浅谈墨西哥的供应链管理

七月 20, 2021

通过就近选择,增加灵活性来简化供应链管理

对于希望改进供应链管理体系的制造型企业而言,有许多理由让“选择墨西哥”成为浮现在脑海中的第一反应,并使移师墨西哥成为制造商眼中的优选方案。近几年来,当全球供应链挣扎着从饱受干扰的险恶环境中站立起来之时,有很多公司会发现,墨西哥与美国毗邻的地理优势,能为他们带来更大的灵活性,还可以更好地应对在物流方面遇到的诸多挑战,以帮助他们便捷地触达世界最大规模的市场之一。


现今,虽然有很多人在探讨制造业的“回流”,或回到自己的国家从事生产制造业务,“近岸外包”却逐步成为一种更为经济且审慎的选择趋势。将生产制造业务迁移到离企业总部更近的低成本国家,企业就能享受到离岸制造的特有优势,同时还能减少风险,并简化供应链的管理机制。

通过就近选择,使管理更具灵活性

 

无论对来自美国的公司,还是其他外国直接投资商而言,在墨西哥进行生产制造的一个主要益处,是其天然的地理优势——它与美国这个巨大的市场仅有一线之隔。 据MoverDB报告所述,把一个20英尺的集装箱从墨西哥运送到洛杉矶,平均花费为$475,从菲律宾起航则需$706,而选择从孟加拉装运货物甚至需要花费$1,000。由此可见,在货物运输方面,墨西哥无疑为制造商提供了一个更加高效且划算的解决方案。

诚然,上述实例很好地说明了墨西哥在成本控制方面的巨大优势,此外,SDC Executive还从供应链管理的角度阐释了墨西哥所拥有的另一处优势:随着全球贸易往来的持续增长,越来越多的国家都在寻求将产品出口至全球市场,然而,大量的货物运输也给目前的港口基础设施带来了巨大的压力。随着货物运输量的不断提升,很多港口都出现了运输能力匮乏的问题,这导致一些企业不得不通过内陆转运的方式将货物运送到更小一些的港口,其结果则是成本将会愈发增加。而如果企业将货物从墨西哥出口,则有更多的运输方式可供选择——卡车、铁路运输、空运和海运,您可以选择最适合自己企业的选项,以确保采用了最经济的运输方式。

在接受 JOC.com采访时,Reto Malfatti,Kuehne + Nagel运输公司分管墨西哥业务的总经理也表达了同样的观点。他注意到,对于那些货物运输需求不断提升的顾客,已经开始考虑将墨西哥作为未来制造基地选项之一,然后将货物从墨西哥出口到美国。因为墨西哥与世界上最大的贸易国相毗邻,很多国家的投资商将墨西哥称为“通往美国的门户”,此等美誉为墨西哥赢得了与世界上众多国家签订自由贸易协定的良机,而其协定达成数量也远超世界上任何其他的国家。

必读宝典:在墨西哥开展制造业务时,您需要知道的一切

密集的经济产业集群催生多重选择

墨西哥成为全球制造业强国的历史已然相当悠久,这也意味着一些产业已经积累了数十年的供应链资源。其中最显著的例子,大概就是汽车制造业了。墨西哥的汽车产业群随处可见,其拥有的数百家1级、2级和3级供应商,旨在为墨西哥的30家汽车OEM整车厂提供专业支持。同时,这些供应商也在墨西哥的基础设施(包括技术培训等)支撑下,向整个汽车制造业不断发展的需求提供充分的支持服务。

正如Toyota(丰田)北美采购部的副总裁 Greg Laskey所意识到的那样,那些希望迁移至墨西哥以支持当地OEM制造业发展的汽车零部件供应商们发现,当地市场对能够提供“持续竞争力”的供应商还是拥有很大的需求。随着《美墨加协议》(USMCA)的签署,要求提高整车中所含北美制造的零部件的比例,这也刺激了更多的零部件供应商加入到市场竞争中来。当更多的零部件供应商进入该市场后,产业链的下游从业者将能够更容易且便捷地接触到合作伙伴,继而进一步简化供应链的管理流程。

近些年来,墨西哥在航空航天制造业领域的产业集群发展迅猛——其完全能够制造用于商业、私人和防空领域的飞机所需的全部零部件。墨西哥航空产业协会(FEMIA)将墨西哥列为世界第12大航空制造业国家,并且在近二十年以来,墨西哥的航空业仍以高速且稳健的趋势不断发展。在2019年,墨西哥境内已有超过350家供应商服务于航空制造业。虽然墨西哥的航空业也遭受了新冠疫情的影响,但FEMIA(墨航空产业协会)的主席 Felipe Sandoval先生却认为这恰恰会成为一个契机——当疫情促使制造型企业在对其自身供应链业务进行重组时,能将目光投向墨西哥。Sandoval先生提到,墨西哥具备成本竞争优势,技艺娴熟的劳动力大军,以及卓越的物流条件,这些都是帮助航空领域的企业恢复生产的必要条件。

沟通便捷

在高效的供应链管理体系中,一个很重要的因素便是沟通。虽然供应链数字化在解决某些潜在问题的时候显得越来越重要。但有的时候,当你需要了解实际情况时,你可能仍然需要第一时间拿起电话,或直接赶到事发现场,查明真相。

Flex Ltd.(伟创力物流公司)供应链部门的高级总监 Mohamad Moussa这样和EMS Now说到:“沟通一直都十分重要,尤其是当危机出现,需要采取适当的方案绕过这些困难时,高效的沟通就显得更为关键且紧迫了。因此,经常开展工厂、供应商和顾客之间的三方会谈是非常必要的。”

墨西哥与美国共用相同的时区,这种优势与其他制造成本同样低的国家相比,沟通自然会更加便捷。当出现问题或麻烦时,美国的客户可以随时搭乘直达航班,直接奔赴目的地,在最短的时间内解决问题。

其它优势

对那些着眼于今后几年的供应链的大部分制造型企业,如果有一件事是让他们不容忽视的,那就是灵活性。有了便捷的沟通和触达供应链的多种选项加持,制造型企业就可以直面挑战,信心满满地渡过各种危机。

除了灵活性的优势之外,墨西哥也是OEM整车厂建厂选址的优选之地,除此之外,其他制造型企业也在努力寻求通过近岸外包的方式最大程度地降低成本。另一方面,墨西哥还能为供应商提供海量良机,与大牌企业直接建立联系。在经济产业集群附近找到合适的建厂地址,然后产品生产蓄势待发,那么贵企业完全可以充分地利用自身优势及良好信誉,成为大牌制造商们的首选合作伙伴。

如您希望了解如何选对厂址,以在墨西哥顺利开启制造业务,请现在就联系 Tetakawi吧。

x

Thinking about manufacturing in Mexico? Download this ebook to move your due diligence forward and improve your probability of success.

Download Now

最近的帖子:

百问墨西哥投资建厂

立刻开启您的墨西哥之旅吧。

墨西哥建厂前,您需要准备的50多个问题。

您正在考虑将业务扩展到墨西哥吗?尽职调查的第一步就是要先回答这些问题。在过去33 年里,几千家公司在这个指导手册的帮助下,快速的在墨西哥拓展了他们的商业版图。
立即下载
在墨西哥建厂的成本如何? 用我们的在线计算器来计算一下吧。

Supply Chain Management in Mexico

March 05, 2021

Simplifying SCM with Proximity and Flexibility 

There's ample reason Mexico is increasingly becoming a solution for manufacturers seeking to improve supply chain management. As global supply chains struggle to emerge from a few tough years of disruption, many companies find that proximity to the U.S. provides flexibility and simplifies many of the logistical challenges in reaching one of the world's largest markets. 

While reshoring, or returning manufacturing to a company's home country, has been much discussed, nearshoring tends to emerge as a more economically prudent decision quickly. By moving manufacturing to a low-cost country closer to the corporate headquarters, companies can realize the advantages of offshoring while reducing risk and simplifying supply chain management. 

Proximity supports flexibility 

Hands-down proximity to the massive U.S. market is one of the chief benefits of manufacturing in Mexico—for both U.S.-based companies and other foreign direct investors. MoverDB reports that the cost of shipping a 20-foot container from Mexico to Los Angeles averages about $475, compared to $706 from the Philippines or over $1,000 from Bangladesh, making it a far more cost-effective solution for shipping goods. 

While this certainly presents a strong case for Mexico's cost savings, SDC Executive adds another factor to consider for supply chain management. As global trade continues to increase and more countries seek to export goods to global markets, the movement of goods is adding tremendous pressure to existing port infrastructure. This growing volume has led to capacity issues at many ports, causing some companies to work to reroute inbound shipments to smaller ports at potentially higher costs. Companies transporting goods out of Mexico, of course, have significantly more options for product delivery—think truck, rail, air, and ship—and can easily adapt to ensure the lowest-cost transport option. 

Reto Malfatti, managing director for Mexico at transport company Kuehne + Nagel, echoed that sentiment in an interview with JOC.com. He noted that customers seeking transport options are increasingly looking at Mexico as an option for shipping goods into the United States. Its proximity to one of the largest trading countries in the world has given Mexico a reputation as "a gateway to the U.S." for businesses from many nations. It's a reputation further upheld by the nation's numerous free trade agreements—more than any other country.

Must Read: Everything you need to know about manufacturing in Mexico

Dense economic clusters add options 

Mexico's long history as a manufacturing powerhouse also means that several industries have had decades to add density to their supply chains. The automotive manufacturing industry is perhaps the most remarkable example. Automotive clusters can be found throughout the country, supporting Mexico's 30 automotive OEM assembly plants with hundreds of Tier 1, 2, and 3 suppliers. These suppliers are in turn supported with infrastructure that includes technical training to support the evolving needs of this manufacturing base. 

That said, Greg Laskey, vice president of purchasing for Toyota North America, has noted that automotive suppliers hoping to move into Mexico to support these OEM will find there's still plenty of need for suppliers that are able to prove they can offer "sustained competitiveness." With the USMCA now ratified, requiring a greater percentage of automobiles to include North American content, there's even more need for part and component suppliers to move into the market. As more parts suppliers move into Mexico, downstream players may be able to simplify supply chain management through easier access to partners.  

Mexico has also rapidly grown its aerospace manufacturing cluster, producing every component needed for commercial, private, and defense aircraft. The Mexican Federation of the Aerospace Industry (FEMIA) ranks Mexico as the 12th largest aerospace manufacturing country, but it has grown steadily over the last two decades rapidly. In 2019, Mexico counted more than 350 suppliers serving the aerospace manufacturing industry. While this industry has faced some turbulence as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, Felipe Sandoval, president of FEMIA, has noted that this is only more likely to urge manufacturers to turn to Mexico as a solution for restructuring their supply chain. According to Sandoval, Mexico offers the competitive cost, technically skilled labor, and excellent logistics that will be necessary to reinvigorate production in this industry. 

Easy Communication

One of the critical keys to effective supply chain management is Communication. While supply chain digitization is increasingly critical in getting ahead of potential issues, there are times when to get an answer; you need to be able to quickly get on the phone or get to the site of the problem. 

As Mohamad Moussa, a Senior Director of Supply Chain for logistics company Flex Ltd., told EMS Now"Communication is always important, but it plays a more critical and urgent role during a crisis to align on the many actions needed to bypass the challenges. Frequent three-way discussions between the factory, the supplier, and the customer are needed." 

The fact that Mexico operates in the same time zones as the U.S. greatly simplifies Communication compared to other low-cost manufacturing countries. Should an issue or concern arise, it's also easy to hop on a brief flight to get straight to the source of the problem. 

Next steps

If there's one thing that will be on the mind of most manufacturers eyeing their supply chains in the years ahead, it's resiliency. With easier Communication and access to supply chain options, manufacturers can better stay ahead of challenges and confidently ride out disruptions. 

While Mexico presents a strong option for OEM and other manufacturers looking to maximize cost savings through nearshoring, it also provides an opportunity for suppliers looking to build relationships with these big-name players. With the right location near the economic cluster, your products are meant to serve, it's possible your company could better leverage its expertise to become the go-to option for a manufacturing powerhouse.

If you're ready to find the right site to support your launch into Mexico, contact Tetakawi today. 

x

Thinking about manufacturing in Mexico? Download this ebook to move your due diligence forward and improve your probability of success.

Download Now

Recent Posts:

tetakawi-questions-to-ask-about-manufacturing-in-mexico

Start your journey into Mexico today!

50+ Questions to ask before expanding into Mexico

Thinking about expanding into Mexico? Step 1 of your due diligence process is answering all of these questions. Over the last 33 years, thousands of companies have used this guide to accelerate their expansion into Mexico. 
Download Ebook
Instantly calculate your payroll costs in Mexico. (click here).