墨西哥增值税(VAT)及退税全攻略

九月 21, 2021

制造商只有关注细节,才能确保增值税退税成功

如果您前往墨西哥旅游观光或者开拓业务,那么您很快就会遇到增值税(IVA)的问题。IVA是西班牙语Impuesto al Valor Agregado的首字母缩写,译为增值税。通常而言,墨西哥对进口环节、货物销售环节和提供服务环节征收增值税。目前,墨西哥境内大部分地区的增值税率为16%,但在南下加利福尼亚州(Baja California)、索诺拉州(Sonora)、奇瓦瓦州(Chihuahua)、科阿韦拉州(Coahuila)、新莱昂州(Nuevo Leon)与塔毛利帕斯州(Tamaulipas)等四十多个边境地区,增值税率为8%。毗邻危地马拉与伯利兹的22个墨西哥边境地区,也已实施征收较低营业税的政策。

当然,来墨西哥投资最主要的优惠政策还是税收减免政策,这个政策才是能让外国投资者真正受益的关键所在。

下文将向您简要介绍墨西哥增值税(IVA)的相关规定,以及能够及时退税的注意事项。

必读宝典:在墨西哥建厂时,您不可不知的所有信息

墨西哥增值税的相关政策

绝大多数在墨西哥境内销售的商品或提供的服务,不论其交易类型是当面交易、线上交易还是电话交易,都应依法缴纳营业税。不过,在进、出口贸易方面,墨西哥有着不同的税收政策:墨西哥对向境外出口的商品免征增值税。制造商还可以通过退税流程申请对进口原材料征收的增值税退税。

进口环节缴纳的增值税,将根据原材料在原产地的出厂价计算应缴税额。其税基还应包括运费、保险费等进口环节税费以及进口关税。进口环节的增值税,将遵循现收现付制度在商品入境时征收。

“临时进口”是墨西哥增值税政策中最值得关注的一个特例。如果制造商已获得VAT和IEPS认证,那么他们无需就任何进口至墨西哥进行加工、组装的原材料缴纳增值税,前提是生产出的成品必须出口海外。

当然,要想充分享受增值税优惠政策,制造商们必须遵守相关的规定。根据2020年最新修订的《外贸法规》(Foreign Trade Rules),除了已获得OEA资格认证的企业,其他企业享受的增值税优惠均有不同程度的缩减。获得OEA认证的企业,表明他们已经达到了相关的海关特定标准。相较于仅获得VAT认证的企业,OEA认证企业享有更广泛的通关优惠和便利。

此次税制改革对增值税退税流程的快慢有重要影响。虽然税改旨在缩短退税周期,但是从实操角度来看,退税流程仍需40天,甚至更久。

墨西哥增值税退税流程

申请退税前,企业需要到联邦纳税人登记处(RFC)申请纳税人识别号(TIN)。墨西哥当地人往往随身携带一张塑料的纳税人识别卡,上面印有纳税人识别号、纳税人名称和地址。如果您希望获得退税,请务必在交易前向商家出示纳税人识别号。

随后,商家就会为您开具正式收据(factura),即电子发票(CFDI)。不同于常见的标准收据,发票(factura)作为墨西哥税务机关认可的唯一有效扣税凭证,应当注明商家的纳税人识别号、联系方式、所购买的商品或服务名称以及税额,并附上商家的电子签章。电子发票上还应显示付款方式、信用卡和现金消费明细等信息。

此外,税务机关还要求所有发票必须注明法律实体名称。开具发票时,切勿使用化名、经营别称(DBA)或其他公司实体名称。请妥善保存票据,每个月递交给墨西哥财政部(Secretaria de Hacienda),以便顺利获取退税。

发票凭证以电子发票的形式开具,经由墨西哥财政部授权的第三方机构认证,可以查验其真伪。同样地,这些凭证也以电子方式保管,并记录在企业的会计账簿中,用于申报增值税抵扣。

在日常的经营活动过程中,为了获得必要的凭证,企业可能需要花一些额外的时间在开票流程上,但是这样做一定是值得的。虽然如此,在整个退税过程中,仍有诸多细节需要留意——个别差错虽不至于导致退税失败,但却很可能大大延长退税到账的时间。

随着财政机关对增值税退税的审批要求日益严格,使得申请增值税留抵退税也变得愈发复杂。如果有很多采购项目对于公司的正常运营而言是必不可少的,为了确保税务合规,即使流程再复杂,也必须取得电子发票。在申报过程中,需要出具经营许可证、采购合同以及供应商的相关材料,供监管部门审查。其中的具体材料还包括各项会计记录、相关发票完税证明以及外贸经营许可证等。

在与供应商合作方面,Shelter服务商能够为企业提供多一层防护,确保那些供应商依法履行纳税义务,并依法开具电子发票。Shelter服务商还会向您及时通报相关法律法规的变更或修正,以及相关部门最新更新的联系方式。凭借Shelter服务商提供的专业化一条龙服务,能够确保您的企业按时递交完整资料,及时收到退税款,从而避免出现现金流周转困难的问题。

战略洞察:墨西哥的Shelter公司是什么?

如何简化您的增值税退税流程

在墨西哥开展业务的制造商们都应该对墨西哥税收体系有一个基本的认识。对于外商独资企业的子公司,这一点则显得更为重要。即便是在Shelter模式下运营的制造商们,也有必要掌握相关的税务知识。因为只有这样,企业员工在处理日常业务过程中,才能自觉地按要求搜集相关凭证。而且,这样做对在墨西哥建厂的企业的成本控制和节约有重要意义。

需要说明一点的是,确保增值税退税成功办理并不一定非要如以上所述的那么复杂。如果企业需要就进口货物和某些重要采购事项办理退税,Tetakawi可以帮助。从长远来看,携手行业经验丰富的合作伙伴处理海关相关业务,可以大大节省企业的时间和金钱成本。如果贵公司有兴趣深入了解墨西哥的税收优惠政策,并希望大幅提高增值税退税的效率,请现在就联系Tetakawi吧!

 

 

x

Thinking about manufacturing in Mexico? Download this ebook to move your due diligence forward and improve your probability of success.

Download Now

最近的帖子:

百问墨西哥投资建厂

立刻开启您的墨西哥之旅吧。

墨西哥建厂前,您需要准备的50多个问题

您正在考虑将业务扩展到墨西哥吗?尽职调查的第一步就是要先回答这些问题。在过去33 年里,几千家公司在这个指导手册的帮助下,快速的在墨西哥拓展了他们的商业版图。
立即下载
在墨西哥建厂的成本如何? 用我们的在线计算器来计算一下吧。

IVA: VAT Tax Rules, Exceptions, and Refunds in Mexico

March 10, 2021

Manufacturers must be detail oriented to secure value added tax refunds in Mexico

Anyone visiting or doing business in Mexico will quickly run into the IVA tax. IVA is the Spanish acronym for value-added tax (or in Spanish, Impuesto al Valor Agregado). Value-added tax is levied on imported materials and distributed goods and at the point of sale. Services also carry this tax. In Mexico, the IVA is 16% through most of the country, but 8% in more than 40 local districts near the U.S. border, through the states of Baja California, Sonora, Chihuahua, Coahuila, Nuevo Leon, and Tamaulipas. That lower sales tax has also been extended to 22 districts along Mexico’s southern border with Guatemala and Belize.

However, one of the prime benefits of doing manufacturing in Mexico relates to the potential for tax incentives that support foreign investors. 

Below you’ll find what you need to know about complying with IVA regulations and how to secure an IVA rebate in a timely manner. 

Must Read: Everything you need to know about manufacturing in Mexico

IVA rules in Mexico

Most goods sold or services rendered in Mexico carry a sales tax within the total cost, regardless of whether business is done in person, online, or over the telephone. When it comes to imports and exports, however, the rules are somewhat different. There is no VAT tax levied on goods exported from Mexico to other countries. What's more, manufacturers can recover the IVA levied on certain imported materials through a rebate process. 

On imports, the IVA is calculated based on the price the material had when it left the foreign plant from which it originated, in addition to any freight charges, insurance, or duties incurred along its journey. The tax is levied on a cash basis at the time of crossing the border. 

The most notable exception to the standard IVA rules is in regard to temporary imports. Through VAT and IEPS certifications, manufacturers are not required to pay IVA on any materials imported into Mexico for processing, assembly, or finishing of goods that will subsequently be exported.

There are some stipulations, however, for getting the full benefit of this VAT tax incentive. A 2020 revision to Foreign Trade Rules reduced certain VAT benefits for all but Authorized Economic Operators (OEA). OEA-certified companies, which through their registration establish that they already meet specific Customs standards, are able to secure a broader range of tax incentives compared to VAT-certified companies. 

This reform also impacts how quickly your value-added tax reimbursement is processed. Under recent changes, refund processing might take beyond 40 days, although tax reform has been proposed to speed up the turnaround time for these rebates. 

The IVA rebate process in Mexico

To start the process of securing your rebate, companies must first secure a taxpayer identification number (TIN) through the Federal Taxpayer Registry (Registro Federal de Contribuyentes, or RFC). Individuals in Mexico often carry a small, plastic-card containing the number and the individual's or corporation's name and address. Before making a transaction for which you're planning to request a refund, be sure to present your TIN to the seller. 

The vendor should then provide you with an official receipt, known as a "factura" or digital tax receipt (CFDI). This is not the same as a standard simple receipt, and the Mexican tax authorities will not accept a document beyond a factura. The factura features the vendor's official tax seal, which includes their RFC number and contact information, a description of what was purchased, and the taxes included in the sale, in addition to other requirements such as the form of payment and the specification when the purchase is made on credit or in cash.

In addition, taxation authorities will require the legal entity's name to be on all facturas. Do not use a nickname, DBA name, or other entity name when securing this document. Save these receipts to submit to the Finance Ministry (Secretaria de Hacienda) on a monthly basis for the processing of the rebate. 

The vouchers must be issued electronically, as they are certified by a third-party authorized by the Ministry of Finance to authenticate their validity. These vouchers must be electronically safeguarded and recorded in the accounting books of the company requesting the balance in favor of VAT.

The process of securing this factura may mean taking a bit extra time during routine business activities to secure the necessary documentation, but it's worth it. However, it's important to pay attention to details as you work through this process. An error may not cost you the rebate, but it could significantly delay your receipt of this refund.

It is becoming increasingly complex to process a VAT refund balance, as the requirements to justify the refund to the financial authorities continue to increase. However, if your purchases are essential for the operation carried out by the company—such as ensuring compliance with regulatory requirements—then it is important you secure that digital tax receipt. You must support your claim by presenting it along with proof of operations, as well as contracts or documents from the suppliers themselves to validate their legality. Examples include the presentation of accounting records and proof of payment of the invoices in question or pediments for foreign trade operations.

A shelter provider can offer clients an added layer of vigilance in working with suppliers and ensuring they are in order with their tax obligations and in the issuance of CFDI. A shelter provider can also help you keep up to date on any relevant changes in the laws or management contacts with the authorities in Mexico. This support helps to ensure the timely presentation of all documentation, as well as the prompt recovery of requested refunds to prevent cash flow issues. 

Stategic Insight: What is a shelter company in Mexico?

Simplify your IVA refund

Any manufacturer operating in Mexico should hold a basic understanding of the Mexican tax system. While this is more critical for manufacturers operating in Mexico as a wholly-owned foreign subsidiary, companies operating under the umbrella of a shelter service provider should also understand these requirements. Not only does this understanding ensure all corporate employees secure appropriate documentation during business-related transactions, but it also provides an excellent sense of the complete cost-saving benefits available through manufacturing in Mexico. 

Fortunately, securing IVA rebates does not have to be complicated. Tetakawi helps clients navigate the paperwork necessary to secure these rebates on imports and other critical purchases. Working with an experienced partner in managing processes for Customs can save your company time and money in the long run. To learn how you can benefit from more efficient support of your IVA refund in Mexico, contact Tetakawi today.

x

Thinking about manufacturing in Mexico? Download this ebook to move your due diligence forward and improve your probability of success.

Download Now

Recent Posts:

tetakawi-questions-to-ask-about-manufacturing-in-mexico

Start your journey into Mexico today!

50+ Questions to ask before expanding into Mexico

Thinking about expanding into Mexico? Step 1 of your due diligence process is answering all of these questions. Over the last 33 years, thousands of companies have used this guide to accelerate their expansion into Mexico. 
Download Ebook
Instantly calculate your payroll costs in Mexico. (click here).