几条建议——帮您提高墨西哥工人的生产效率

八月 06, 2021

工人的生产效率,或者说工人在一定时间内创造的劳动成果,直接关系到企业的利润,也是企业市场竞争力的关键要素。决定工人生产效率高低的主要因素包括:工作任务完成率、完成质量以及是否存在无用功。制造商们应该对这些因素始终保持密切关注,因为若是工厂的生产率停滞不前,则可能会导致企业错失优化生产效率的良机。

许多制造型企业已经认识到,通过采用传统的与改进的方法相结合的方式能够大幅提高工人的劳动生产率,并可以不断提高企业的竞争力。

在经合组织成员国中,墨西哥一名普通雇员的年工作时长比其他任何国家的都要长,这不仅说明墨西哥劳动力具有较高的职业素养,而且也意味着制造商们在墨西哥运营工厂时,能够以相对较低的工资水平获得较高的生产效率。

尽管如此,在全盘考虑后,制定一套能够提高生产率的最佳解决方案,依然有助于将贵公司在墨西哥工厂的劳动生产效率水平提升至您的期望值。为了尽可能提高墨西哥工厂的劳动生产率,我们给出以下六条建议,供大家参考。

一、设定明确目标

大量的研究成果表明,设定明确的目标,可以有效提高劳动生产率。无论是在公司层面,还是生产车间层面,设定明确目标都是非常重要的,因为只有这样,才能使各个岗位上的工人积极工作,推动公司目标的实现。然而,在实际工作中,有些普通员工只把40%的时间花在了与企业目标直接相关的工作上,这往往是由于缺乏充分沟通,导致员工没能准确理解企业目标所致。

有鉴于此,有效的对策为:从新员工入职的第一天开始,就要做好目标沟通。企业需要花一定的时间和雇员详细探讨以下问题:员工在全局中扮演的角色,个人如何推动公司目标达成,以及这个过程对个人发展将起到怎样的积极作用。除此之外,对员工提供定期的指导和反馈,既能保证公司员工达到各种生产标准,也有利于他们在职场上取得成功。通过公司简报或公告的形式进行定期的内部沟通,还能够增强公司员工的归属感,让他们觉得自己是实现公司目标的一份子。


二、对墨西哥当地的员工给予关心和呵护

从制定能够提高生产率的激励措施,到带有某种游戏化机制的策略,制造商们可以采取多种方式来鼓舞团队的士气。其背后的原因是:大量的证据表明,员工的参与程度与其工作业绩显著相关。

从某些方面来看,相较于游戏化机制的策略,公司制定一套激励措施并不需要多么复杂。让所有员工了解他们需要做什么才能获得成功,是建立团队士气的重要一步。管理者主动了解员工的需求,关心员工的家庭和个人生活,也会使员工感受到温暖,并帮助公司成就目标。

此外,是否能为员工提供极具吸引力的薪酬,也会直接关系到制造型企业的生产效率。2021年的一项研究探讨了那些生产效率较低的劳动者所承受的压力。这项研究的调查结果显示,相较于完成工作后获得报酬,员工在工作过程中获得报酬时,他们的生产率平均上升了6.2%。与此同时,这种现金形式的鼓励也减少了剩余工资部分的出错概率。这项研究的首席研究员Frank Schilbach表示:“这有力的说明了专注力起着非常重要的作用,即员工能够把注意力集中在工作上,而无需再担心孩子的学费或家人的医疗费用等问题。”墨西哥的大多数制造商已经意识到,在制造业密集地区,提供有吸引力的薪酬,对于留住熟练工人至关重要。通过这项研究得到的结果,我们已不难看出,丰厚的薪酬和福利关系到全体员工的切身利益,并已成为工厂整体生产效率的主要驱动力。

其中的另一个原因是:墨西哥近期上调的最低工资标准,对制造商而言也可谓一个“福音”——2020年正式实施的《USMCA(美墨加协定)协定》推进了最低工资标准的调整。美国国际贸易委员会(ITC)公布的USMCA分析报告指出,当企业工人们的工资越高时,制造型企业的生产效率就会越高,然后,制造商的销售额也会随之攀升。


三、定期组织培训

定期培训工人是提高他们生产效率不可或缺的途径之一。通过避免工人可能会犯的低级错误,防范他们养成不良习惯,或是直接终止他们的一些错误操作,持续开展技能培训可以提高工人整体的生产效率。企业对员工的期许以及员工对此的困惑,都可以通过各项培训加以解决。定期培训让工人的技能不断提升,并以此提高了整体的生产效率,同时企业无需事无巨细的对生产各个环节进行管理,让企业管理者能够腾出更多时间投入到其他更重要的工作之中。

全面的员工培训的内容不仅仅局限于必要技术能力的提升,时间管理技能和公司发展目标也在需要优先考虑的项目。帮助技术岗位的工人理解最重要的任务是什么,以及完成每项任务需要花费多少时间,将有助于进一步推进企业低成本制造的发展战略。

幸运的是,墨西哥为制造商们提供了丰富多样的培训机会。这些培训机会足以帮助企业的技术工人达到预期的生产制造水平。为了满足特定的需求,许多雇主选择资源共享,开展定制化的技术培训。CEFTA就是这样一个例子。在索诺拉州(Sonora)瓜伊马斯(Guaymas)的Roca Fuerte制造社区,Tetakawi的先进技术培训中心专门向制造型企业输送熟练的技术工人,以帮助他们应对各自所面临的挑战。


四、探讨更完善的技术方案

现今,提升制造型企业的生产效率,很大程度上依赖于技术化解决方案。德勤和美国制造业生产力与创新联盟(Manufacturers Alliance for Productivity and Innovation)的一项联合调查显示,企业如果在智能工厂的技术领域大力投资,将使其制造业务的预期产值和劳动生产率平均增长10%至12%。该报告进一步指出,得益于技术化的解决方案,劳动力得到了解放,工人们往往会被指派到其他工作岗位,从而带动这些岗位所属行业的高速增长——这也是员工应积极参加公司提供的培训计划的又一重要原因。

其中,最为受益的,莫过于制造业。这个行业已日益成为技术驱动型产业,而墨西哥的工厂也正在努力跟上技术进步的步伐。墨西哥有许多智能工厂,都致力于提高制造业各个领域的劳动生产率。随着新型生产车间解决方案的不断应用,在与机器人或其他相关技术协同工作的环境中,工人的技能熟练度也随之提高了。


五、定期评估流程

糟糕的工作流程,是提高生产效率的主要障碍之一。工人们不断更替,产品线愈加丰富,技术发展更是日新月异,这些因素均要求企业对工作流程进行重新评估,从而确定有待改进的工作环节。像精益管理(Lean)、六西格玛(Six Sigma)等关注工作流程的持续改进方法,都可以为提高生产效率提供分析框架。

在评估过程中,有一点经常被忽视,那就是让员工积极参与进来,倾听他们对提高生产效率的意见和建议。企业高层应经常和工厂经理交流,了解他们的看法,比如哪些流程更加有效,哪些问题困扰他们,阻碍他们提高工作效率。有时候,一个简单的改进,就可以带来生产效率的飞跃,而这通常只需要从一次对话开始。


六、雇用最合适的人选

提高劳动生产率的关键策略之一,就是要确保员工与企业文化的高契合度。频繁的人员流动,对提高生产力是非常不利的,因为新员工上岗前,是需要时间接受专业培训的。

许多制造商来到墨西哥后,总是感到处处充满挑战。他们很难知道到哪里雇佣技能纯熟的工人,或者如何制定一份激励员工忠诚度的极具竞争力的福利方案。对于这些领域,Tetakawi正好可以提供全行业标杆级的专业服务。在人力资源招聘和管理方面,Tetakawi已经有数十年的专业经验,可以使企业高效生产、快速落地。丰富的行业经验,使Tetakawi能够深刻理解墨西哥当地劳工对薪酬福利的期望,并掌握区域内从业人员的平均流动率。

如果您想在墨西哥建设一支高效的劳动力大军,欢迎阅读我们针对墨西哥不同地区的劳动力市场发展报告,或者请现在就联系 Tetakawi吧!



x

Thinking about manufacturing in Mexico? Download this ebook to move your due diligence forward and improve your probability of success.

Download Now

最近的帖子:

百问墨西哥投资建厂

立刻开启您的墨西哥之旅吧。

墨西哥建厂前,您需要准备的50多个问题

您正在考虑将业务扩展到墨西哥吗?尽职调查的第一步就是要先回答这些问题。在过去33 年里,几千家公司在这个指导手册的帮助下,快速的在墨西哥拓展了他们的商业版图。
立即下载
在墨西哥建厂的成本如何? 用我们的在线计算器来计算一下吧。

Improving Labor Productivity in Mexico

March 23, 2021

Labor productivity, or the output produced by your workforce in a specific amount of time, is directly tied to companies' profits and a critical component of competitiveness in the market. It's derived from a balance of high rates of completed tasks, with high-quality work and minimum wasted effort. And it's a factor that bears close attention for manufacturers, as stagnant manufacturing productivity rates could be leaving opportunities for improvement untouched. 

Many manufacturers have recognized that coupling traditional and evolving solutions for growing labor productivity with the productive laborers in Mexico's workforce can drive dramatic improvements to their competitiveness. 

The average employee in Mexico works more hours per year than any other OECD member country, a testament to the Mexican labor force's strong work ethic. This translates to high levels of productivity for manufacturers operating in Mexico, available at comparatively low wages

Still, the data available around solutions for boosting productivity can be applied to ensuring that your Mexico labor force meets these expected high levels of manufacturing productivity. Consider the following six tips for maximizing labor productivity in Mexico. 

1. Set clear goals

There is ample research to indicate that clear goal-setting drives higher levels of productivity. This is important both at the corporate level and on the manufacturing floor, where your labor force is actively driving company goals forward. Yet, the average employee only spends 40% of their time on tasks directly related to company goals, often resulting from poor communication of corporate goals to employees.  

This communication should begin on Day One for new employees. Take time to discuss the role they play in the bigger picture, how they can help the company achieve its goals, and how this impacts them. Providing regular direction and feedback will further ensure that workers meet manufacturing standards and contribute to workplace success. Regular internal communication through company bulletins or announcements can also help employees feel that they are part of achieving the company's goals. 

2. Take care of your Mexico workforce 

From incentives for productivity gains to gamification strategies designed to reengage your workforce, manufacturers have adopted a wide range of strategies for boosting workplace morale. That's because of the wealth of evidence indicating the clear connection between worker engagement and performance. 

In some ways, however, your strategy may not need to be as complicated as bringing gamification to the factory floor in Mexico. Ensuring that employees know what they need to do to succeed is a big step for establishing workplace morale. Managers who know their employees and ask questions about their family and personal life can help engage workers in corporate goals. 

Offering a competitive wage is also directly related to manufacturing productivity. One 2021 study exploring pressures of poverty on worker productivity identified an average 6.2% jump in productivity when workers were paid part way through a job instead of when the job was complete. This cash infusion also reduced error rates for the remainder of their contract. "This strongly suggests that attention plays an important role — that people are able to focus on their work instead of thinking about school fees, health care, and so on," said Frank Schilbach, lead researcher on the study. While most manufacturers in Mexico will find that a competitive wage is already critical to retaining the most skilled workers in a manufacturing-intensive region, this study goes to show that strong compensation and benefits that care for the whole worker are drivers of productivity.

This is one more reason to see the recent minimum wage increases in Mexico as a boon to manufacturers. The U.S.-Mexico-Canada trade agreement ratified in 2020 pushed for an increase in the minimum wage. Even then, an analysis of USMCA published by the U.S. International Trade Commission (ITC) indicated that higher wages are more likely contribute to higher manufacturing productivity andconsequently, larger sales volumes for manufacturers.

3. Train regularly

Regular training is essential for boosting productivity. Ongoing training on existing skills increases productivity by preventing small, basic mistakes and stopping bad practices before they become habit. It eliminates any confusion around expectations. It helps your Mexico workforce grow increasingly stronger in the skills needed to boost overall manufacturing productivity and reduces micromanagement so that managers can better utilize their time with other tasks. 

Thorough employee training should focus on more than necessary technical skills. It should also prioritize time management skills and company goals. Helping factory workers understand what is most important to accomplish and how much time to attribute to each task can further your low-cost manufacturing strategy. 

Fortunately, manufacturers in Mexico have a wide range of training options available to help workers achieve an expected level of manufacturing quality. For specialized needs, many employers opt to share resources to develop customized technical training. CEFTA is one such example. The Advanced Technology Training Center in Tetakawi's Roca Fuerte Manufacturing Community in Guaymas, Sonora, supplies manufacturers with a Mexico workforce trained to solve their unique challenges. 

4. Explore technology solutions

Today, manufacturing productivity growth depends in no small measure on adoption of technology-based solutions. Companies that invest in smart factory technology can expect an average increase in manufacturing output and labor productivity between 10% to 12%, according to one survey from Deloitte and the Manufacturers Alliance for Productivity and Innovation. The report further noted that as these technology solutions free up labor, those workers are often redeployed in other areas where they can drive growth—yet another reason to have company-specific training opportunities available. 

Manufacturing in particular is an increasingly technology-driven field, and Mexico's factories are keeping pace with technology adoption. Mexico is home to a number of smart factories that are working to boost productivity across a range of manufacturing industries. As adoption of these innovative workplace solutions grows, so too does worker familiarity with operating in an environment where laborers work collaboratively with robotics and other technology. 

5. Reevaluate processes regularly

Poor workflow is one of the major obstacles to improving labor productivity. As workers come and go, product lines change, and technology evolves, processes need to be reevaluated to identify areas for improvement. Programs like Lean, Six Sigma and other continuous improvement approaches can help provide a framework for driving workflow-based increases in productivity. 

One key part of this ongoing evaluation often overlooked is engaging your workforce to get their input on how to improve productivity. Talk to factory managers to get their perspective on what processes work, what bothers them, or what gets in the way of doing the job better. Sometimes the simplest solutions can drive big productivity improvements, but this often begins with a conversation. 

6. Hire the right fit

One of the most critical strategies for high labor productivity is ensuring that your hires are a good fit for your corporate culture. Frequent turnover is detrimental to productivity, as onboarding a new hire takes time. 

Many manufacturers coming to Mexico can find it challenging to know where to look to hire skilled laborers or create a competitive benefits package that will encourage employee loyalty. This is an area where Tetakawi can help. We have decades of experience in helping manufacturers to recruit and manage a workforce in Mexico for maximum productivity. This experience has provided us insight into local expectations around compensation and benefits, and regional turnover averages. 

To begin to build your productive labor force in Mexico, access one of our locale-specific Labor Market Reports or contact Tetakawi today.

x

Thinking about manufacturing in Mexico? Download this ebook to move your due diligence forward and improve your probability of success.

Download Now

Recent Posts:

tetakawi-questions-to-ask-about-manufacturing-in-mexico

Start your journey into Mexico today!

50+ Questions to ask before expanding into Mexico

Thinking about expanding into Mexico? Step 1 of your due diligence process is answering all of these questions. Over the last 33 years, thousands of companies have used this guide to accelerate their expansion into Mexico. 
Download Ebook
Free Ebook: How to Choose a Shelter Service Provider in Mexico - > Download Now.