全方位对比萨尔蒂约(SALTILLO)与蒙特雷(MONTERREY)的投资建厂环境

七月 21, 2021

大都会蒙特雷(Monterrey)及其邻近的萨尔蒂约(Saltillo)都是享有极高声誉的工业和商业中心。考虑在墨西哥东北部启动制造业务的外国投资者从墨西哥东北部到达美国边境、周边的其它墨西哥境内的制造中心、国际机场和深水港都很方便,这可能会让投资者不约而同的对这两个邻近的制造中心进行全方位比较。深入研究以各自的优势就会发现,远离蒙特雷繁忙热闹的都市中心,不仅可以显著节省成本,还能轻松获取海量的资源和建厂所需的扎实的基础设施。

接下来,您将看到对这两个制造中心进行并列比较,以及进一步了解迁移到萨尔蒂约给企业带来的独特优势。

蒙特雷VS萨尔蒂约的城市概览

Manufacturing in Saltillo vs Monterrey?

蒙特雷是墨西哥第三大城市。作为新莱昂州首府,蒙特雷是一个百万级人口城市,拥有超过450万的人口。蒙特雷位于得克萨斯州拉雷多( Laredo)以南140英里,有两个国际机场和一个内陆港,这为制成品的运输提供了便利。城市核心地位的确立以及当地劳动力市场的便利性,推动了当地制造业的蓬勃发展。从汽车制造业、航空航天业到家用电器、电子产品制造商,这里几乎覆盖了所有的主流制造业。

正是因为众多制造商的到来令蒙特雷市场趋于饱和,所以很多潜在投资者把目光投向了西边54英里外的萨尔蒂约。

萨尔蒂约是科阿韦拉州首府和第一大城市。该市人口超过70万,其中很多人口在当地从事制造业相关的工作。萨尔蒂约有自己的国际机场,可以办理海关手续和货物运输业务,并且还与国际铁路网相连。萨尔蒂约地处57号州际公路中心地带,可直接通往美国。萨尔蒂约主要以其汽车制造业而闻名,这一行业为萨尔蒂约赢得了“墨西哥的底特律”的美誉,此外,这里强劲增长的制造业也造就了密集型供应链和经验丰富的劳动力。

蒙特雷制造业 VS 萨尔蒂约的制造业

Daimler's Assembly Plant in Saltillo, Coahuila

对众多制造商来说,蒙特雷之所以具有吸引力,是因为它覆盖了一大批制造业重点领域中家喻户晓的品牌。这里不仅有享誉世界的家电制造商科勒(Kohler),还有西门子(Siemens)、罗克韦尔自动化(Rockwell Automation)、江森自控(Johnson Controls)和飞利浦照明(Philips Lighting)等电子制造商。除此之外,玛氏(Mars)和雀巢(Nestle)在蒙特雷生产食品,而强生(Johnson & Johnson)和史密斯医疗(Smith Medical)也在这里生产医疗器械。凭借着这些优势,蒙特雷成为了墨西哥第二大的工业中心。

另一方面,因为萨尔蒂约毗邻这些知名的品牌商,所以可以提供具有更高性价比的工业厂房及相关服务。随着萨尔蒂约的这一优势日益凸出,很多原本在蒙特雷开展业务的大企业已经开始向成本效益更高的萨尔蒂约扩张。例如,惠而浦公司(Whirlpool Corp.)在蒙特雷和萨尔蒂约郊区的拉莫斯阿里斯佩(Ramos Arizpe)都设立了生产制造基地。此外,通用电气(GE)的医疗器械、涡轮机和自动化设备都在蒙特雷生产,而其电子线束却在萨尔蒂约完成制造。

萨尔蒂约还是享有盛誉的汽车制造中心。确切地说,墨西哥众多汽车零部件公司中约有14%来自萨尔蒂约这座城市。菲亚特-克莱斯勒( Fiat Chrysler)、戴姆勒( Daimler)和通用汽车( General Motors)都在这里占有一席之地。

萨尔蒂约VS 蒙特雷的劳动力薪资

Skilled Labor in Saltillo, near Monterrey

高素质的低成本劳动力吸引了众多制造商慕名而来,蒙特雷和萨尔蒂约都不乏优质的劳动力。然而,正如人们所料,大都市蒙特雷的工人对工资的要求更高。Tetakawi的自主实证研究表明,蒙特雷的装配工刚开始参加工作时的平均直接薪资为每天292墨西哥比索,而工作一年后的薪资最高可达390墨西哥比索。

反观萨尔蒂约,这里的装配工在刚开始参加工作时,有望获得221墨西哥比索的日平均收入,而在一年后,其日薪将接近296墨西哥比索。

不过,如果是出于留住熟练劳动力的考虑而提供极具竞争力的福利待遇,那么劳动力薪资的差距会变得更加明显。在萨尔蒂约工作满一年后,传统制造业的装配工可以拿到高达397墨西哥比索的日工资(含福利),而在蒙特雷这一数字甚至高达528墨西哥比索。

这种大幅提高薪资水平的做法旨在减少员工流失率,因为具备专业技能的雇员在制造领域的激烈竞争中是非常宝贵的资产。有数据显示,工厂设在蒙特雷的制造商,其装配工和操作工的流失率通常高达5%,而萨尔蒂约在2.08%左右。这也是制造商考虑在萨尔蒂约投资建厂的另一个重要原因。

萨尔蒂约VS 蒙特雷的熟练劳动力资源

蒙特雷是拥有一众中小学、大学和高职学校的教育圣地,其中包括墨西哥第三大大学——新莱昂州立大学(UANL)。蒙特雷还聚集了一批工业院校,其中蒙特雷理工学院(Monterrey Institute of Technology and Higher Studies)的工程和信息技术专业更是位列前茅。

相较而言,萨尔蒂约的教育基础设施也已经取得重大进步,并着重于提升技术培训和工程教育的质量。其中的关键要点,即是要将雇员和制造商生产经营所需的特定技能无缝衔接起来。Zapa 制造社区能够将制造商的人才需求和教育培训机构提供的培训服务紧密联系起来,因此越来越多的制造商发现ZAPA这样的制造社区可以为企业的运营提供独一无二的专业支持服务。

蒙特雷VS萨尔蒂约的工业厂房供需现状

当地工业厂房的供需状况是影响制造商考量在蒙特雷还是萨尔蒂约建厂的另一重要因素。蒙特雷和萨尔蒂约两地的工业厂房需求相对较高,平均价格约为每平方米4.02美元。虽然旺盛的需求带动了蒙特雷工业园区的建设,但是就目前而言,萨尔蒂约的工业厂房更为便捷可得。

很多企业发现,制造社区已经成为了一个除了传统工业园区以外的更具优势的选项。制造社区提供的不仅仅是价格合理的A级工业厂房和支撑制造业发展的必要设施,像 Zapa 制造社区这类位于萨尔蒂约的可选项,还提供了对工人极具吸引力的厂内餐厅、医疗设施、通勤班车,以及现场培训机构等便利设施。

萨尔蒂约VS蒙特雷的生活质量

如果企业需要安排高管经常出差,或者派遣业务主管到新工厂培训新员工,那么建厂的目标城市的生活环境和质量也应纳入考虑范围。

墨西哥竞争力研究所(IMCO)最近的一项研究表明,在常住人口100万以上的城市中,蒙特雷被评为墨西哥最适合工作的城市,而在常住人口50万至100万的城市中,萨尔蒂约获评墨西哥最适宜工作的城市。这一殊荣源自对经济稳定性因素、安全因素和国际关系等各种因素的综合分析。

不可否认,蒙特雷是一个大都市,这对当地居民而言充满了机遇和挑战。虽然人们认为蒙特雷是墨西哥最现代化的城市,获取资源也非常方便,但是这里的生活成本较其他城市也更高。相较而言,萨尔蒂约的规模较小,人们能够在友好而经济的环境中享受一种更安静的生活方式。

找到合适的地点投资建厂

事实证明,萨尔蒂约和蒙特雷都是开启工业制造的绝佳地点,但是产品投向市场的速度,以及企业坚守的利润底线,取决于企业是否能根据自身的具体需求做出最优的选择。选定像萨尔蒂约这样地理位置优越的地点,拥有可随时入驻的工业厂房和高性价比的优质员工队伍,必将打造属于贵公司的独特竞争优势。

若需了解最契合贵公司建厂地点的更多信息,请联系可提供多样化选址服务的Tetakawi。

基于大量的研究和对当地资源的掌握,我们可以为贵公司估算出在不同地区的运营成本,并提供一份深度分析报告,供贵公司决策之用。如果您切实需要一些必要数据,以便在墨西哥选址时做出更明智的决策,请现在就联系 Tetakawi吧。

x

Thinking about manufacturing in Mexico? Download this ebook to move your due diligence forward and improve your probability of success.

Download Now

最近的帖子:

百问墨西哥投资建厂

立刻开启您的墨西哥之旅吧。

墨西哥建厂前,您需要准备的50多个问题。

您正在考虑将业务扩展到墨西哥吗?尽职调查的第一步就是要先回答这些问题。在过去33 年里,几千家公司在这个指导手册的帮助下,快速的在墨西哥拓展了他们的商业版图。
立即下载
在墨西哥建厂的成本如何? 用我们的在线计算器来计算一下吧。

Manufacturing in Saltillo vs. Monterrey

January 12, 2021

Metropolitan Monterrey and its nearby neighbor Saltillo have both earned strong reputations as hubs for commerce and industry. Foreign investors considering a manufacturing launch in Northeastern Mexico—where they can find easy access to the U.S. border, other nearby Mexico manufacturing hubs, international airports, and deep-water ports—may find themselves comparing these two nearby manufacturing centers. A deeper dive into the advantages will reveal that moving away from Monterrey's busy metropolitan center can provide significant cost-saving benefits while still providing easy access to resources and robust manufacturing infrastructure. 

Below you'll find a side-by-side comparison of these two manufacturing centers to learn how a move to Saltillo could give your operation an edge. 

Monterrey and Saltillo at a glance

Manufacturing in Saltillo vs Monterrey?

Monterrey is the third-largest city in Mexico. The capital of the state of Nuevo Leon has a population of more than 1 million people, with access to a broader regional population of over 4.5 million. It sits 140 miles south of Laredo, Texas, and is supported by two international airports and an inland port, providing easy transport of manufactured goods. This central positioning and access to the local labor market have driven the growth of a robust manufacturing industry. Virtually every major manufacturing sector can be found here, from automotive and aerospace suppliers to household appliance and electronics manufacturers. 

It's precisely the fact that so many manufacturers have saturated Monterrey that so many potential investors have set their sights just 54 miles to the west on Saltillo. 

Saltillo is the capital and largest city of the state of Coahuila. The has a population of more than 700,000 people, many of whom are engaged in the local manufacturing industry. The city has its own international airport with customs processing and cargo shipping but also links to international railway networks. It is centrally located on I-57, which runs directly into the United States. Saltillo is known largely for its automotive manufacturing, a sector that has earned the city the nickname the "Detroit of Mexico," but the growing manufacturing presence here has given rise to a dense supply chain and experienced workforce. 

Manufacturing sectors in Monterrey vs. Saltillo 

Daimler's Assembly Plant in Saltillo, Coahuila

For many manufacturers, Monterrey is attractive for having household names across a range of major manufacturing sectors. Appliance manufacturers like Kohler operate here, as do electronics manufacturers Siemens, Rockwell Automation, Johnson Controls and Philips Lighting. Mars and Nestle manufacture food products in Monterrey, while Johnson & Johnson and Smith Medical manufacture medical devices. The result is that Monterrey is the nation's second-largest industrial center. 

On the other hand, Saltillo offers proximity to those name brands, with a balance of more cost-effective real estate and services. That's becoming more evident, too, as many large companies with a presence in Monterrey have begun to expand into the more cost-effective option of Saltillo. For example, Whirlpool Corp. has manufacturing facilities in both Monterrey and the Saltillo suburb of Ramos Arizpe. While GE's medical device, turbine, and automation manufacturing can be found in Monterrey, the company also manufactures wire harnesses in Saltillo. 

Saltillo also holds a strong reputation as a center for automotive manufacturing. In fact, the city is the source of approximately 14% of all automotive component companies operating in Mexico. Fiat Chrysler, Daimler, and General Motors all have a presence here. 

Labor rates in Saltillo vs. Monterey

Skilled Labor in Saltillo, near Monterrey

Highly qualified low-cost labor attracts many manufacturers to Mexico, and both Monterrey and Saltillo offer a qualified workforce. However, as one may expect, workers in metropolitan Monterrey command a somewhat higher rate of pay. Tetakawi's independent field research indicates that assemblers in the Monterrey metropolitan area can expect to earn, on average, direct pay of $292 MXN per day at the start of employment and as much as $390 MXN after a year of employment. 

In Saltillo, assemblers might expect to earn an average of $221 MXN per day at the start of employment and see closer to $296 MXN after a year of employment.

However, the rates become more distinct when factoring in the competitive benefits needed to retain your trained labor force. Fully fringed direct labor wages for an assembler in Saltillo may go as high as $397 MXN after a year of employment, compared to $528 MXN in Monterrey.

This significantly higher rate of pay is aimed at reducing turnover for employees who have gained manufacturing skills valuable to the dense competition in this area. Our data indicates that Monterrey-based manufacturers typically see turnover rates as high as 5% for assemblers and operators, compared to turnover rates of around 2.08% in Saltillo. This is a significant reason that manufacturers consider locating in Saltillo. 

Finding skilled labor in Saltillo vs. Monterrey 

Monterrey is home to many schools, universities, and technical institutions, including the Universidad Autonoma de Nuevo Leon (UANL), the third-largest university in Mexico. There are also many technical schools in Monterrey, with the Instituto Tecnológico y de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey (Monterrey Institute of Technology and Higher Studies) being highly ranked for its engineering and IT programs.

Saltillo's educational infrastructure has grown to promote technical training and engineering education as well, with a focus on connecting employees with the specific skills that manufacturers need to succeed in their operations. Many manufacturers find the unique support they need from operating within a manufacturing community like the Zapa Manufacturing Community, which connects manufacturers to training and educational providers. 

Real estate availability in Monterrey and Saltillo

The availability of local real estate is another reason that manufacturers may find themselves weighing an operation in either Monterrey or Saltillo. Industrial real estate demand is relatively high in both areas, with averages rates of approximately $4.02 USD per square meter in either location. While this demand has driven increases in industrial park construction in Monterrey, space is more readily available in Saltillo today. 

Many organizations find that manufacturing communities present a strong alternative to a traditional industrial park. A manufacturing community provides more than affordable Class A industrial real estate and the necessary infrastructure to support manufacturing. Many of these options, such as the Zapa Manufacturing Community in Saltillo, provide the types of amenities that help attract workers, such as on-site cafeterias, medical facilities, transportation options, and even on-site training facilities. 

Quality of life in Saltillo and Monterrey

Manufacturing organizations that expect frequent executive travel or that send supervisors to train new staff should also factor in the quality of life in their target cities. 

A recent study from the Mexican Institute of Competitiveness (IMCO) declared both Monterrey and Saltillo as among the best cities to work in Mexico, for cities of more than 1 million inhabitants and between 500 thousand and 1 million inhabitants respectively. This accolade comes from an analysis of a wide range of factors, including a stable economy, safety, international relations, and a range of other factors. 

Of course, Monterrey is a large city, which provides both opportunities and challenges for residents. While residents might find the city to reflect Nuevo Leon's status as Mexico's most modern state, with easy access to resources, it will be more expensive than other areas. Saltillo, being somewhat smaller, provides a quieter lifestyle in a friendly and affordable environment. 

Find the right site for you

While both Saltillo and Monterrey, Mexico, have proven to be excellent locations for industrial manufacturing, your speed to market and bottom line depends upon making the best selection for your specific needs. Selecting a site like Saltillo, with options for move-in ready industrial real estate and a cost-effective workforce could give your organization the competitive edge it needs.

For a more detailed look at which location may best serve your organization, Tetakawi provides extensive site selection services

Based on our extensive research and local resources, we can calculate an estimated operating cost for your company in each location and provide an in-depth report that you can use to strengthen your decision making. If you're ready to get the data you need to make a more informed choice about where to locate in Mexico, contact Tetakawi today.

x

Thinking about manufacturing in Mexico? Download this ebook to move your due diligence forward and improve your probability of success.

Download Now

Recent Posts:

tetakawi-questions-to-ask-about-manufacturing-in-mexico

Start your journey into Mexico today!

50+ Questions to ask before expanding into Mexico

Thinking about expanding into Mexico? Step 1 of your due diligence process is answering all of these questions. Over the last 33 years, thousands of companies have used this guide to accelerate their expansion into Mexico. 
Download Ebook
Instantly calculate your payroll costs in Mexico. (click here).