想来墨西哥投资建厂,先来了解一下墨西哥的商业文化吧

七月 21, 2021

通过与近50个国家签订的广泛的自贸协定,以及数十年来鼓励外商直接投资的相关政策,墨西哥已经成为了名副其实的全球化国家。然而如果制造商想在墨西哥开展业务,并与当地供应商展开深度合作,那么了解当地的商业文化是必不可少的。

墨西哥是一个人情社会,良好的人际关系不仅有助于建立广泛的业务关系,而且也会提高现有供应商的忠诚度。供应商及其他企业会慢慢发现,只有适应当地的商业文化,才能在当地市场站稳脚跟。

第一条:建立情感关系

在墨西哥,签署合同意味着一段关系的开始,而这种关系将有助于双方的业务发展。您可以通过一些商务会议上的闲聊或商务宴请等机会建立广泛的人际关系,这对于商业合作至关重要,因为互信是进一步建立业务关系的基石。

此外,也可以通过与合伙人及其家人的社交活动来加强业务关系。很多墨西哥商人都会在周末邀请同事及其家人到自己家里做客,以借此机会建立社交圈。

问候对方的家人,并与其家人会面同样非常重要。在墨西哥,家庭始终比工作和生活更重要。这对墨西哥与中国的商业合作影响很大,因为墨西哥人通常更崇尚家庭,而大部分中国人会优先考虑他们赖以生存的工作。大部分墨西哥人对自己的定义,是属于某一家庭的一份子。这也是为什么很多墨西哥员工和同事休假时间都很长,因为他们要花时间去探访家人。

第二条:控制好社交距离

除了需要了解同事及员工的家庭生活外,墨西哥人的社交距离也和中国不一样。在中国,两个人面对面交谈一般保持一臂的距离,而墨西哥的社交距离整体上要比中国更近一点,当然,在不同地区,人们的社交距离也略有不同。

一般而言,初次见面时,握手是比较常见的礼节。然而在墨西哥,一旦两个人相互熟识了,就可以通过拍拍背部或者亲吻脸颊的形式来打招呼。这种亲密的接触表示了一种相互欣赏和尊重,而拒绝这种接触可能被视为一种无礼的行为。

第三条:注意语调和肢体语言

专家们一致认为,多达90%的沟通其实都是通过非语言的方式完成的。其中,手势和语调对于建立良好的沟通至关重要。人们一般认为,墨西哥推崇“高语境文化”,即沟通不在于正式交流,而更多会依赖于基于长期的相互交往的双方所进行的面对面互动所传达的暗示含义。换言之,信息传递和表达的方式和信息本身一样重要。认识到这一点,就能够明白有时候墨西哥人口中“是”,其实可能是在表示否定。

多花些时间注意一下自己的肢体语言。比如,手插兜可能不是很礼貌的行为,而双手掐腰会显得过于强势。

第四条:注意衣着得体

在墨西哥,职业、优雅的衣着打扮非常重要,所以出席商务场合的准则一般是西装革履。总的来说,在墨西哥做生意,即使是衣着过于讲究也要好于一身邋遢。当然,在一些小城市,尤其是天气非常炎热的地区开会,也会有例外。然而,通常情况下,即使是在非正式的商务会议中,衣着也要尽量选择沉稳、保守的颜色。一般情况下,不要穿牛仔裤。

无论穿什么衣服,都要随身携带名片。墨西哥人非常看重名片,因此一定要随身携带。建议名片一面是西班牙文的,且在会议期间交换名片时,要把西班牙文的一面朝上。名片上应该印有您的手机号码及邮箱。

第五条:遵守当地时间

一定要尊重当地对于时间的要求,安排任何会议时请注意这一点。开会前要确定时间,确保大家信息对称。虽然一般情况下要求大家准时参会,但是有时候也会延误一会儿。大体上,除了墨西哥人对时间的观念比较松散外,大城市常见的交通拥堵也可能导致会议延误。

会议开始后,时间安排也很重要。正式的谈判可能要等到第二次或者之后的会议才会开始。如果是餐会的形式,一般可能要等到最后五分钟才会开始商务会谈。

第六条:提前做好功课

如果您表现出对墨西哥这个国家的兴趣,那么您的同事和潜在合作伙伴对此会很开心。对当地文化、历史和艺术有一定了解并表示喜爱,表明您见多识广,而且已经充分准备好在墨西哥开展业务了。

当然,在墨西哥开展业务的最佳途径是与专业的咨询服务公司合作。把Tetakawi当做您的合作伙伴,您就有了一座通往您的墨西哥愿景的桥梁。马上联系我们,为您在墨西哥的业务拓展出谋划策吧!

x

Thinking about manufacturing in Mexico? Download this ebook to move your due diligence forward and improve your probability of success.

Download Now

最近的帖子:

百问墨西哥投资建厂

立刻开启您的墨西哥之旅吧。

墨西哥建厂前,您需要准备的50多个问题。

您正在考虑将业务扩展到墨西哥吗?尽职调查的第一步就是要先回答这些问题。在过去33 年里,几千家公司在这个指导手册的帮助下,快速的在墨西哥拓展了他们的商业版图。
立即下载
在墨西哥建厂的成本如何? 用我们的在线计算器来计算一下吧。

6 Tips for Successfully Navigating Mexican Business Culture

October 23, 2020

Through its extensive free trade agreements and decades of work in encouraging foreign direct investment in its economy, Mexico is truly a global country. However, manufacturers looking to launch an operation in Mexico and build networks with local suppliers will find that an understanding of the local business culture can be a powerful asset. 

Personal relationships are important in Mexico and necessary for building business relationships. These relationships often give rise to a strong sense of loyalty to existing suppliers. Suppliers and other business leaders looking to gain a foothold in the local market will find they are best served by meeting local business culture expectations.

1. Make it personal 

In Mexico, contracts are often seen as the beginning of a relationship that can enable business progress. Building these relationships may take place through the expected small talk that takes place in many business meetings and through business meals. These relationships are important because trust plays a critical role in establishing these business relationships.

Strengthening these business relationships might also include socializing with associates and their families. Many Mexican business professionals invite colleagues and their families to their homes over the weekend as an opportunity to build social bonds. 

Meeting and asking about families is important, as family in Mexico always takes priority over work and other aspects of life. This has an impact on Mexican-U.S. business communication because family is a part of self-definition in Mexico. Consider that most people in the United States define their sense of self by what they do for a living. Most Mexicans might define themselves as belonging to a particular family. This is one reason that you’ll find most Mexican employees and colleagues take long holidays, as a time to visit with loved ones. 

2. Check your boundaries

Getting to know your colleagues’ and employees’ family life isn’t the only difference in boundaries. Expect a different understanding of personal space in Mexico compared to what you find in the United States. While there are regional differences in communication, overall personal space is slightly closer than in the U.S., where two people standing face-to-face may be expected to stay roughly arm’s length apart. 

For a first-time greeting, a handshake is typical. However, once that relationship is established in Mexico, a greeting may include a pat on the back or a kiss on the cheek. This close contact is a sign of appreciation and respect, and withdrawing from this touch could be considered insulting. 

3. Track tone and gesture 

Experts agree that as much as 90% of communication is nonverbal, and gesture and tone can play a big impact in establishing business relationships. Mexico is often referred to as a “high context culture,” meaning there is less reliance on formal communication and more on implied content conveyed through understanding built on long-term relationships and face-to-face interaction. In other words, there is as much importance put on how a message is said as on the message itself. Recognizing this, it becomes easier to recognize when a “yes” may actually mean no, for example.  

Take time to think about what your body language is saying. Shoving your hands in your pockets may be impolite, while placing your hands on your hips seem aggressive. 

4. Dress to impress

Presenting yourself in a professional, polished way is important in Mexico, which is why a suit is the norm for business settings. When doing business in Mexico, it is better to be overdressed than underdressed. The exception might be for meetings in a particularly hot region in smaller cities. However, even in informal business meetings, dress might tend toward calm, conservative colors. Jeans are rare. 

One element to keep handy, no matter what your outfit, is a business card. Business cards are still a must in Mexico, so it’s a good idea to keep some handy. It is advisable to have one side in Spanish and to present that side facing up during a meeting. Cards should include your cell number as well as email.

5. Follow local time

It is important to be respectful of local expectations around time. This begins with any meetings you may schedule. Confirm the time prior to your meeting to ensure everyone remains on the same page. While it is expected that you show up on time to meetings, a wait may be in order. In addition to a more relaxed attitude around time in general, traffic disruptions are common in large cities and can trigger delays. 

Understanding timing is important once meetings begin as well. Serious negotiations may not begin until a second or later meeting. If meeting for a meal, business discussions may not take place until the last five minutes. 

One of the benefits of having an operation in Mexico often is the closeness of time zones to home operations. A typical Mexican business day may start at 9:00 am and end at 7:00 pm, much like in the United States. However, it is normal for your colleagues in Mexico to take a more leisurely lunch, usually between 2:00 to 4:00 pm, so it may be best to time your call accordingly. 

6. Be informed

Your colleagues and potential partners in Mexico appreciate it when you take an interest in the country. Demonstrating knowledge of culture, history, art, and the like is one more way to demonstrate that you are both well informed and well prepared to do business in Mexico. 

Of course, the best way to be prepared for business in Mexico is to work with an expert advisory services firm. By working with a partner like Tetakawi, you gain a bridge to Mexico's business expectations. Contact us today to start planning your expansion into Mexico. 

x

Thinking about manufacturing in Mexico? Download this ebook to move your due diligence forward and improve your probability of success.

Download Now

Recent Posts:

Screen Shot 2019-04-24 at 12.27.01 PM

Start your journey into Mexico today!

Download our Free Ebook on Mexican Labor Laws!

Use this guidebook to understand the ins and outs of Mexico's Labor Laws!
Download Now
Webinar: Reshoring Manufacturing from China to Mexico Register Now.