墨西哥商机之暖通空调制造业

七月 20, 2021

美国市场对暖通空调(简称HVAC)设备的需求正处在高速增长期,对于供应商而言,需要下定决心考虑如何紧跟市场需求的步伐。将生产线迁至墨西哥不失为一个理想之举——即在稳步提高产能的同时,控制好设备或系统零部件供应的成本效益。


墨西哥拥有强大的暖通空调制造产业集群。在2019年,仅在空调出口方面,墨西哥的出口额就高达约41亿美元,这使其成为全球第三大空调出口国,且其产品主要出口到美国市场。而在销往美国的暖通空调设备中,约有90%产自墨西哥。

凭借自身强大的供应网络和毗邻全球最大市场的区位优势,选择墨西哥作为下一个生产制造基地合理的最佳选择,已经成为世界各大顶级的暖通空调设备制造商的共识。

必读宝典:在墨西哥开展制造业务时,您所需要了解的一切

世界顶级HVAC制造商面临不断升温的市场需求

 

据HVAC制造商预估,市场对暖通空调的需求会不断增加,这背后的原因有

很多:首先,这源于美国不断攀升的住房需求。另一方面,政府在节能方面也加大了激励力度,即鼓励更多的业主对暖通空调系统进行更新换代。

在COVID-19大流行期间,政府强烈推荐安装带有MERV-14级过滤器的暖通空调系统,从而改善通风质量,营造健康的室内空气循环环境。随着非住宅类业主有更多的资金预算用于暖通空调的设备升级,世界顶级的HVAC制造商们可以据此预见,对优质暖通空调系统的需求也将大幅上升。

综上所述,根据Grand View Research的预计,从2020年至2027年,全球暖通空调系统市场的年复合增长率将达到6.1%。

不可否认,坚持以合理的成本提供高质量的设备,是保持自身竞争优势的关键,而这也恰好是墨西哥能带给制造商们的优势之所在。长期以来,从结构性薄金属外壳到铜管或铝管,从热交换器到泵,再到给设备供电的线路,墨西哥始终占据着全球暖通空调设备/元器件制造的领头羊地位。

据威斯康星经济发展公司(Wisconsin Economic Development Corp.)报告称,墨西哥拥有超过600家公司服务于暖通空调行业,其中包括一级、二级和三级供应商。这些HVAC生产服务商包括:开利公司(Carrier Corp.)、古德曼公司(Goodman Manufacturing Co.)、雷诺士公司(Lennox International Inc.)、诺特克公司(Nortek Global HVAC)、瑞美公司(Rheem Manufacturing Co.)、特灵公司(Trane Inc.)和约克公司(York International Corp.)。

为什么HVAC制造商选择在墨西哥建厂?

墨西哥的投资吸引力,很大一部分来自其高质量、高性价比的可用劳动力资源。人们对墨西哥存在一个普遍误解,认为低成本的劳动力是顶级设备制造商们迁至墨西哥的唯一动因。然而,真实的情况是,低成本劳动力的确是墨西哥的一大优势,但它只是外商选择投资墨西哥的诸多缘由之一。墨西哥本土的劳动力不仅在薪资要求方面极具竞争力,而且他们的工作经验和所接受的专业培训也能充分满足制造业的发展需求。此外,墨西哥联邦政府和州政府也一直致力于鼓励更多外商投资,且将制造业的技能培视为政府长期以来坚持的一项首要工作。主要体现在与教育相关的公共设施的建设与完善,即几所一流的科技大学相继建成,多种职业培训可供选择等。

截至2020年,墨西哥的劳动力人口已超过5,800万,并且在过去十年中仍然呈现持续上升的趋势。墨西哥人口的稳步上升,意味着制造商们无需担心会像在某些其他国家一样,面临熟练劳动力短缺的困境。对HVAC制造商来说,雇佣具备一定行业经验的熟练工变得轻而易举,针对他们的装配线和生产流水线的特定需求,工人们还可以接受定向的专业培训。

HVAC制造商在墨西哥的工厂分布情况

墨西哥能够成为暖通空调制造基地的另一大原因,在于其强大的电子设备制造业、汽车制造业和航空航天制造业供应链网络。很多企业不仅能共用配备的基础设施,在某些情况下,甚至可以共享所需的供应商。确切地说,暖通空调企业的工厂集中分布在拥有汽车产业或航空航天产业集群的各大州,其中尤以克雷塔罗州(Queretaro)和瓜纳华托州(Guanajuato)为代表,此外还包括奇瓦瓦州(Chihuahua)、塔毛利帕斯州(Tamaulipas)、新莱昂州(Nuevo León)、 墨西哥城(Mexico City)、和科阿韦拉州(Coahuila)的萨尔蒂约(Saltillo)等地。

在某些特定的情况下,供应商们选择在墨西哥投资建厂,是为了靠近OEM制造商,以及由此所节省的物流成本。这也是为什么约克(York)、开利(Carrier)和特灵(Trane)等公司将工厂建在蒙特雷(Monterrey),而雷诺士(Lennox)公司的工厂选择在蒙特雷市附近的萨尔蒂约(Saltillo)(汽车制造中心)落户,而Nortek Global公司(前身为Nordyne)在这两个城市均设有工厂的重要原因之一。在墨西哥中部,圣路易斯波托西(San Luis Potos)的工业区飞速发展,作为全球最大的暖通空调制造商,古德曼制造公司(Goodman Manufacturing Co.)的母公司——大金集团(Daikin)也选择在这里开办工厂。此外,瑞美公司(Rheem)在新拉雷多(Nuevo Laredo)的工厂距离德克萨斯州边境仅有几分钟路程。

毋庸置疑,毗邻美国市场是墨西哥能够吸引众多制造商们前来投资的各种优势之一。同时,在各大企业逐步克服供应链瓶颈过程中,区位因素也将发挥越来越重要的作用。因此,许多企业都已认识到:将厂址迁移至靠近目标市场的邻国,是有利于企业长久发展的“最佳策略”之一。本地化的供应链体系,一方面有利于降低供应商物流延误的风险;另一方面也便于制造商们灵活应对需求的波动。凭借其完善的高速公路、铁路以及大西洋和太平洋沿岸的深海港等交通运输网络,墨西哥为HVAC供应商能够快速将其产品推向全球市场提供了诸多便利。

除此之外,墨西哥还有其他附加优势吗?答案是肯定的。墨西哥拥有比其他任何国家都多的自由贸易协定,这使得HVAC供应商在进行跨境运输货物时,实现整体流程的便捷、高效且更划算。

为您的企业在墨西哥收获成功制定最合适的战略方针

暖通空调设备的需求增长迅速,为了保证其核心元部件的稳定供货量,HVAC供应商有必要对企业战略做出重新评估。世界顶级的HVAC制造商越来越意识到,墨西哥当地的暖通空调供应链拥有充足的劳动力予以支持,因此,迅速融入到其当地的供应链之中,对于保持自身企业未来的竞争力至关重要。

尽管HVAC制造商在墨西哥各地已屡获成功,但是每一家企业只有在审慎评估并最终确定适合的选址方案后,才能使自家企业走在通向成功的康庄大道上。这恰好是Tetakawi可以提供专业服务的领域。无论您是在寻找适合贵公司建厂的选址服务,还是准备在我们可“即刻入驻”的制造社区内租赁厂房,以实现您的宏图壮志,Tetakawi都可以为您的墨西哥投资之旅提供全方位的帮助。

如果贵公司有志于在墨西哥开拓自己的商业版图,请现在就联系Tetakawi吧!

 

x

Thinking about manufacturing in Mexico? Download this ebook to move your due diligence forward and improve your probability of success.

Download Now

最近的帖子:

百问墨西哥投资建厂

立刻开启您的墨西哥之旅吧。

墨西哥建厂前,您需要准备的50多个问题。

您正在考虑将业务扩展到墨西哥吗?尽职调查的第一步就是要先回答这些问题。在过去33 年里,几千家公司在这个指导手册的帮助下,快速的在墨西哥拓展了他们的商业版图。
立即下载
在墨西哥建厂的成本如何? 用我们的在线计算器来计算一下吧。

HVAC Suppliers Find Opportunity to Grow Manufacturing in Mexico

April 19, 2021

Demand for heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) units is poised to take off, leaving HVAC suppliers to make decisions on how to keep up. For many such companies, a move to Mexico may be an ideal solution for ramping up production for a steady, cost-effective supply of HVAC units or system components. 

Mexico is home to a strong HVAC manufacturing industry cluster. In 2019, the country exported roughly $4.1 billion in air conditioners alone, mainly to the United States, making it the third-largest such exporting nation in the world. About 90% of all HVAC units shipped to the United States are produced by companies that manufacture in Mexico.

With its strong supplier network and easy accessibility to the world's largest market, Mexico is a logical choice as a manufacturing location—as most of the top HVAC equipment manufacturers have already discovered. Must Read: Everything you need to know about manufacturing in Mexico

Top HVAC equipment manufacturers face growing demand

There are a number of reasons for HVAC suppliers to expect growing demand for their materials, starting with increasing housing demand in the U.S. There has also been an increase in incentives for energy-efficient equipment, encouraging many homeowners to make upgrades to their existing systems. 

Finally, improved ventilation through an HVAC system capable of accommodating a MERV-14 rated filter has become a leading recommendation for creating healthy indoor air during the COVID-19 pandemic. As nonresidential building owners set aside or secure funding to make upgrades, top HVAC equipment manufacturers can expect demand to rise considerably for quality HVAC systems. 

All told, Grand View Research projects that the global HVAC systems market will register a CAGR of 6.1% from 2020 through 2027. 

Of course, providing high-quality units at a reasonable cost will be key for securing a competitive edge. That's where Mexico comes in. The country has long been a stronghold for HVAC equipment manufacturing, from the structural sheet metal cases and copper or aluminum tubing to heat exchangers, pumps, and wiring fitted within the final units. 

The Wisconsin Economic Development Corp. reports that Mexico is home to more than 600 companies serving the HVAC sector, including Tier 1, 2, and 3 suppliers. These include HVAC manufacturers Carrier Corp., Goodman Manufacturing Co., Lennox International Inc., Nortek Global HVAC, Rheem Manufacturing Co., Trane Inc., and York International Corp.

Why manufacture HVAC products in Mexico 

A strong part of Mexico's appeal comes from the availability of high-quality, cost-effective labor. There's a common misconception that low-cost labor is the only reason top equipment manufacturers have moved to Mexico. The truth is, low-cost labor is an advantage, but it's only one of many. This competitively priced labor also offers the benefit of experience and training to meet manufacturing demand. Because the federal and state governments have committed to incentivizing foreign investment, manufacturing training has long been a priority in Mexico. The result is an infrastructure that includes several leading technical universities and extensive options for vocational training. 

In addition, Mexico's labor force of more than 58 million people as of 2020 has trended consistently upward in the last decade. This steady upward population trend means that manufacturers don't have to fear the skilled labor shortages that some other countries face. Mexico makes it easy for HVAC suppliers to connect with workers with some manufacturing experience or opportunities to customize worker training for their specific assembly and production needs. 

Where HVAC companies have factories in Mexico 

Another reason for Mexico's appeal as a site for the HVAC manufacturing industry stems from its robust network of electronics, automotive, and aerospace industry suppliers. Many of these companies share infrastructure and, in some cases, suppliers. In fact, HVAC manufacturing is heavily located in those states with automotive or aerospace manufacturing clusters, including Queretaro and Guanajuato. HVAC suppliers can also be found in Chihuahua, Tamaulipas, Nuevo León, Mexico City, and Saltillo, Coahuila. 

In some cases, suppliers opt to locate in Mexico specifically to provide cost-effective proximity to OEMs. That's why it helps to know that York, Carrier, and Trane can be found in Monterrey and Lennox in the nearby auto manufacturing hub of Saltillo, while Nortek Global (formerly Nordyne) has a location in both cities. Goodman Manufacturing Co. parent Daikin, the world's largest HVAC manufacturer, operates in the fast-growing industrial location of San Luis Potosí in central Mexico. Rheem manufactures just minutes from the Texas border in Nuevo Laredo.

Of course, proximity to the U.S. market is among the many attractive features of operating in Mexico and a factor that will be increasingly important as companies navigate supply chain bottlenecks. Many companies are recognizing that proximity to the countries into which they sell is an excellent reason to relocate their manufacturing. Localized supply chains help suppliers reduce the risk of transit delays and help manufacturers better respond to fluctuations in demand. With its network of highways and railways and deep-water ports on both the Atlantic and Pacific Coasts, Mexico makes it easy for HVAC suppliers to get products quickly to market. 

An added benefit? With more free trade agreements than any other country, Mexico makes it easy and cost-effective for HVAC suppliers to move goods across borders. 

Develop a strategy for manufacturing success in Mexico

With HVAC demand ready to grow, now is the time for HVAC suppliers to reevaluate their strategy for ensuring they're able to provide a steady supply of critical components to their customers. As many top HVAC equipment manufacturers are coming to recognize, easy access to a localized HVAC supply chain with ample labor availability will be key to ensuring a competitive edge in the years to come. 

While HVAC suppliers have found success in a number of locations across Mexico, each company should evaluate location options carefully to position their own success. This is an area where Tetakawi can help. Whether you're looking for customized site selection services or are ready to start operating in one of our ready-to-lease manufacturing communities, Tetakawi can help HVAC suppliers quickly establish factories in Mexico. 

If you're ready to position your company for success in Mexico, contact Tetakawi today.

 

x

Thinking about manufacturing in Mexico? Download this ebook to move your due diligence forward and improve your probability of success.

Download Now

Recent Posts:

tetakawi-questions-to-ask-about-manufacturing-in-mexico

START YOUR JOURNEY INTO MEXICO TODAY!

50+ Questions to ask before expanding into Mexico

Thinking about expanding into Mexico? Step 1 of your due diligence process is answering all of these questions. Over the last 33 years, thousands of companies have used this guide to accelerate their expansion into Mexico. 
Download Ebook
Free Ebook: How to Choose a Shelter Service Provider in Mexico - > Download Now.