很多美国公司选择到墨西哥投资建厂,而不在美国本土,什么原因呢?

十月 22, 2021

在经历了疫情大流行带来的关闭潮后,美国制造商们采取了一系列推动制造业回流的新举措,并成功让许多行业工人重返制造业,但相较而言,美国工厂似乎还没找到可以填补制造业关键技术领域缺口的熟练工人。德勤会计师事务所(Deloitte)和美国制造业研究所(The Manufacturing Institute)今年5月的一项报告显示,美国制造业劳动力的短缺,或最终导致高达1万亿美元的损失。到2030年,全美制造业或面临210万个工作岗位空缺。美国工厂所面临的“招工难”问题,既包括技能型职位,也包括那些工资水平略高于入门级的工作岗位。

据德勤称,2020年初,新冠疫情的大流行导致制造业务遭遇“滑铁卢”,造成美国制造业的140多万个工作岗位。这场全球瘟疫让美国劳动力水平倒退了十多年。2021年初,美国制造业活动开始重启,已将大部分上述岗位恢复,且有逾50万个工人的缺口。

不论是技能型岗位,还是对专业技能没有太多要求的入门级职位,制造商们都很难招到合适的人选,这类职位包括装配工、生产制造流程帮工和手持式工具操作工与修剪工。根据该报告,初级制造业岗位的空缺数量仍在持续增加。受访的美国制造业高管表示,如今找到适合人才的难度,比2018年增加了36%。

受访企业高管表示,劳动力的短缺,或将成为制造业发展的重大阻碍。无论是对于那些为了满足客户日益增长的需求而勉强维持当前生产水平的企业;还是那些看准市场机遇,努力创新开发新产品或应用新技术的企业,都有着无可估量的影响。正如一位高管向研究人员提到的那样:“是否存在某一个时间点,我们再也找不到足够的产业工人,或者我们不得不认真考虑一下工厂的搬迁问题?”

跨境制造(近岸制造)带来的积极作用

事实上,美国制造业的劳动力短缺问题并不是什么新鲜事,并且,这一趋势短期内也不太可能发生逆转。鉴于此问题的严重性,制造商们认为,到墨西哥投资建厂,不仅可以解决熟练劳动力的短缺问题,还可以降低因工厂搬迁所带来的对经济效益的影响。

2020年,一份美国国会在关于美墨经济关系的研究报告中指出,自两国签订《北美自由贸易协定》(NAFTA) 以来,美墨的双边贸易范围一直在持续扩大(美国把半成品出口到墨西哥,经墨西哥加工后再将成品出口到美国),此举大大加强了两国的经济联系。墨西哥从美国购入免税原材料,经过加工后成为各行业所需的成品,然后运回美国,以满足这个墨西哥最大贸易伙伴的需求。此外,很多制造型企业还发现,扩大在墨西哥的生产规模,甚至可以为美国创造更多的对技能需求更高的工作岗位。

大力培养制造业所需的优质劳动力

Skilled Manufacturing Workers in Mexico

很多美国制造商们都会遇到一个难点,即为一些关键岗位的新员工(如机械师、技师、焊工和电工)进行岗前培训。

这类岗位的薪酬水平,往往不足以支撑其它区域的工人搬家换工作,因此制造商们不得不对当地工人提供培训。难点在于,能不能找到一处合适的地点,既能满足工作岗位的需求,又有充足的劳动力供给,并且工人愿意花上几个月,甚至不到一年的时间去接受全套的专业培训(通常没有工资)。

墨西哥劳动力资源的储备极为充足,若是外资企业选择在墨西哥建厂并聘用当地劳工,则无需担心以上此类棘手问题。由于制造业是墨西哥经济发展的支柱型产业,各州政府和国家教育院校非常重视制造业领域的各类人才培养,目标就是为了让当地劳动力群体能够找到前景光明且长期稳定的就业机会。

另外,位于墨西哥的许多培训中心都采用了德国的职业培训模式。这种模式会按照企业对人才的具体要求,有针对性地组织岗前培训。具体而言,德国联邦经济合作与发展部(German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development)非常支持墨西哥教育部将“双向职业培训模式”延续到2022年。到2022年,受益于该模式的青年劳动力将超过30,000人,他们可能来自高等中专学校、国家职业技术教育学院或者其他专业教育培训机构。

基于上述情况,许多的美国制造型企业在谋求发展之际,会相中墨西哥这块蕴含巨大潜能的“风水宝地”,因为他们能够在这里雇佣到足够的高素质的产业工人。在接受GlobalAutoIndustry.com采访时,猎头公司Alder Koten首席执行官兼执行合伙人Jose Ruiz提到了一个例子:波士顿有一家精密机械加工企业,通过与墨西哥的数控机械师建立的紧密合作,完美解决了企业长期招不到数控机械师的难题。随后,Ruiz又补充道:“我认为,墨西哥已经做好万全准备,其极具竞争力的劳动力资源完全可以弥补我们一直以来所面临的人才缺口。”

为迎接“智能工厂”时代做好准备

德勤和制造业研究所的报告还指出,随着制造工厂迈入更加“智能化”的新时代,美国制造商们面临的熟练技工短缺问题将日益凸显。其背后的原因显而易见:与今天的传统制造工艺相比,智能工厂对工人的专业技能提出了更高的要求。

如果不就数字化工厂所需的专业技能进行培训,预计2020年至2030年期间,大量美国的制造型企业将面临共计约210万个劳动力缺口,其结果可能会进一步影响到企业的生产力、创新能力、核心竞争力,甚至会拉低国家的GDP水平。

若是美国的制造型企业另辟蹊径,把工厂设在毗邻的墨西哥,则可以有效弥合自身在生产力和创新力方面的短板。这是因为,智能工厂已经在墨西哥呈显著增长趋势,且工人们也通过不断学习以及在智能工厂内的岗位实践,日益精进这些高端技能。

正如Ruiz所指出的那样:“无论企业多么渴求人才,也不可能找到一个具备数十年机器学习经验的合适人选。机器学习被认为是一门新兴学科,因此不管是在美国还是在墨西哥所面临的专业人才紧缺问题,二者对工作经验的要求本质上是没有任何区别的。我认为,在经济全球化的大背景之下,墨西哥将在不久后在这些新兴领域内占据一席之地。”

事实上,某些美国的制造系企业也已经开始向墨西哥寻求高端的工程技术领域支持,其中甚至包括计算机科学技术方面的支持。这些领域的技术含量相对较高,和过去侧重于零部件装配的低端加工流程相比,无疑是一个巨大的转变。

此外,Ruiz还分享道:“曾有一些客户向我们咨询墨西哥是否拥有数学专业的优秀人才和对算法有深入研究的适合人选。这也从侧面反映出外资客户对墨西哥设计领域人才的强烈需求。尽管美国人才紧缺,但是通过远程工作的方式,制造型企业不见得非要让所有员工集中在一栋写字楼里现场工作。可以预见的是,经过此次疫情的洗礼,这一工作方式还将持续。”

墨西哥制造的“交钥匙”解决方案

尽管墨西哥可以为那些进行复杂的生产工艺的制造商提供廉价的熟练劳动力,但其实无论您的工厂位于哪个国家或者地区,在当地招聘工人始终是一项艰巨的挑战。幸运的是,在墨西哥,您无需独自承担员工招募的工作。作为Shelter项目的一部分职责,Tetakawi会帮助外资制造商们通过发布招聘广告、提供极具竞争力的薪资以及细化公司的各项优厚福利待遇,来吸引当地最一流的求职者。人才是企业的第一生产力,依托Tetakawi专业团队提供的专业招聘服务,外资制造商们有理由相信,其生产运营能够取得成功的核心要素已经齐备。

欲了解更多有关外资企业在墨西哥开展制造业务时为什么首选Shelter服务的缘由,请立即联系Tetakawi吧!

x

Thinking about manufacturing in Mexico? Download this ebook to move your due diligence forward and improve your probability of success.

Download Now

最近的帖子:

百问墨西哥投资建厂

立刻开启您的墨西哥之旅吧。

墨西哥建厂前,您需要准备的50多个问题

您正在考虑将业务扩展到墨西哥吗?尽职调查的第一步就是要先回答这些问题。在过去33 年里,几千家公司在这个指导手册的帮助下,快速的在墨西哥拓展了他们的商业版图。
立即下载
在墨西哥建厂的成本如何? 用我们的在线计算器来计算一下吧。

Mexico's Manufacturing Workforce: A Skilled Solution to U.S. Labor Shortage

May 18, 2021

Despite a flurry of reshoring initiatives and successful efforts to bring many employees back to work in manufacturing after pandemic-related closures, American factories can’t seem to find workers needed to fill critical gaps in manufacturing labor. A May 2021 report from Deloitte and The Manufacturing Institute calls it a $1 trillion problem, with as many as 2.1 million U.S. manufacturing jobs expected to remain unfilled through 2030. This U.S. labor shortage includes both specialized roles as well as higher-paying entry-level production positions. 

In early 2020, U.S. workers lost about 1.4 million manufacturing jobs due to pandemic-related closures that, according to Deloitte, may have set the U.S. manufacturing workforce back by more than a decade. However, by early 2021 the industry had largely recovered those lost jobs—and was desperately seeking more than 500,000 additional workers. 

While the so-called skills gap—that is, a lack of technically skilled workers—remains a challenge in filling these positions, many manufacturers are now reporting that they can’t fill entry-level production associate positions that require no technical know-how or industry knowledge. This includes team assemblers, production work helpers, and hand-held tool cutters and trimmers. What’s more, the report says there is no indication of this trend reversing itself. Surveyed U.S. manufacturing executives said that finding the right talent today is 36% harder than it was in 2018. 

This inability to fill jobs has a tremendous impact on maintaining the production levels needed to satisfy increasing customer demands, pivot in response to new market opportunities, support new product innovation, or implement new technologies, surveyed executives report. As one executive asked the report researchers, “Is there a point when we run out of production workers or a point when we have to consider moving to a different location?”

Cross-border manufacturing impact

The truth is that the U.S. manufacturing labor shortage is not new and not likely to reverse itself in the near future. Many manufacturers are finding that moving manufacturing to Mexico can not only address this skilled labor shortage but also minimize the economic impact of moving manufacturing overseas. 

A 2020 U.S. Congressional research report on U.S.-Mexico Economic Relations notes that the two-way expansion of trade since NAFTA—the “flow of intermediate inputs produced in the United States and exported to Mexico and the return flow of finished products”—has greatly increased the economic significance of U.S.-Mexico production for each country. Raw materials imported duty-free into Mexico from the U.S. are incorporated into a tremendous range of manufactured goods that are then shipped largely back to the United States to meet the demand of Mexico’s largest trading partner. Many companies also find that they are better able to support more technically skilled U.S.-based jobs by expanding with a manufacturing operation in Mexico.

Training the manufacturing workforce 

Skilled Manufacturing Workers in Mexico

One of the challenges facing U.S.-based manufacturers is the struggle to provide pre-employment training for key production-related positions such as machinists, technicians, welders, and electricians. 

Because the pay level for these positions tends to prevent workers from relocating to find work, manufacturers must provide training to the local workforce. The challenge is providing this training in the exact locations where there is worker demand and available an workforce willing to complete training that could take several months, if not more than a year, often without pay.

Companies looking to connect with a manufacturing workforce in Mexico tend not to face this problem. Manufacturing is a key part of Mexico’s economy, and the state government and national educational institutions work to support training in this area to connect the local workforce with strong jobs. 

What’s more, many of the country’s training centers apply a German model for hands-on learning that is tailored to meet manufacturers’ specific goals. In fact, the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development is supporting the Mexican Ministry of Education with an expansion of this dual vocational training model through 2022. The project is aiming to train a minimum of 30,000 young people from higher technical secondary school, the National College of Professional Technical Education, and other agencies by that time. 

As a result, many U.S. companies are turning to Mexico to fill skilled manufacturing needs. In an interview with GlobalAutoIndustry.com, Jose Ruiz, CEO and Managing Partner of executive search firm Alder Koten, cited as one example a Boston-based precision machining company that solved its struggle to find CNC machinists by working with CNC machinists in Mexico. “I think that Mexico is very well prepared to be very competitive and to be able to cover the talent gap that we’ve been experiencing in the U.S.,” Ruiz commented.

Preparing for smarter factories

The Deloitte and Manufacturing Institute report notes that finding skilled workers will only grow as a problem for U.S. manufacturers as factories become “smarter.” The skills needed to work in a smart factory will be different than those skills used in standard manufacturing processes today. 

Without relevant training on these increasingly digital skills, U.S. manufacturers can expect to leave up to 2.1 million jobs unfilled between 2020 and 2030. The consequences of these unfilled positions include lower levels of productivity, innovation, competitiveness, and even GDP.

By launching operations in Mexico, however, U.S.-based companies can bridge these gaps in productivity and innovation. This is because Mexico’s workforce is gaining these skills at the smart factories going up around the country today. 

As Ruiz pointed out, “Even if you wanted to, there’s no way you could find someone with decades of machine learning experience. It’s a relatively new trend so there’s no distinction between the level of experience when you lack talent in the U.S. or talent in Mexico. These emerging fields will, I think, find a very quick niche in Mexico.”

Already, U.S. firms are turning to Mexico for increasingly skilled engineering and even computer science support, a dramatic change from the assembly-based focus of the past. 

“We’ve had clients asking about the math majors and people who can get into the guts of algorithms,” Ruiz shares. “This is a reflection of the engineering at this level starting to happen in Mexico. There’s a talent crunch in the U.S., and now, with remote work, it’s very easy to be able to get that in a place where they don’t have to sit in the same building. I think this is a trend that’s going to continue.”

Turnkey solutions for manufacturing in Mexico

Although Mexico can provide competitively priced skilled labor for an increasingly complex range of manufacturing tasks, recruitment is a challenge no matter the country in which you operate. Fortunately, you don’t have to recruit this workforce alone. As part of our, Shelter Program Tetakawi supports manufacturers in attracting potential employees with the right blend of advertisements, competitive wages, and benefits for your site. With the right approach to recruitment, manufacturers can trust that they have the team to guide their success. 

To learn more about our shelter services for manufacturing in Mexico, contact Tetakawi today.

x

Thinking about manufacturing in Mexico? Download this ebook to move your due diligence forward and improve your probability of success.

Download Now

Recent Posts:

tetakawi-questions-to-ask-about-manufacturing-in-mexico

START YOUR JOURNEY INTO MEXICO TODAY!

50+ Questions to ask before expanding into Mexico

Thinking about expanding into Mexico? Step 1 of your due diligence process is answering all of these questions. Over the last 33 years, thousands of companies have used this guide to accelerate their expansion into Mexico. 
Download Ebook
Free Ebook: How to Choose a Shelter Service Provider in Mexico - > Download Now.