墨西哥——一个能让制造商找到具有弹性和安全性供应链的终极之选

七月 20, 2021

在经历了艰难困顿的2020年之后,制造商们已开始着手研究各类可行性战略,以帮助自己从新冠疫情的泥沼中奋力挣脱、成功上岸。然而,虽然有许多公司选择在此疫情肆虐之时期“活着就好”,但其他的那些努力想要复苏的公司意识到,“随波逐流”并不是一项明智之举。从各方面来看,在经历了这一波巨大的动荡之后,后疫情时代的制造业几乎“全面洗牌”,这使得目光长远的制造型企业意识到:他们将不得不选择立即采取行动,以夺回并稳固属于他们的竞争优势。

2020年9月,提供全球保险、税务及财务咨询服务的BDO(立信)会计事务所对营收额在2.5亿美元至30亿美元之间的制造业公司的100名首席财务官(CFO)做了一项调查,并将其结果发布在《2021年BDO制造业首席财务官展望调查》(2021 BDO Manufacturing CFO Outlook Survey)。在受访的中型市场制造商(年收入在1000万美元至10亿美元的公司)之中,20%认为,创建一个的弹性且安全的供应链是企业的健康复苏关键之所在。此外,有17%的制造商会优先采纳维持低成本制造的新战略,还有17%的制造商认为,生产力效益将成为最重要的决定性因素。

真正实现以上这些愿景,很可能需要在某些方面加大投资,而正确的投资方式,应该以增加利润为目标,同时降低长期运营成本。因此,很多公司都在努力研究各种方案的可行性,包括通过近岸生产使其制造版图多样化,加强供应链,以及重新评估制造战略等。当制造商们对所有可实施的策略进行了深度评估后发现,在墨西哥开展制造业务可以一次性解决所有这些问题。

建立弹性供应链

近几年来,供应链的中断使制造商们苦不堪言:关税和制裁引起价格上涨、采购材料日益困难、新冠疫情导致工厂一次关闭数月、以及包括从半导体到海运集装箱的全球各种物资短缺。

受全球性疫情的影响,制造商们在2020年可关注的业务发展方向极为有限,只能集中精力处理各类危机。如今,这些企业终于摆脱困境,并开始放眼未来,以蓄势待发的姿态将重点放在加强其供应链的管理上。BDO指出,许多公司着眼于投资那些能数字化大部分流程的供应链技术(这也是制造产业多年来的发展趋势)。然而,在受访群体中,足有50%的中间市场制造商们反映,除了更新流程,他们对于确定可替代的备选供应商也尤为重视。

BDO建议,那些评估替代型供应商以加强供应链弹性的企业,应考虑到全球网络版图,以及整体的关税和贸易影响。说到这里,我们就不得不提一下墨西哥了。墨西哥政府大力推行IMMEX政策,为外国投资者减免相关税费。此外,墨西哥比其他国家签署了了更多的自由贸易协定(FTA),与全球50多个国家实现无缝对接。这套红利的“组合拳”成功地帮助制造型企业降低了在墨西哥境内的运营成本和跨境物料运输成本。

除此之外,BDO同样提到了一处不容忽视的要点——在过去几年间,贸易不畅/受阻造成了供应链“过度依赖单一地点或来源”,这个 “无可辩驳” 的缺陷正是2021年亟待解决的最大问题。报告强调,过去对中国廉价劳动力和材料的重度依赖已不再适用,其中一个重要原因,便是中国不断上涨的劳动力成本,早已超过墨西哥劳动力成本的平均水平。致力于扩展供应商储备的制造商们会发现,墨西哥的产业集群已整合为密集的供应商网络,强力支持着墨西哥的五大主导型制造产业。

降低制造成本

许多制造商会对能够降低成本的新战略进行全面评估,以积极推动投资的力度,寻求业务发展的突破。事实上,BDO发现,在接受调查的受访者中,有31%的中间市场制造商会选择在次年将制造业务外包给低成本制造中心。

虽然选择将制造业务外包有助于降低总体成本,但同时也会带来许多不确定的因素(特别是质量管控方面的问题)。而其中经常会让人与外包混淆的一个替代型方案,便是离岸外包服务。离岸外包是将生产/制造产品或提供服务的工厂或办公室从高成本国家,转移至低成本的经济体,从而削减生产成本(同理,近岸外包是指将成本转移到国境周边的低成本经济体)。外包会将运营业务全部转移至第三方地区;而离岸外包的母公司仍对运营决策保持控制权。

墨西哥的IMMEX政策提供了一种独特的“中间”模式——它允许企业在外包某些行政管理工作的同时,能完整保持对所有生产/制造过程的控制权。在shelter服务商的保护伞下,制造商们可以完全信赖来自他们自己生产线的产品质量,且无需担忧在一个全新国家运营业务时会遇到的各种管理方面的难题。例如,通过将启动时所需的管理或招聘事务外包,企业可以大幅缩短在墨西哥开启制造业务的时间。

BDO的调查发现,24%的中间市场制造商们计划在其他国家建厂(另有22%尚在讨论是否迁回美国),而墨西哥以其快速且高效的独特优势,可能就是他们所寻求的最佳解决方案。事实上,同一调查还指出,14%的接受调查的中间市场制造商,将北美(不包括美国)视为最稳定的美国境外制造业地区,并已超过他们对中国(10%)、东亚(11%)和印度(11%)的期望值。

推动生产力效益得提升

提到复苏之路最关键的因素,17%的受访制造商们明确表示:提高生产力将是必须的。从自动化到供应链数字化,日新月异的科技进步必将成为推动生产力的第一要素。

正如BDO在报告中所提到的那样:“在疫情发生之前,工业4.0范式的转变已在悄然进行中——即通过无缝衔接真实世界和数字世界而彻底改变传统生产制造业的基础模式。而突如其来的新冠疫情,更是加速了该范式的转变。”

综合以上所有的因素,企业需要投资新技术,并努力从过去几年的困境中复苏。虽然现在看起来选用新技术似乎不合常理,但是时间终会证明:加快新技术的采用率,将成为企业能否跟上市场转型的关键要素。

墨西哥工厂对高新技术的采用率一直走在世界前沿,同时技术革新也正在重塑制造业。从训练有素的劳动力大军,到完善的基础设施配备,墨西哥的制造领域在技术上一马当先,并以强大的投资实力支撑着日益复杂的生产制造业务。越来越多的制造商选择在墨西哥开办智能化工厂,提高企业的专业技术水准,以完成更复杂的生产需求。

时刻关注客户需求

正如BDO中指出的那样,许多制造商们发现,他们尚未走出疫情大环境下经济衰退所带来的窘境。对于中间市场的制造商,有近四分之三的首席财务官承认,他们的企业正处在生存边缘挣扎。不过,好消息是,这些制造商中的大多数预计,2021年的客户需求将大幅增加,这将积极推动市场的复苏。因此,企业需要及时做出调整,来跟上不断增长的市场需求。其中,通过削减运营成本的方式做出快速调整,将是保持竞争优势的关键之所在。

想您所想,专注客户。Tetakawi值得您拥有。我们已成功帮助过全球各地的企业实现最短90天内在墨西哥开启制造业务的目标。如果您已准备好将商业版图进一步扩展,请即刻联系Tetakawi吧!

x

Thinking about manufacturing in Mexico? Download this ebook to move your due diligence forward and improve your probability of success.

Download Now

最近的帖子:

百问墨西哥投资建厂

立刻开启您的墨西哥之旅吧。

墨西哥建厂前,您需要准备的50多个问题。

您正在考虑将业务扩展到墨西哥吗?尽职调查的第一步就是要先回答这些问题。在过去33 年里,几千家公司在这个指导手册的帮助下,快速的在墨西哥拓展了他们的商业版图。
立即下载
在墨西哥建厂的成本如何? 用我们的在线计算器来计算一下吧。

Manufacturers Find Supply Chain Resiliency in Mexico

February 24, 2021

Manufacturers have had a tough go in 2020 but are beginning to look at strategies that can help them emerge stronger from the tumult of the coronavirus pandemic. While there remain many companies seeking solely to stay afloat, those companies looking to thrive are recognizing that “staying the course” is not a practical option. In many ways, the manufacturing industry has come through a tremendous shakeup, and forward-thinking companies recognize that they will have to make a move to reclaim competitiveness. 

The 2021 BDO Manufacturing CFO Outlook Survey from BDO, a global assurance, tax, and financial advisory firm, surveyed 100 manufacturing industry CFOs with revenues ranging from $250 million to $3 billion in September 2020. Of those middle-market manufacturers (companies with $10 million to $1 billion in annual revenue) surveyed, 20% believed building a resilient supply chain to be the key to a healthy recovery. An additional 17% prioritizing new strategies for keeping their costs low, and another 17% say productivity gains will be most important. 

Achieving these steps is likely to require an investment of some kind, but the right investment should lead to greater profits and reduced long-term operational costs. Companies are examining a range of options, including diversifying their manufacturing footprint through nearshoring, strengthening their supply chain, and reassessing their manufacturing strategy. Many manufacturers are finding that an operation in Mexico can address all these issues. 

Building the resilient supply chain 

Supply chain disruption has plagued manufacturers for several years, from tariffs and sanctions driving up prices and difficulty accessing materials to the coronavirus pandemic that shut down manufacturing plants for months at a time and drove up global shortages in everything from semiconductors to shipping containers

While 2020 left manufacturers little room to focus on anything beyond crisis management, those same companies are now ready to focus on strengthening their supply chains for the future. BDO notes that many companies are looking to invest in supply chain technologies that digitize much of their processes, a trend that has been many years in the making. However, a full 50% of middle-market manufacturers surveyed report that they will look beyond updating their processes to identifying alternative backup suppliers. 

BDO advises that companies evaluating alternative suppliers to strengthen resilience in the supply chain should consider their global network footprint—and factor in the holistic tax and trade implications. This is an area where Mexico stands apart. The Mexican government offers foreign investors tax incentives through its IMMEX program. What’s more, Mexico has more free trade agreements (FTAs) than any other country, connecting it to more than 50 countries worldwide. This combination helps lower the cost of operating in Mexico and moving materials and goods across borders. 

BDO also notes that the greatest supply chain weakness manufacturers must address in 2021, a weakness made “incontrovertible” by the trade turbulence of the last few years: overreliance on one location or source. The report emphasizes that historic heavy reliance on China for cheap labor and materials is no longer effective, particularly as China’s labor costs rise, well beyond the average labor costs in Mexico. Manufacturers looking to broaden their supplier base will find that Mexico’s industry clusters bring together dense supplier networks to support the top five manufacturing industries in Mexico efficiently. 

Lowering manufacturing costs 

To drive the investments needed to get ahead, many manufacturers are evaluating new strategies for lowering their costs. In fact, BDO found that 31% of middle-market manufacturers surveyed noted that they will outsource to a low-cost manufacturing center in the next year. 

While outsourcing manufacturing can help lower costs, it also carries a number of unknowns—particularly around quality. An alternative often confused with outsourcing is offshoring. Offshoring is about relocating factories or offices that produce goods or services from costly countries to lower-cost economies in order to lower the cost of production (similarly, nearshoring is about moving those costs to a nearby low-cost economy). Outsourcing moves all operations to a third-party; with offshoring, the parent company retains control of operational decision-making. 

Mexico’s IMMEX program offers a unique “in between” model that allows a company to maintain complete control of all manufacturing processes while outsourcing certain administrative tasks. Under the umbrella of a shelter service provider, manufacturers can trust the quality of goods coming off their production line without being burdened by meeting the administrative challenges of operating in a new country. By outsourcing startup administration or recruitment, for example, companies can significantly shorten their time to launch. 

Mexico may be the rapid, cost-effective solution sought by the 24% of middle-market manufacturers BDO found planning to locate in another country (as well as 22% debating whether or not to reshore to the United States). In fact, the same survey reports that 14% of middle-market manufacturers surveyed see North America (excluding U.S.) as the most stable location outside the U.S. for manufacturing, surpassing confidence expressed in China (10%), East Asia (11%), and India (11%).

Driving productivity gains 

Of those manufacturers surveyed about the factors most critical to the road to recovery, 17% identified the need to boost productivity as essential. Much of this productivity will be driven by technology, from automation to supply chain digitization. 

As the BDO report notes, “Prior to the pandemic, the Industry 4.0 paradigm shift was already underway, bringing together the physical and digital worlds to change the fundamentals of production. COVID-19 has accelerated the paradigm.” 

So, while it may seem counterintuitive that companies struggling to recover from the challenges of the past few years need to invest in new technology, speeding tech adoption will ultimately be critical for keeping abreast of market transformation. 

Mexico’s factories are keeping pace with this technology adoption and the innovation reshaping the manufacturing industry. From its highly trained workforce to infrastructure investments, Mexico’s manufacturing sector is technologically advanced and can support increasingly complex output. More manufacturers are opening smart factories in Mexico, growing the level of expertise available to operate more complex operations. 

Keeping up with customer demand

As BDO notes, many manufacturers feel they are not yet out of the woods when it comes to the challenges of the Coronavirus Recession. Nearly three-quarters of CFOs at mid-market manufacturers report that their businesses are struggling to survive. However, driving their recovery is the fact that most of these manufacturers expect customer demand to increase this year. Keeping up with growing demand will require companies to adapt. Doing so rapidly, in a way that lowers operational costs, will be critical for maintaining a competitive edge. 

This is where Tetakawi can help. We’ve helped global manufacturers start-up operations in Mexico in as little as 90 days. If you’re ready to strengthen your operations, contact us today. 

x

Thinking about manufacturing in Mexico? Download this ebook to move your due diligence forward and improve your probability of success.

Download Now

Recent Posts:

tetakawi-questions-to-ask-about-manufacturing-in-mexico

Start your journey into Mexico today!

50+ Questions to ask before expanding into Mexico

Thinking about expanding into Mexico? Step 1 of your due diligence process is answering all of these questions. Over the last 33 years, thousands of companies have used this guide to accelerate their expansion into Mexico. 
Download Ebook
Instantly calculate your payroll costs in Mexico. (click here).