来自墨西哥的盟友支持——美国对华依赖的解决之道

七月 21, 2021

将某些关键产品的生产线转移到邻国,是否有助于加强美国供应链的灵活性呢?美墨基金会(USMF)认为,这个问题的答案是肯定的。这个致力于促进美墨两国合作共赢的非营利组织发起了一场活动,以积极倡导“ally-shoring”(盟友支持)这一理念。


在一份题为《盟友支持的真实案例与发展途径之墨西哥》(Case and Path of Development for Ally Shoring: Mexico)的报告中,美国经济学家Elaine Dezenski和John Austin认为,盟友支持是相互信赖的两个国家通过重构关键供应链,将基本原材料、商品和服务本地化的过程。盟友支持的重点在于对盟友之间的投资,以此加强联盟并保护彼此共同的国家经济安全利益。美国和墨西哥的生产贸易业务在过去30多年来始终紧密交织在一起,而“盟友支持”这个理念旨在构建一个独特的框架,推动两国关系不断地继续向前快速发展。

这种重塑供应链的战略性途径可以解决全球新冠疫情大流行期间显现出来的供应链断裂问题。正如USMF报告所指出的那样,全球供应链断裂凸显了美国因对华过度依赖所引发的脆弱性。在毗邻美国的墨西哥执行近岸生产,企业可以在本地化程度更高的供应链和低成本的制造业务之间达到平衡,同时在一定程度上提高供应链风险管理的安全性。

本地化供应链的优势

鉴于本地化的供应链降低了物流延误的风险,因而这种选项随即成为了制造商们的福音。与生产制造基地周边的供应商合作,制造商可以更加灵活地应对需求波动。虽然减少全球货物运输会减轻企业对环境的负面影响,但是在美国本土生产无形中也会拉高制造成本,其弊端也颇为突出。从现实情况来看,转向墨西哥进行近岸生产,制造商们可以更好地把控风险和成本平衡。

近岸生产是指在地理上将生产制造转移到商品或服务的最终消费国附近的行为。例如,若选择将生产线转移到墨西哥,美国制造商可以大大缩短运输时间。美墨两国的共同边境,为制造商提供了铁路、高速公路和深水港等多种运输方式。从根本上来说,更便捷的运输方式和更短的运输路线,最终也将有利于企业达成各种节能环保方面的目标。

墨西哥所处的地理位置,使得制造商能够从当地的厂房和劳动力方面获得成本优势,从而保持相对于竞争对手的领先地位。

除上述提到的优势之外,近岸生产也提升了客户在产品定制上的体验,满足了他们不断变化的需求。随着时间的推移,这些方面也成为了客户愈发看重的优势。根据USMF的报告,客户的需求日益呈现出个性化的特点。这就要求制造商进一步缩短交货期——在这点上,作为邻国盟友的墨西哥自然更具竞争力。报告指出,墨西哥已经具备了快速生产小批量、多品种产品的优势,随着客户对产品定制和交付速度的要求不断提高,按需定制的能力必然成为企业不可或缺的要素之一。

因供应链可见性而带来的挑战

制造商面临的另一个挑战,是缺少对较低层级供应商的可见性,这会带来很多潜在的风险。例如,如果制造型企业不了解“谁在供应三级零部件/元件”,也就无从判断什么时候可能面临“单一来源采购”的风险或者其他可能限制产量的因素。

供应链的可见性不足还会导致企业不了解某些较低层级供应商被政府或其他组织纳入观察名单这一事实。USMF在其“盟友支持”的案例中提到,盟友支持的一个主要好处在于,它有效减少了美国对中国和其他国家行为体在关键物资上的依赖,并降低了潜在的知识产权和网络安全风险。另外,“盟友支持”也有助于弱化关键供应链因政治勒索等破坏性因素而中断的影响。

撰写报告的研究人员指出,相较于其他很多国家,墨西哥构建起来的供应链系统更容易实现有效追踪和监测。而USMF也表示,美墨两国之间的紧密联系,将进一步提高两国对整个供应链体系的监控和保障能力。

墨西哥的独特优势

虽然近岸生产能够让许多国家从中受益,但是USMF同时也指出,墨西哥有其独特的优势,这些优势对美国大有裨益,而其中最突出的,便是供应链的可靠性和创新性。

在供应链的可靠性这一点上,报告中指出,从先进的制造业产品,到食品和药品供应,许多对美国而言至关重要的物资,都可以从墨西哥获得可靠来源。在过去几十年间,墨西哥建立了密集且强大的供应商网络,大大简化了以低成本获取关键行业所需零部件的过程。研究人员还在报告中指出,通过加强经济合作,以及作为美国信赖的供应链长期合作伙伴,墨西哥的地位将进一步得到巩固。

此外,在报告中还强调了一个事实,即墨西哥已经搭建起“由致力于前瞻性创新的技术人才和跨国企业构建的先进型基础设施”。为了满足个性化的生产制造需求,墨西哥联邦政府和州政府配备了完善的教育培训基础设施,而墨西哥也借此成为了世界一流的创新型生产制造基地。研究人员对此总结道:“墨西哥的人才培养基地拥有强大的技能型人才和技术型人才”。再加上持续年轻化且仍在不断增长的人口,墨西哥高度熟练的劳动力随时可以填补美国的战略缺口,缓解人才短缺的困境。

寻求“盟友支持”的良机

USMF现任总干事、墨西哥经济部投资促进机构(ProMéxico)(现已解散)的前北美区主任Enrique Perret告诉T21,“盟友支持”这一理念已展示给墨西哥和美国政府的官员,它将成为优化两国商业环境的开端。此外,USMF会将新冠疫情援助作为加强两国联系和政策协调的第一步。该组织还建议,首先应当成立一个由美墨两国官员和制造商组成的工作组,用以填补新冠疫情爆发期间或未来全球恢复正常工作秩序时留下的空白地带。

该组织的下一步计划,是加强两国政府及制造业界的紧密协作,借此考察墨西哥公司的企业规模、经营范围和企业实力,并且在研发、生产和当地采购领域为行业的转型升级寻求更大的发展良机。以上描述涉及的行业包括:电信行业、金融科技业、汽车制造业、航空航天业以及生物制药业。

携手两国政府和制造商,合力打造“智能边境”计划,是工作组追求的终极目标。研究人员称,智能边境的基础设施可以加快边境货物的周转,促进贸易往来,并强化数字化供应链的管理和安全体系。

发达的支持网络

USMF指出,得益于墨西哥“发达的Shelter服务网络和企业主导的经济发展和贸易组织网络”,从中国或其他国家撤出生产线对企业来说可算是毫不费力。有了丰富的资源支持,制造商可以快速建立起协作生产关系和供应商网络。

其中,Shelter服务商更是创造了巨大的价值——他们连接起制造商和所需的资源,使制造商们能够完全按照当地法规实现快速的业务启动。此外,Shelter公司还能提供工业厂房租赁、人力资源管理、进出口协助和其他行政支持等一系列专业服务。最为重要的是,Shelter服务商有能力在最短的时间内,帮助企业解决在新的国家开展业务时通常会面临的诸多困难。

如果贵公司有兴趣了解更多有关“移师墨西哥”对企业构建弹性供应链的积极作用,请立即联系Tetakawi吧!

Tetakawi: Set-Up a Factory in Mexico in 30 days
x

Thinking about manufacturing in Mexico? Download this ebook to move your due diligence forward and improve your probability of success.

Download Now

最近的帖子:

百问墨西哥投资建厂

立刻开启您的墨西哥之旅吧。

墨西哥建厂前,您需要准备的50多个问题

您正在考虑将业务扩展到墨西哥吗?尽职调查的第一步就是要先回答这些问题。在过去33 年里,几千家公司在这个指导手册的帮助下,快速的在墨西哥拓展了他们的商业版图。
立即下载
在墨西哥建厂的成本如何? 用我们的在线计算器来计算一下吧。

What is Ally-Shoring in Mexico? Solution to U.S. dependence on China

April 08, 2021

Can shifting the production of critical goods to nearby countries help in building U.S. supply chain resilience? The US-Mexico Foundation (USMF) thinks so. This nonprofit dedicated to promoting binational cooperating between the United States and Mexico has launched a campaign to promote the concept of “ally-shoring.” 

A report by American economists Elaine Dezenski and John Austin, “Case and Path of Development for Ally-Shoring: Mexico,” describes ally-shoring as the process through which countries can rework their critical supply chains to source essential materials, goods, and services between trusted allies. Its focus is on investing in relationships meant to protect and improve joint economic and national security. It is meant to build on a unique framework through which the U.S. and Mexico can “build on more than 30 years of tightly woven co-production and trade, but with an eye towards the future.”

It’s a strategic approach to reworking supply chains that addresses many of the disruptions highlighted by the global COVID-19 pandemic. As the USMF report notes, the disruptions shaking global supply chains have emphasized the United States’ vulnerability due to its over-reliance on China. By nearshoring production in Mexico, companies can balance a more localized supply chain with low-cost production while adding a level of security into their supply chain risk management. 

Benefits of more localized supply chains

Localized supply chains are a boon to manufacturers as they reduce the risk of delays in transit. By working with suppliers closer to your manufacturing site, manufacturers can better respond to fluctuations in demand. Lowering global shipments can also help reduce companies’ environmental impact. The downside, however, is that onshoring manufacturing is virtually guaranteed to raise manufacturing costs. Realistically, manufacturers may better balance risk and costs with nearshoring. 

Nearshoring is the act of moving manufacturing geographically closer to the country where the goods or services ultimately will be sold. By moving manufacturing to Mexico, for example, U.S. manufacturers can dramatically reduce shipping time. Mexico’s shared border with the U.S. also provides manufacturers with transit options via rail, highway, or one of its many deep-water seaports. Ultimately, these options and shorter routes can help companies meet a variety of environmental goals. 

This location also allows manufacturers to benefit from lower real estate and labor costs available in Mexico, maintaining a cost advantage against competitors. 

There’s an additional benefit that’s becoming increasingly important to consumers, and that’s for greater product customization to meet fast-changing customer desires. According to the USMF report, consumer demands are increasingly moving towards a demand for customization. This requires that manufacturers further reduce the time from order to delivery—a demand that gives ally-shored neighbors a competitive advantage. “Mexico already possesses advantages producing low volume, high-mix products quickly, which (with accelerating demands for product customization and speed to customer) will be an increasingly important business necessity,” the report notes. 

Challenges of supply chain visibility 

Another challenge facing manufacturers is a lack of visibility into their lower-tier suppliers. This can present a number of risks. For example, a lack of visibility into who is supplying Tier 3 components can prevent organizations from knowing when they are at risk of having a single-source supplier or other production constraints. 

It can also hide the fact that lower-tier suppliers may be on government or other organizational watch lists. In fact, the USMF’s case for ally-shoring cites one of the primary benefits of this approach is that it reduces U.S. reliance on critical supplies from China and other state actors and potential exposure to intellectual property and cybersecurity risks. It also helps make critical supply chains less susceptible to disruptions that include political blackmail.

The researchers note that supply chains developed with Mexico can be more easily traced and monitored than many other countries. Greater connectivity between these two countries, USMF suggests, will further increase both countries’ ability to transparently monitor and secure the whole supply chain.

Mexico’s unique offering

While nearshoring is a concept from which many countries can benefit, USMF notes that Mexico offers a number of unique benefits that can help support the U.S., most notably reliability and innovation. 

On the former point, the document notes that Mexico can provide a predictable, reliable source for many supplies deemed critical to the U.S., ranging from advanced manufacturing to medical and food supplies. The country’s dense supplier network has been built up across decades to simplify low-cost access to components across a number of critical industries. “With greater economic collaboration, Mexico can strengthen its geographical position as a predictable and reliable supply chain partner to the U.S.,” the researcher notes. 

In addition, the report highlights the fact that Mexico offers a “sophisticated infrastructure of technological talent and globally engaged firms committed to forward-leaning innovation.” The country has become known as a world-class region of innovation and production, as the federal and state governments have built up education and training infrastructure to support unique production needs. Mexico has, as a result, “one of the most skilled and technologically capable talent bases,” the researchers conclude. Combined with its young and growing population, and it presents a highly skilled labor force ready to fill strategic gaps and shortages in the U.S. talent pipeline.

Identifying opportunities for ally-shoring

Enrique Perret, general director of USMF and former director for North America of the now-defunct ProMéxico promotion agency, told T21 that this concept is being presented to Mexican and U.S. government officials as a first step toward expanding the business environment of both countries. USMF is targeting COVID-19 aid as a first step for strengthening the connection and policy coordination between these two countries. It advises first establishing a working group of U.S. and Mexican officials and manufacturers to fill remaining gaps in COVID-19 or future global health recovery efforts.

Next, the organization aims to strengthen government collaboration with the U.S.-Mexico manufacturing community to map the size, scope, and competencies of businesses in Mexico to identify a greater opportunity for development, co-production, and sourcing across transformational sectors. These sectors include telecom, financial technology, automotive and aerospace manufacturing, as well as pharmaceutical and biotech production. 

Ultimately, the group aims to work with both countries’ administration and manufacturers to develop a “smart border” plan. Smart border infrastructure, the researchers say, could speed the movement of goods at the border, better-facilitating trade and data-driven supply chain management and security systems. 

A well-developed support network 

The USMF notes that businesses should have no trouble finding support for a manufacturing move from China or other countries due to Mexico’s “well developed network of shelter organizations, business-led economic development and trade organizations.” These resources can help manufacturers quickly develop co-production relationships and suppliers.

Shelter organizations provide tremendous value in connecting manufacturers with the resources they need to quickly get operations up and running in full compliance with local regulations. Shelter companies provide a range of offerings that may include industrial real estate for lease, HR support, import/export assistance, and other administrative tasks. Most importantly, shelter service providers help companies navigate the hurdles typical to launching operations in a new country.

If you’re interested in learning more about how manufacturing in Mexico can help you build a more resilient supply chain, contact Tetakawi today. 

Tetakawi: Set-Up a Factory in Mexico in 30 days
    
x

Thinking about manufacturing in Mexico? Download this ebook to move your due diligence forward and improve your probability of success.

Download Now

Recent Posts:

tetakawi-questions-to-ask-about-manufacturing-in-mexico

START YOUR JOURNEY INTO MEXICO TODAY!

50+ Questions to ask before expanding into Mexico

Thinking about expanding into Mexico? Step 1 of your due diligence process is answering all of these questions. Over the last 33 years, thousands of companies have used this guide to accelerate their expansion into Mexico. 
Download Ebook
Free Ebook: How to Choose a Shelter Service Provider in Mexico - > Download Now.