墨西哥成为了多功能越野车制造商投资建厂的优选之地

七月 20, 2021

越野车(ORVs)是一种专为家庭出游而设计的车型,它可以在崎岖的路面畅通行驶。当消费者们选择远离喧嚣的人群,回归大自然,在僻静的一隅小憩,休养生息时,就不奇怪为什么全系列休闲车型——从并排式座位车(SxS)和全地形车(ATV)到水上摩托车(Jet Skis)和水上摩托艇(Sea-Doos),开始被人们狂热追捧。

作为一家美国的SxS、ATV和雪地车老牌制造商, Polaris(北极星工业公司)正是在一场席卷全球的新冠疫情之中,敏锐地嗅到消费市场出现对越野车“史无前例的需求”的巨大商机的制造商之一。无独有偶,即使在新冠疫情的打击之下,很多越野车制造商都被迫停业甚至关门大吉,而加拿大休闲车制造商 Bombardier Recreational Products Inc. (庞巴迪娱乐休闲产品有限责任公司)(BRP) 在2020年的销售额却超越了2019年。

然而,随着消费者对越野车的喜爱程度始终有增无减,这个行业的竞争度也在不断加剧。根据Market Study LLC市场情报公司的预测,从2025年到2028年,全球越野车市场的复合年均增长率将进一步增长至5.8%左右。此外,越野车行业备受追捧的现状,也将催生更多的汽车类型——除了越野车之外,消费者还可以拥有更多的车型选择。其结果是,行业竞争的加剧不断地促使汽车制造商推陈出新,同时想方设法降低成本,以达到吸引更多消费者的目的。

目前,美国是越野车最大的销售市场。在2018年,美国越野车的销售额占据了全球销售额的60%,在此之后,墨西哥也成功借到了这股东风,并逐步成为了更多投资商眼中越野车的理想制造基地。有相当大一部分的主流休闲车的制造型企业和零部件供应商很快意识到,墨西哥兼具劳动力成本优势,并且在地理上还能便捷地触达不断增长的美国市场,这些特点都为制造商们提供了不可多得的竞争优势。

墨西哥的休闲车制造商的现状

长期以来,墨西哥一直都是世界知名汽车制造型企业的首选之地——它有着密集的供应链网络,能对汽车制造业提供专业的支持与帮助等等,这些优势吸引着很多的休闲车制造商们将目光投向墨西哥。举例而言, Polaris在墨西哥的蒙特雷(Monterrey)市投资建设了一家占地700,000平方英尺的制造厂,拥有5条汽车组装线,并雇佣了将近2,500名员工生产并排式座位车(也称为 SxS或全地形越野车)、引擎和各种其他零部件。SxS是一种小型的四轮越野车,可以乘坐1-6人,其中有些类型的SxS可以装运货物,并且可以在人迹罕见的小径或崎岖不平的农田中行驶。 Polaris把这种SxS称为位于经典四轮车和全尺寸越野车之间的一款过渡车型。

蒙特雷市与有着墨西哥“小底特律”之称的萨尔蒂约(Saltillo)市距离不到一小时车程,可以为Polaris这个ATV(全地形车)制造业的领头羊提供种种便利,并能快捷地从各种汽车零部件制造商处进行采购,还可以充分利用本地的各种丰富的研发资源。

与此同时,早在20年前,BRP公司也开始在墨西哥的 Juarez市投资建设了其第一家工厂,生产单人座ATV和水上摩托。随后,BPR公司又在当地兴建了第二家工厂,以满足市场对其 Can-Am品牌汽车不断增长的需求。此外,公司还在克雷塔罗(Queretaro)市组装 Sea-Doo水上摩托艇,以及为Can-Am品牌组装 Rotax引擎。到2020年,公司再次宣布,将计划投资1.85亿美元,在 Juarez市建立第三家工厂,以继续扩大产能。预计截止2021年底,在这家生产CAN品牌休闲车的新工厂开始运营之际,可以创造1,000个就业机会,并跟上市场对Can-AM SxS车型需求激增的步伐。

将汽车的生产制造业务迁移至墨西哥,不仅可以节省大量成本开支,还可以享受州政府推出的各种激励政策带来的红利,更能够便捷地触达所在地附近广泛的汽车零部件供应链网络。当产品不断地更新迭代,变得越来越复杂,以试图跟上新潮流和新趋势时,降低零部件的采购成本就显得愈加重要了。

技术升级驱使更多的供应商加紧入局

随着市场对休闲车的需求不断增加,制造商也投入到技术创新的比拼之中,力求让自家的产品别具一格。从GPS和机动车跟踪装置,到差速器锁定系统,制造商们在探索无限可能的路上从未停歇。除此之外,现今的许多制造商同时还在探索电动车制造的可能性。

在此过程中,很多制造型企业发现,与 shelter服务商合作,背靠其给予的专业性服务支持,使他们可以高效地触达美国和墨西哥两地市场的供应商,并能够更好地落实最经济划算的运营策略。具体而言,例如,与一个Shelter公司开展合作,通过他们的IMMEX和VAT认证,制造商们可以享受一定的税收优惠福利。假设制造企业需要进口零部件等物资,将其组装至成品,并最终将成品出口国外,对于那些临时进口到墨西哥的零部件等物资,无需缴纳相应的关税和16%的增值税。

Evco Plastics是一家总部位于美国威斯康星州的塑料制品生产商,它主要为ATV、水上摩托车、高尔夫球场用车和牵引车提供零部件制造所需的模具。该公司发现,通过 IMMEX政策所获得的福利优惠,能够使 Evco在墨西哥投资的三家制造厂达到更加经济且高效的运营模式——当使用同样的预算时,该公司能从美国进口将近60%的原材料,而Evco在中国的工厂仅能从美国进口15%的原材料。Evco还发现,由于在墨西哥投资运营更加经济实惠,其可将节省下来的成本开支进一步投资于生产技术的改进和提升方面。如此一来,在Evco美国工厂的员工们就可以承担创造更大价值的工作,比如编程设计“协作机器人”,将机器人投放到Evco的墨西哥工厂中协助工人工作等等。

让Shelter服务商助您在墨西哥快速启动您的业务

尽管很多大型制造型企业都可以在墨西哥通过设立保税加工工厂(maquiladora)的模式运营业务,但还是有许多公司认为,与Shelter服务商合作,能助力其更加快速的在墨西哥当地启动业务。Shelter公司既可以成为外资投资商在墨西哥运营的法律主体,还可以作为名义上的雇主,保障工厂运营的合法合规性。一旦公司选择与Shelter服务商合作,在其协助下于墨西哥投资建厂运营,就无需在墨西哥常设机构,并且可以即刻获得IMMEX、IVA和OEA认证证书。此外,Shelter公司通常还与当地的商业伙伴保持着友好的合作关系,比如工会、海关和相关的政府部门。有了Shelter服务商的鼎力协助,投资商们就可以放心地将工厂的行政管理职能交由Shelter公司处理,自己则可以集中精力专注于生产制造类的核心业务。

鉴于近些年来市场对休闲车的需求急剧增加,Shelter服务商不仅是OEM生产方式的绝佳选择,还可以为服务于OEM企业的1级、2级和3级供应商提供专业的协助服务,以帮助他们迅速启动项目运作,或拓展运营规模。

您想让贵企业在墨西哥的投资项目中保持自己的竞争优势吗? Tetakawi将助您一臂之力。我们已经为数千家公司出谋划策,帮助投资商们制定在墨西哥投资建厂的商业策略,协助他们打造自己独有的竞争力,为今后的发展打下坚实的基础。若您需要任何帮助,请现在就与Tetakawi联系吧。

x

Thinking about manufacturing in Mexico? Download this ebook to move your due diligence forward and improve your probability of success.

Download Now

最近的帖子:

百问墨西哥投资建厂

立刻开启您的墨西哥之旅吧。

墨西哥建厂前,您需要准备的50多个问题。

您正在考虑将业务扩展到墨西哥吗?尽职调查的第一步就是要先回答这些问题。在过去33 年里,几千家公司在这个指导手册的帮助下,快速的在墨西哥拓展了他们的商业版图。
立即下载
在墨西哥建厂的成本如何? 用我们的在线计算器来计算一下吧。

Off-road Vehicle Manufacturers Meet Demand in Mexico

March 04, 2021

Off-road vehicles (ORVs) are made for family-friendly adventure and getting motorists off the beaten path. So, it's no wonder that demand for a complete range of recreational vehicles—from SxS and ATVs to Jet Skis and Sea-Doos—is through the roof, as consumers turn to nature to escape crowds and shutdown fatigue. 

U.S.-based SxS, ATV, and snowmobile manufacturer Polaris was among those seeing "unprecedented" demand" for off-road vehicles as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic. Canadian manufacturer Bombardier Recreational Products Inc. (BRP) saw its 2020 sales surpass 2019, even with a pandemic-induced ORV manufacturing shutdown. 

However, the popularity of these vehicles has long been on the rise—as has the competitiveness of this sector. CAGR for the global off-road vehicles market is projected to grow approximately 5.8% from 2028 through 2025, according to Market Study LLC. Drawn by the popularity of this sector, more vehicle options are emerging, giving consumers more choices than ever for off-roading opportunities. As a result, manufacturers are increasingly being challenged to innovate while lowering costs enough to attract new buyers. 

With the biggest market for these vehicles sitting in the United States—in 2018, the U.S. captured a full 60% of global off-road vehicle sales—Mexico becomes an increasingly attractive location for ORV manufacturing. A wide range of major recreational vehicle manufacturers, and component suppliers, have already discovered that Mexico's balance of cost-effective labor and easy accessibility to the growing U.S. market offers an excellent competitive edge. 

Recreational vehicle manufacturers in Mexico 

Can-Am Maverick Manufactured in Mexico

Mexico has long been known as a major automotive manufacturing site, and the dense supplier network supporting this industry has caught the notice of recreational vehicle manufacturers. For example, Polaris has a more than 700,000-square-foot facility in Monterrey, Mexico, with five vehicle assembly lines. Approximately 2,500 employees help produce Side-by-Side vehicles (also called SxS or utility task vehicles), engines, and various other components here. An SxS is a small four-wheel drive off-road vehicle that can seat one to six people, and in some cases haul cargo, for rides across primitive trails or rugged farmland. Polaris calls these vehicles a middle ground between classic four-wheelers and full-size off-road vehicles. 

Sitting barely an hour from "little Detroit," as the city of Saltillo is known, Monterrey makes an excellent location for this leader in ATV production to source automotive-related components while tapping into local R&D resources. 

Meanwhile, BRP began producing single-rider ATVs and personal watercraft at a facility in Juarez, Mexico, nearly twenty years ago. The company added a second facility there later to meet the growing demand for its Can-Am branded vehicles. In Queretaro, the company assembles Sea-Doo watercraft and the Rotax engines for the Can-Am brand. In 2020, the manufacturer announced plans yet again to increase manufacturing capacity with a third Juarez facility. The planned CAN $185 million facility would create up to 1,000 new jobs by the time it's operational in late 2021 to keep pace with the skyrocketing demand for its Can-Am SxS.

While there are significant cost savings, and investment incentives, to be gained from moving manufacturing to Mexico, it also offers an expansive network of nearby components suppliers. As these products grow in complexity and evolve to meet new trends, cost-effective access to components will be increasingly critical. 

More technology drives need for more suppliers

As recreational vehicle demand grows, manufacturers are adding new technology solutions to differentiate. From GPS and mobile tracking to differential locking systems, manufacturers continue to push the limits of what's possible. Many manufacturers are also exploring electrification in line with the direction of automotive manufacturing today. 

Many manufacturers find that they can more easily navigate cost-effective strategies for connecting with suppliers in both the U.S. and Mexico by working under the umbrella of a shelter service provider. Working with a shelter IMMEX company gives a manufacturer the ability to temporarily import goods into Mexico from the United States without having to pay value-added tax (VAT) of 16% on those imported goods, assuming they're incorporated into finished goods that are subsequently exported.  

Evco Plastics, a Wisconsin-based plastics maker that molds parts for ATVs, jet skis, golf carts, and tractors, has found that the IMMEX program allows its three Mexico plants to cost-effectively import about 60% of the raw materials from the U.S., compared to the mere 15% of U.S.-supplied raw materials used by its plants in China. The manufacturer has also found that cost-effective manufacturing in Mexico has led to savings that have allowed it to invest in improved manufacturing technology. The result is that its U.S.-based staff can tackle more value-added tasks, such as programming "collaborative robots" that are then deployed in its Mexican factories. 

Let a shelter provider speed your launch 

While large manufacturers can and do operate as maquiladoras, many companies find that they can more rapidly launch into the market by working with a shelter service provider. The shelter company serves as the legal entity and employer of record in Mexico for all compliance-related issues. Companies that choose to operate in Mexico with the help of a shelter services provider are exempt from permanent establishment in Mexico and secure immediate access to IMMEX, IVA, and OEA certifications. The shelter company also maintains relationships with local business partners, such as labor unions, customs departments, and government entities. The shelter company can take on the manufacturer's desired level of administrative support while the company focuses on manufacturing. 

Given the dramatic increase in demand for recreational vehicles in recent years, a shelter service provider makes an excellent way for OEMs, as well as the Tier 1, 2, and 3 suppliers who serve them, to rapidly launch or expand operations. 

Ready to secure your competitive edge? Tetakawi can help. We've helped thousands of companies strategize their launch into Mexico and position their firm for a more competitive future. Contact us today.

x

Thinking about manufacturing in Mexico? Download this ebook to move your due diligence forward and improve your probability of success.

Download Now

Recent Posts:

tetakawi-questions-to-ask-about-manufacturing-in-mexico

Start your journey into Mexico today!

50+ Questions to ask before expanding into Mexico

Thinking about expanding into Mexico? Step 1 of your due diligence process is answering all of these questions. Over the last 33 years, thousands of companies have used this guide to accelerate their expansion into Mexico. 
Download Ebook
Instantly calculate your payroll costs in Mexico. (click here).