墨西哥医疗器械制造业之——监管机构(COFEPRIS)

八月 23, 2021

产品质量是生产制造过程的重要组成部分,而医疗器械生产行业的质量标准,更是其中最为严苛的。“墨西哥制造”的可靠质量,是吸引众多医疗器械生产企业前来投资设厂的一个关键原因。这里廉价的劳动力,为精密制造业提供了有利条件,使高品质产品生产制造成为可能,墨西哥也因此在全世界闻名遐迩。确切地说,在2019年,墨西哥出口医疗器械的总价值为117亿美元,是世界上最大的医疗器械出口国之一。

从事医疗器械这一关键产业,制造商们必须严格遵守相关的市场监管条例——医疗器械生产厂家必须遵守墨西哥卫生部联邦健康风险保护委员会(COFEPRIS)制定的法律法规,才可以合法地在墨西哥境内销售产品。销往海外的医疗器械产品则必须符合相应进口国的国家标准。

墨西哥的医疗器械制造业

墨西哥成为世界知名的医疗器械供应国,背后蕴含着几个重要原因。在墨西哥,由制造商主导的工人培训以及技术型培训机构极具活力,培养了一支能熟练从事高度复杂生产活动的劳动力队伍。大多数医疗器械需要借助熟练工人的专业技能才能组装完成,不过,在熟悉零部件装配工艺的劳动力中,不难找到具备这项技艺的产业工人。当然,与美国或其他制造业发达国家相比,在墨西哥雇佣这类高技能人才更具成本优势。

除此之外,墨西哥所处的地理位置,对其在医疗器械领域的快速发展也起到了一定的积极作用。墨西哥与其最大的贸易伙伴美国相邻,这为墨西哥创造了“先发”优势。圣地亚哥(San Diego)作为美国主要的医疗器械市场,距离蒂华纳(Tijuana)仅约20英里,这里的医疗器械制造业同样正在蓬勃发展中。从这一点上来说,墨西哥的区位优势就显得更加突出了。随着墨西哥国内的强大产业联动性,先进的医疗制造技术现在已经扩展到奇瓦瓦(Chihuahua)、科阿韦拉(Coahuila)、新莱昂(Nuevo León)、哈利斯科(Jalisco)、索诺拉(Sonora)和塔毛利帕斯(Tamaulipas)等地。

随着整个行业进一步的发展,相关法规也在不断完善,以确保医疗器械的终端用户能够获得高品质的产品和服务。

必读宝典:在墨西哥开展制造业务时,您不可不知的所有要点

墨西哥的医疗器械监管体系

墨西哥的《通用卫生法》(Ley General de Salud)规定了规范医疗器械、药品和其他生物制品进出口管理的基本框架。根据这项法律,COFEPRIS负责管理用于疾病诊断、预防和治疗相关用途的医疗器械。

在墨西哥生产、销售医疗器械的企业必须向COFEPRIS提交申请。根据《通用卫生法》,COFEPRIS会在60个工作日内完成审核。该监管部门有责任确保制造商遵循所有适用标准(墨西哥为NOM标准)。

在墨西哥生产制造的医疗器械必须经由一个当地法律实体向COFEPRIS注册。该实体负责申请提交、产品注册以及和医疗器械相关的所有事务进行协调和处理。

COFEPRIS还对医疗器械的进口、营销和销售进行监管,因此,如果制造商既出口医疗物资,也向当地市场销售医疗器械,那么了解当地的相关法规则是非常重要的。进口商品需要获得COFEPRIS的卫生授权,是一份包含入境货物的详细信息的许可证。另外,如果企业要在墨西哥境内销售产品,还要获得销售许可。

建立良好的生产规范

NOM-241-SSA1-2012规定了医疗器械的良好生产规范。从设备安装的设计到包装及运输,这一标准对每一个环节都给出了详细的要求。除此之外,其他要求还包括:制造商应实施、记录和维护质量管理体系等。在某种程度上,实际操作的生产工艺流程是由标准来定义的,而这取决于所生产的医疗器械的具体分类。根据这个标准,医疗器械被分为三类:

第一类:常规医疗器械,使用安全性有保证,且为非植入人体的。

第二类:医疗实践中广泛使用的植入性医疗器械(制作材质可能会有所不同),其在人体内的滞留时间少于30天。

第三类:新型或近期投入使用的医疗器械,或者在体内的滞留时间超过30天医疗器械。

对于那些持有国际权威卫生机构颁发的GMP证书的制造商而言,他们可以通过等质同效性审查加快申请流程,比如美国食品药品监督管理局(FDA)、加拿大卫生署或日本厚生劳动省。这个申请流程要求的文件资料比较少,要求也没有那么细,对制造商来说更加快速、高效且便捷。

医疗器械产品标签管理规定

NOM-137-SSA1-2008规定了医疗器械的标签要求。墨西哥要求医疗器械标签涵盖该器械的通用类别和具体的商品名、原产国、卫生注册号、有效期以及序列号或批号等基本信息。如果第三方持有卫生注册证书,则标签上必须注明第三方注册人名称。除此之外,还应包括器械组成部分清单、使用说明以及潜在副作用。

最重要的一点是,医疗器械必须加贴西班牙文标签,其中规定的标签信息必须清晰易懂。作为补充,标签信息还可以附上另一种语言标识,前提是其文本长度需与西班牙文相同。

只要通过合法流程,进入墨西哥就会更加的顺利

海外的医疗器械生产厂家在向墨西哥进军时,可能已经具备最佳生产实践的丰富经验,其质量控制过程也已准备到位。尽管如此,要确保之前的生产工艺流程符合墨西哥联邦法律的条文规定,制造商们仍需对错综复杂的细微差别予以重视。由于这个领域具有专业性,所以制造商们绝对需要一名经验丰富的业内合作伙伴给予全程帮助。借助墨西哥当地的Shelter服务商在这一领域的丰富经验,制造型企业可以快速通过审查流程,在墨西哥顺利开启制造业务。

战略洞察:墨西哥的Shelter公司是什么?

在墨西哥建厂和运营的合法合规方面,Tetakawi已经积累了数十年的业内经验。如果您希望携手业内一流的合作伙伴一起在墨西哥开拓您的医疗器械商业版图,请现在就联系Tetakawi吧!



x

Thinking about manufacturing in Mexico? Download this ebook to move your due diligence forward and improve your probability of success.

Download Now

最近的帖子:

百问墨西哥投资建厂

立刻开启您的墨西哥之旅吧。

墨西哥建厂前,您需要准备的50多个问题

您正在考虑将业务扩展到墨西哥吗?尽职调查的第一步就是要先回答这些问题。在过去33 年里,几千家公司在这个指导手册的帮助下,快速的在墨西哥拓展了他们的商业版图。
立即下载
在墨西哥建厂的成本如何? 用我们的在线计算器来计算一下吧。

Regulations for Medical Equipment Manufacturers in Mexico: COFEPRIS

March 12, 2021

Quality is a critical component of any manufacturing process, but perhaps in no industry more so than medical device manufacturing. Quality is one reason, however, that a wide range of medical device manufacturers have launched operations into Mexico. The country’s low-cost workforce has become known for providing high-quality products for complex industries. In fact, medical device manufacturing made up $11.7 billion in Mexican exports in 2019, making it among the largest medical device export nations in the world.

For this critical industry, manufacturers must meet strict regulatory guidelines. For devices sold into Mexico, regulations are set by the Federal Committee for Protection from Sanitary Risks (COFEPRIS), a department within Mexico’s Ministry of Health. Products imported abroad must meet the national guidelines of those import countries. 

Medical device manufacturing industry in Mexico

There are several reasons that Mexico has become a leading supplier of medical devices. The country has a robust network of manufacturer-led and technical training institutions that have developed a workforce skilled in undertaking highly complex manufacturing activities. Most of these medical devices must be manufactured by hand, a skillset easily found among a labor force used to completing multiple-part assembly processes. And, of course, this skillset is found at more competitive wages than those paid in the United States or other high-skill manufacturing countries.

However, location has also played a role in Mexico’s growth as a medical device manufacturer. While Mexico’s location across the border from its largest trading partner is a leading advantage, it becomes even more beneficial when considering that one of the largest U.S. medical markets is San Diego, about 20 miles from the booming medical device manufacturing industry in Tijuana. This medical manufacturing expertise has extended and can be found in Chihuahua, Coahuila, Nuevo León, Jalisco, Sonora, and Tamaulipas. 

As this industry has grown, so too have the regulations surrounding it to ensure that end-users are getting the quality they need. 

Must Read: Everything you need to know about manufacturing in Mexico

Regulatory framework governing medical devices in Mexico

Mexico’s General Health Law (Ley General de Salud) sets out the framework for regulating the import and export of medical devices, drugs, and other biological products. Through this law, COFEPRIS is charged with regulating medical devices that diagnose and prevent diseases and support treatment. 

Companies manufacturing medical devices to sell in Mexico must file an operation notice with COFEPRIS. Under the General Health Law, COFEPRIS has 60 working days to review this application. The regulatory authority ensures that manufacturers are following all applicable standards (in Mexico, NOMs). 

Medical devices manufactured in Mexico must be registered through COFEPRIS by a Mexican legal entity. That entity serves as the main point of contact for applications, product registration, or any issues that may arise with the medical device.

COFEPRIS also regulates the importation and marketing, and sale of medical devices in Mexico, so it is essential to understand these regulations should the manufacturer opt to sell into the local market in addition to exporting materials. Imports require a COFEPRIS-issued Sanitary Authorization, a permit that includes detailed information about the incoming shipment. Companies looking to sell their product in Mexico will also need to obtain a marketing authorization. 

Establishing good manufacturing practices 

NOM-241-SSA1-2012 lays out good manufacturing practices for organizations that manufacture medical devices. It sets requirements for every step from the design of the installation through packaging and distribution. Among other requirements is that manufacturers must implement, document, and maintain a quality management system. To some degree, operational processes are defined by the standard depending upon the class of medical device being produced. The standard establishes three classes: 

  • Class I:  those medical devices proven to be safe and generally not introduced into the body.
  • Class II:  devices that are known in medical practice but may have variations in the material with which they are made and, generally, are introduced into the body for less than thirty days.
  • Class III:  new or recently accepted medical devices or those that are introduced into the body and remain in it for more than thirty days.

Manufacturers that have a Good Manufacturing Practice Certificate issued by an authorized international health authority, such as the FDA in the United States; Health Canada; or the Ministry of Health, Labor and Welfare of Japan, are able to expedite this process through the equivalency review process. This prior regulatory approval demands much less detail and paperwork and can shorten the process. 

How to label compliant medical devices 

NOM-137-SSA1-2008 lays out requirements for labeling medical devices. It requires that the label on these devices include the generic and specific names of the device, its country of origin, the sanitary registration number, expiration date, and serial or lot number. If a third-party holds the sanitary registration, their name must also be included on the label. The label should also include the device contents, instructions for use, and potential side effects. 

Perhaps most importantly, the information specified on the label must be in Spanish, legible and understandable. Additional languages can also be included on the label, so long as it is “up to the same size” as the Spanish text. 

Move more easily through regulatory process

Medical device manufacturers expanding into Mexico from another country are already likely to have best practices and quality control processes in place. However, the nuances of ensuring those processes comply with Mexican federal law can be complicated. This is one area where it helps to have support from an experienced partner. By working under the umbrella of a shelter service provider, companies can move quickly through the regulatory process with the benefit of your shelter company’s experience in this area. 

Stategic Insight: What is a shelter company in Mexico?

Tetakawi has decades of experience in supporting manufacturers in navigating regulatory requirements from start-up and beyond. If you’re ready to expand your medical device manufacturing into Mexico with a partner who can help, contact us today.

x

Thinking about manufacturing in Mexico? Download this ebook to move your due diligence forward and improve your probability of success.

Download Now

Recent Posts:

tetakawi-questions-to-ask-about-manufacturing-in-mexico

Start your journey into Mexico today!

50+ Questions to ask before expanding into Mexico

Thinking about expanding into Mexico? Step 1 of your due diligence process is answering all of these questions. Over the last 33 years, thousands of companies have used this guide to accelerate their expansion into Mexico. 
Download Ebook
Instantly calculate your payroll costs in Mexico. (click here).