几个选址策略和方法论——助您在墨西哥找到最佳的建厂地点

七月 19, 2021

制造型企业在寻求进一步降低制造成本并提高其竞争优势的过程中,科学选址是至关重要的第一步。深知墨西哥制造业诸多优势的制造商,应首先确认哪个地区或州是能够在低成本、物流便利性和劳动力供给这三者之间达到完美平衡的理想之地,然后慎重的做出决定。

您是否正在思索;在墨西哥境内选择一个保税加工出口工厂的理想地点时应该考虑哪些选址因素?接下来,我们将简要介绍四个重要的考量因素,以及评估您的备选方案的三种方法。

首先判断目标地点是否满足建厂需要

Manufacturing Community in Saltillo, Coahuila, Mexico

这一点乍一看是显而易见,但是科学选址的第一步应当是核实所选的地点能在多大程度上满足您的基本需求,其中具体包括以下要素:

1.劳动力供给水平


企业可以从收集当地的人口数量、人口统计数据和人口发展趋势入手。例如,该地区的劳动力目前可能是充足的,但是从人口预测的角度来说,未来5年、10年或20年内的劳动力是否还能满足贵企业的需求?

另外,您还应考虑本地劳动力的受教育程度,这样才能填补企业当前乃至将来所需的管理或其他技术类人才。当地的失业率和支柱产业反映出人才争夺战之激烈,而对人才的争夺可能会推高平均薪资水平。最后,请务必收集当地的工资水平和工会订下的工资标准,借以评估不同地区的劳动力成本对运营成本的影响。

2.基础设施便利性

一个有大量廉价劳动力的地区看上去是个理想的地点,但是您随后可能会发现基础设施的缺乏可能会直接影响您产品的竞争力。因此,当您在评估某个特定区域和工业地产项目时,应当确保相关的基础设施是否已就位,包括用供水、污水处理、供电、燃气、互联网等公用设施以及交通路线等等。如果您的产品面向美国市场,那么在墨西哥境内的USMCA高速公路沿线的选址,可以保证您的产品能快速交付。如果您的目标是全球市场,您需要的可能是一处靠近墨西哥深水港的位置。当然,到达国际机场的交通便利,海关服务便捷高效,也是需要考虑的因素,因为这既方便运输货物,也便于公司间的经常性考察。

3.供应链

除了有便利的交通基础设施将物资高效运送到您的工厂,真正的低成本策略还应考虑当地物资和材料的供给情况。墨西哥是众多产业集群的所在地,落户此处的制造商可以从规模经济和关键材料的易得性中获益。此外,制造商可以通过与当地供应商合作,建立起牢固的合作关系,继而提高沟通效率和灵活性。

虽然不同企业的关键性的需求不尽相同,但是以上三个标准应该纳入选址影响因素的清单里。

确定在墨西哥运营的直接成本与间接成本

scheduling-employees-in-mexico

选址的首要目标在很大程度上是要锁定低成本的制造基地。为了实现总成本最小化,您务必把所有因素都考虑进去,其中包括:

  1. 启动成本(初投资)。这包括工业厂房或土地的租赁或购买成本以及为连接水电气管线所产生的成本,还包括在某些特定地区办理相关的生产、运营所需的证照的成本。
  2. 运营费用。上文讨论的劳动力价格、能源成本和其他厂房相关成本等影响因素,应尽早确定下来。很多情况下,与当地有丰富经验的合作伙伴联系,并了解当地的实际情况,有助于获取准确数字。
  3. 进出货的物流成本。距离供应商和客户群的远近会对总成本产生很大影响。确切地说,如果距离客户群太远,有可能会抵消因迁往低成本制造中心获得的各项成本优势。

同时,您还要考虑到任何可能给贵企业造成损失的负面影响,比如材料运输距离过远,或者由于距离客户群太远而导致客户接受度下降。

确定在墨西哥使用的厂房

无论您是纠结于买地自建厂房,还是买带有现成厂房的土地,厂房可用性和相关的成本无疑会影响您的选址决策。大多数情况下,每个企业有自己的评估标准。举例来说,您可能发现萨尔蒂约的工业地产市场需求旺盛,甚至您找不到合适的厂房;或者您就是看中了这个地方,因为这里供应商云集并且极具成本竞争力,可以帮助您进一步削减成本。简言之,您在做厂房选址分析时,请务必花些时间做好充分的尽职调查,确保在客观标准的基础上做出全面的评估。

与当地政府协商鼓励政策

墨西哥联邦政府致力于放宽贸易限制,创造有利于商业发展和外商投资的环境。例如,IMMEX项目围绕企业所得税、工资税和增值税提供了各种税收优惠。墨西哥签署的众多自由贸易协定保障了其货物运往世界各地时可免征关税。

墨西哥各州通常会积极的与制造商进行协商,提供优惠政策,帮助企业降低前期开办费用。请与相关州政府联系,了解那些可以满足您独特需求的激励措施。

选址评估的宏观分析方法

您在收集企业选址的影响因素时,需要考虑采用何种评估框架,以便筛选出兼顾成本和效益的最佳地点。具体可以从以下三种方法中选择其一,从宏观角度对制造基地的备选区域、次级区域和所在社区做出分析。

I要素评分法

要素评分法是一种最常见且易于应用的工业选址策略,其广泛用于评估企业选址时的影响要素。下面是其使用方法。

  1. 首先,请列出影响选址的主要因素。
  2. 接下来,对不同地点的各个要素的符合度打分。
  3. 最后,汇总每一个地点的总分数。分数最高的地点很有可能就是适合您的最佳选择。

II运输评价法

追求运输成本最小化和运输收入最大化是选址策略的两大目标。运输法主要通过关注这一标准,对潜在的设厂地点做出评估。这种方法运用了线性编码技术,可用于解决涉及多个不同的原材料供应地和不同的客户所在地的货物运输问题。运输法可以使用Excel或者其他类似的工具来解决各类问题。

III重心法

重心法是一种数学方法,用于寻找使销售成本和运输时间最小化的最佳设厂地点,实现利润最大化。这种方法是一种设置单个厂房或仓库的方法,且经常用于中转仓库或分销仓库的选择。重心法主要考虑的因素是现有设施之间的距离以及需要运输的货物量。这种方法假定入库和出库的运输成本大致相等,而且只关注满载情况下的运输成本。

定制您专属的选址清单

不同的制造型企业在制定选址决策时会受到不同因素的影响,而收集这些因素的过程可能会很复杂。不过,一旦贵公司结合自身的实际需求确定了心仪的国家或地区,那么通过找到一个专业的合作伙伴来帮您查明并找准理想的制造基地,并开展能够实现较高利润回报率的新业务,就会变得相对容易许多。

如果您已经准备好要在墨西哥寻找适合贵企业的制造基地,现在就请联系Tetakawi吧。

x

Thinking about manufacturing in Mexico? Download this ebook to move your due diligence forward and improve your probability of success.

Download Now

最近的帖子:

百问墨西哥投资建厂

立刻开启您的墨西哥之旅吧。

墨西哥建厂前,您需要准备的50多个问题。

您正在考虑将业务扩展到墨西哥吗?尽职调查的第一步就是要先回答这些问题。在过去33 年里,几千家公司在这个指导手册的帮助下,快速的在墨西哥拓展了他们的商业版图。
立即下载
在墨西哥建厂的成本如何? 用我们的在线计算器来计算一下吧。

Site Selection Strategies to Evaluate the Best Mexico Manufacturing Site

January 04, 2021

In the journey to more cost-competitive manufacturing, site selection is a critical first step. Manufacturers already sold on the many advantages of manufacturing in Mexico must determine which region or state will provide the most significant balance of low cost, logistics connectivity, and labor availability. 

Are you wondering what site selection variables you should consider in your search for the ideal location for your maquiladora in Mexico? Below we outline four of the variables to consider as well as three strategies for evaluating your findings.

Does the site meet your project needs?

Manufacturing Community in Saltillo, Coahuila, Mexico

While this may seem obvious at a glance, the first step in your site selection process should be to identify how well the location can meet your essential needs, including the following factors:

1. Workforce availability

Companies may start by gathering data on regions’ populations, demographics, and trends. There may be ample labor available today, but do long-term demographic projections forecast that this labor availability will be at this site in the next five, ten, or twenty years? 

Also, consider educational attainment in the area to ensure you’ll be able to fill supervisory or more technical positions as needed today or in the future. Understanding local unemployment rates and existing industry presence can indicate just how much competition exists for this available labor, a factor that could push up wages. Finally, be sure to gather information on local wage rates and union rates to begin to evaluate how labor in each region will impact your operational costs.

2. Infrastructure and connectivity

A region with abundant, low-cost labor may look good until you discover that the lack of competition is due to a shortage of supporting infrastructure. As you evaluate regions, and specific industrial real estate, ensure that there is connectivity. This includes both utilities—water, sewer, electric, gas, internet, and the like—as well as transportation routes. If you’re focusing on delivering product to the U.S. market, a location along Mexico’s NAFTA highway can ensure rapid delivery. If you’re exporting globally, you may want a location close to any of the country’s deepwater sea ports. Easy access to an international airport, with customs services, can be useful both for transporting goods and encouraging frequent site visits from other corporate locations. 

3. Supply chain access

In addition to having the transportation infrastructure in place to efficiently move supplies into your factory, a true low-cost approach would also account for the local availability of supplies and materials. Mexico is home to a number of industrial clusters, where manufacturers locate to benefit from economies of scale and easy access to critical materials. By working with local suppliers, manufacturers can build those strong relationships that lead to improved communication and flexibility. 

While your organization’s list of critical needs may vary, these three criteria should start the list of site selection variables to consider. 

Determine direct and indirect costs in Mexico

scheduling-employees-in-mexico

Your primary goal driving site selection in Mexico is likely low-cost manufacturing. To achieve the lowest overall costs, it’s essential to consider all factors, including:

  1. Start-up costs: This includes the cost of your real estate and any work needed to connect to utilities. However, it also includes regulatory and permitting costs that may be associated with a particular region. 
  2. Operational expenses: Site selection variables discussed above, such as labor rates and energy and other real estate-related costs, should be identified early on as best as possible. In many cases, reaching out to partners experienced in the region for local, on-the-ground insight can help secure accurate numbers. 
  3. Inbound and outbound distributions costs: Proximity to your suppliers and customer base will make a big difference in your overall costs. In fact, moving further away from your customer base can potentially offset any cost savings gained by moving to a low-cost operating country. 

Consider, too, any repercussions that could cost the company, such as excessive transportation of material or a loss of customer receptiveness due to locating too far away from your consumer base.

Identify real estate options in Mexico

Whether you’re weighing greenfield costs or brownfield availability, industrial real estate costs and availability will certainly factor into your site selection decision. In most cases, the evaluation criteria may be unique to your organization. For example, you may find demand in Saltillo to be too high to secure a site that meets your specific needs, or you may decide this highly cost-competitive location provides the dense location of suppliers that you need to further cut costs. In your real estate site analysis, take time to do sufficient due diligence to ensure you’re evaluating objective criteria. 

Negotiate for incentives

The Mexican federal government works to ease restrictions on trade and create an environment conducive to business and investment. The IMMEX program, for example, provides a variety of tax benefits around corporate income tax, payroll tax, and value-added tax payments. Mexico’s numerous free trade agreements ensure tariff-free shipment of goods around the world. 

States across the country also negotiate with manufacturers and offer incentives to help offset operational start-up expenses. Reach out to states you may be considering to understand what incentives may be available to meet your unique needs. 

Macro analysis methods for site evaluation 

As you gather these site selection variables, consider the framework you’ll use for evaluation which site provides the best balance. Consider choosing one of the following three methodologies for macro analysis of alternative regions, sub-regions, and communities for your manufacturing site.

Factor rating system

This industrial site selection strategy is among the most commonly used, perhaps because it provides the easy to apply format for evaluating site selection variables. Here’s how it works: 

  1. First, you list the major factors affecting a set of possible sites. 
  2. Next, assign a point value as to how well how each site meets each factor on your list. 
  3. Finally, total up to assigned points for each site. The site with the most points awarded is likely your best bet.

Transportation method

Two common goals in site selection are to minimize the cost of shipping and/or maximize the revenue of shipping. This technique helps evaluate potential future sites by focusing on this criterion. The transportation method of analysis represents a linear encoding technique for addressing the transport of products from assorted sources to a range of destinations. The method can involve using Excel or a similar application to solve different types of problems.

Centroid method

The Centroid method is based on math formulations that aim to determine the location that provides the lowest shopping cost, shipping time, or both to maximize profit. It is often used to locate single facilities, such as transitional or dispersal warehouses. It factors in the availability of existing amenities, the space between them, and the amount of goods to be shipped, among other criteria. This methodology assumes that inbound and outbound transport costs are roughly equal, and focuses on shipping costs only for full loads. 

Tailor your site selection list

Every manufacturing operation is likely to have its unique site selection variables, and gathering this information can be complex. However, once you’ve selected the right global region or country for your needs, it becomes easier to find a partner who can help you pinpoint the perfect site for developing a profitable new operation. 

If you’re ready to find a manufacturing venue in Mexico that works for you, contact Tetakawi today. 

x

Thinking about manufacturing in Mexico? Download this ebook to move your due diligence forward and improve your probability of success.

Download Now

Recent Posts:

tetakawi-questions-to-ask-about-manufacturing-in-mexico

Start your journey into Mexico today!

50+ Questions to ask before expanding into Mexico

Thinking about expanding into Mexico? Step 1 of your due diligence process is answering all of these questions. Over the last 33 years, thousands of companies have used this guide to accelerate their expansion into Mexico. 
Download Ebook
Instantly calculate your payroll costs in Mexico. (click here).