements, which make it an attractive global export location. Tariff savings, which grow in proportion to the value of the vehicle, can be as high as $4000 for a $25,000 vehicle. 

Mexico also has a robust automotive support network, consisting of a large number of assembly plants, which are, in turn, supported by hundreds of automotive parts suppliers across Tiers 1, 2, and 3. 

Automotive Manufacturing in Mexico's Bajio Region

Map of Queretaro and Mexico's bajio RegionAguascalientes is located in the Bajio Region, which has become the core of Mexico’s rapidly-expanding automotive manufacturing industry. The four key states in the area — Guanajuato, Aguascalientes, Celaya, and Querétaro — have grown their collective manufacturing by almost 50% from 2013 to 2018. Part of what makes the Bajio such a great place to build cars is its central location within the country means it has a robust road and rail infrastructure. This gives it easy access not only to other areas within Mexico but also to the country’s northern border with the U.S. and the various seaports the country has to offer.

With so many Automotive OEMs setting up assembly plants in the Bajio region, there’s never been a better time for automotive parts companies to set up factories in Mexico. But if you want to set up a parts company supplying Mercedes-Benz in its Aguascalientes location, you need to ensure that you partner with a company that understands the socioeconomic climate and can, therefore, provide you with all the assistance you’ll need in the venture.

How Tetakawi Can Help

Helping company set up a factory in Mexico

Tetakawi has been working in the Mexican automotive industry for more than 30 years. Today, we have access to a robust infrastructure and a well-rounded support network, as well as the knowledge and experience that comes from having been in the game for so long.

There are a few main ways we can use these unique advantages to help you hit the ground running in Mexico, effectively shortening the learning curve, saving you both time and money. The first of these is the shelter services we provide.

Shelter Services in Queretaro and Guanajuato

Rather than expand into Mexico as a standalone operation or through a contract manufacturer, our shelter program is a way for your company to reduce the risk you take on in setting up in the Bajio, both in financial and operational terms. We’re the largest shelter service provider in Mexico, offering help in six different locations throughout the country. There is a wide range of benefits to using our shelter services in Mexico, including:

  • Legal Benefits — Since we’ll act as the employer and manufacturer of record in Mexico, you’ll be able to take advantage of Mexico’s income and value-added tax incentives, such as a release from having a permanent establishment status in the country
  • Regulatory Compliance — By coming on board with Tetakawi, you’ll be guaranteeing that your business complies with every one of Mexico’s various laws and regulations
  • HR & Local Procurement — We’ll offer support at every stage throughout the working lifespan of your employees, while also performing administrative tasks like recovering VAT and managing vendors
  • Import & Export — On top of helping you to transport goods across the U.S. / Mexico border, Tetakawi can also assist you with the finer details of importing and exporting to the global markets present in the rest of the world

Start-Up Services in Queretaro and Guanajuato

The second way we can help you hit the ground running with your business supplying Mercedes-Benz’s Aguascalientes plant is with our start-up services. These are split among four main phases: Prepare, Launch, Operate, and Thrive. Each phase includes different services tailored for the various stages of your business’s lifespan to make sure every step runs as smoothly as possible. 

We’ll help you prepare everything you need to get going, and we’ll continue to provide logistical, legal, and financial assistance throughout your operational phase. In the last stage of the services, we’ll offer post-launch support to help you keep your costs as low as possible, retain talent, and manage risk, among other key points. A more detailed discussion of our start-up services can be found here.

Ready to Get Started in the Bajio?

Now is the perfect time to set up a factory in Mexico to supply Mercedes-Benz’s Aguascalientes plant, but it’s crucial that you choose a partner who has the experience, knowledge, and proven track record of results to help your business grow from the ground up. If you have any further questions about how Tetakawi can assist your company in Mexico’s Bajio region, feel free to contact our team. We’d be happy to handle any questions and inquiries you may have.

x

Thinking about manufacturing in Mexico? Download this ebook to move your due diligence forward and improve your probability of success.

Download Now

Recent Posts:

tetakawi-questions-to-ask-about-manufacturing-in-mexico

START YOUR JOURNEY INTO MEXICO TODAY!

50+ Questions to ask before expanding into Mexico

Thinking about expanding into Mexico? Step 1 of your due diligence process is answering all of these questions. Over the last 33 years, thousands of companies have used this guide to accelerate their expansion into Mexico. 
Download Ebook
What does it cost to manufacture in Mexico? Contact us for a free estimate.